Medicaid, ARHOME, and ARKids Clients

Make sure your mailing address and phone number is up-to-date. Don’t miss important renewal information.

News Feed

Stay informed on the latest News.

DHS Announces Disaster Food Assistance (D-SNAP) Relief for Parts of Craighead, Jackson, Mississippi, Poinsett, and Woodruff Counties


For Immediate Release:
UPDATED February 1, 2022

Media Contacts
Amy Webb, Chief of Communications & Community Engagement

Gavin Lesnick, Deputy Chief of Communications

DHS Alert:  Due to the expanding threat of ice storms in the Disaster SNAP program areas on Thursday and Friday, the agency is postponing the beginning of D-SNAP operations until Monday February 7th.  We will update as we receive more information.

(LITTLE ROCK, Ark.) — The Arkansas Department of Human Services announced that the following cities and zip codes are eligible to receive SNAP Disaster Assistance under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, authorized by The Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Services, as a result of the December 10-11, 2021, tornado. 

  • Augusta (72006)
  • Diaz (72043) 
  • Leachville (72438) 
  • McCrory (72101)
  • Monette (72447) 
  • Trumann (72472) 
  • Tupelo (72169) 

Anyone that resided or worked within one of these zip code areas that suffered disaster losses during this tornado may be eligible to receive D-SNAP assistance. D-SNAP extends benefits to many households that would not ordinarily qualify but suddenly need food assistance because of a disaster. D-SNAP benefits are provided via an electronic debit-like card and can be used to purchase food items at authorized retailers.  

Residents from these zip code areas who experienced at least one of the following conditions as a direct result of the December 10-11 tornado may be eligible:

•    Damage to or destruction of their home or self-employment business
•    Loss or inaccessibility of income including a reduction or termination of income, or a significant delay in receiving income due to disaster-related problems
•    Disaster-related expenses (home or business repairs, temporary shelter, evacuation, etc.) that are not expected to be reimbursed during the disaster benefit period

Residents seeking D-SNAP may apply beginning Monday, February 7. If you are having difficulty, you may call the local county office at the numbers listed below.  

•    NOTE: Individuals must have lived or worked in the disaster area at the time of the tornado and must have suffered loss or damages.
D-SNAP applications may be taken at the following locations:  

•    The Craighead County DHS Office located at 1600 Browns Lane Access Rd., Jonesboro, AR 72403 – 870-972-1732
•    The Jackson County DHS Office located at 1422 Hwy. 367N, Newport, AR 72112 – 870-523-9828
•    The Mississippi County DHS Office located at 1104 Byrum Rd., Blytheville, AR 72315 – 870-763-7093
•    The Poinsett County DHS Office located at 406 N. Illinois, Harrisburg, AR 72432 – 870-578-5491
•    The Woodruff County DHS Office located at 1200 Hwy. 33 North, Augusta, AR 72006 – 870-347-2537

Share this post