

Division of Medical Services

P.O. Box 1437, Slot S295, Little Rock, AR 72203-1437

P: 501.682.8292 F: 501.682.1197

MEMORANDUM

TO: Interested Persons and Providers

FROM: Elizabeth Pitman, Director, Division of Medical Services

DATE: July 12, 2024

SUBJ: Private Hospital Access Payments

Attached for your review and comment are proposed revisions to the Medicaid State Plan.

Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address: ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov Please note that public comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public documents. A public comment, including the commenter's name and any personal information contained within the public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

If you have any comments, please submit those comments in writing, no later than August 12, 2024.

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The Department of Human Services announces for a public comment period of thirty (30) calendar days a notice of rulemaking for the following proposed rule under one or more of the following chapters, subchapters, or sections of the Arkansas Code: §§ 20-76-201, 20-77-107, and 25-10-129.

The Division of Medical Services (DMS) requests from the Centers of Medicare & Medicaid an amendment of the Medicaid state plan regarding the calculation of supplemental inpatient access payments for private hospitals to be effective retroactive to April 6, 2024. The gap calculation for inpatient access payments is being changed from number of discharges to number of days. The change will be implemented by deleting the requirement to apply Respective Case Mix Indexes (CMI) to both the base Medicare per discharge rates and base Medicaid per discharge rates for comparison to the Medicare-related Upper Payment Limit (UPL). DHS projects an annual fiscal impact of \$375,000,000.00 (federal share \$266,775,000; state share \$108,225,000). The promulgation of the rule shall be effective October 1, 2024.

The proposed rule is available for review at the Department of Human Services (DHS) Office of Policy and Rules, 2nd floor Donaghey Plaza South Building, 7th and Main Streets, P. O. Box 1437, Slot S295, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437. This notice also shall be posted at the local office of the Division of County Operations (DCO) of DHS in every county in the state.

You may also access and download the proposed rule at ar.gov/dhs-proposed-rules. Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address: ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov. All public comments must be received by DHS no later than August 12, 2024. Please note that public comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public documents. A public comment, including the commenter's name and any personal information contained within the public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people. A public hearing will be held by remote access through Zoom. Public comments may be submitted at the hearing. The details for attending the Zoom hearing appear at ar.gov/dhszoom.

If you need this material in a different format, such as large print, contact the Office of Policy and Rules at (501) 320-6428. The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act and is operated, managed, and delivers services without regard to religion, disability, political affiliation, veteran status, age, race, color, or national origin. 4502201653

Elizabeth Pitman, Director Division of Medical Services

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE ARKANSAS

ATTACHMENT 4.19-A Page 11d

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES Revised: August 1, 2015-April 6, 2024

1. Inpatient Hospital Services (continued)

Inpatient Hospital Access Payments

Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2009, all privately operated hospitals within the State of Arkansas except for rehabilitative hospitals and specialty hospitals as defined in Arkansas Code Ann. § 20-77-1901(7)(D) and (E) shall be eligible to receive inpatient hospital access payments. The inpatient hospital access payments are considered supplemental payments and do not replace any currently authorized Medicaid inpatient hospital payments.

- 1. For each rate year, the state shall determine for each hospital and in total the number of Medicaid inpatient discharges for private hospitals eligible for this supplemental payment.
- 2. For each rate year, the state shall identify, on the basis of paid inpatient discharge claims adjudicated through the State's MMIS, reimbursement for inpatient hospital services that were delivered by the private hospitals identified in step one.
- 3. The state shall estimate the amount that would have been paid for the services identified in step two using Medicare principles consistent with the upper payment limit (UPL) requirements set forth in 42 CFR 447.272. Respective Case Mix Indexes (CMI) shall be applied to both the base Medicare per discharge rates and base Medicaid per discharge rates for comparison to the Medicare related UPL.
- 4. The maximum allowable aggregate Medicaid inpatient hospital access payment for private hospitals shall not exceed 97% of the difference between the results of step three (Medicare UPL) and results of step two (Medicaid based payment).
- 5. Using discharge data identified in step one, the state shall determine each eligible hospital's pro rata percentage which shall be a fraction equal to the number of the hospital's Medicaid discharges divided by the total number of Medicaid discharges for all eligible hospitals. This percentage will be calculated annually.
- 6. Each eligible hospital's inpatient hospital access payment shall be determined by multiplying the aggregate inpatient access payment identified in step 4 by the pro rata percentage identified in step 5. The current year's adjustment will be based on discharge data from the most recently audited fiscal year for which there is complete data. In this manner, the State will make supplemental payment to eligible hospitals for current year Medicaid utilization.

Inpatient hospital access payments shall be paid on a quarterly basis.

For hospitals that, for the most recently audited cost report period filed a partial year cost report, such partial year cost report data shall be annualized to determine their inpatient access payment; provided that such hospital was licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost report period. Hospitals with partial year cost reports that were not licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost report period shall receive prorated adjustments based on the partial year data.

Effective August 1, 2015, and forward, if an audited cost report is more than 2 years old, the State will elect to use the most recent cost report available as of June 30 for Inpatient Hospital Access Payments. Most recently submitted partial year cost report data will be annualized in the same matter as was used for audited cost report periods as described above.