

Division of Medical Services P.O. Box 1437, Slot S295, Little Rock, AR 72203-1437 P: 501.682.8292 F: 501.682.1197

## MEMORANDUM

TO:	Interested Persons and Providers
FROM:	Elizabeth Pitman, Director, Division of Medical Services
DATE:	June 14, 2024
SUBJ:	Vaccine Counseling for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT)

As a part of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act process, attached for your review and comment are proposed rule revisions.

Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address: <u>ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov</u> Please note that public comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public documents. A public comment, including the commenter's name and any personal information contained within the public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

If you have any comments, please submit those comments in writing, no later than July 13, 2024.

All DHS proposed rules, public notices, and recently finalized rules may also be viewed at: <u>Proposed Rules & Public Notices</u>.

## NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The Department of Human Services announces for a public comment period of thirty (30) calendar days a notice of rulemaking for the following proposed rule under one or more of the following chapters, subchapters, or sections of the Arkansas Code: §§20-76-201, 20-77-107, and 25-10-129.

The Division of Medical Services (DMS) amends the Arkansas Medicaid Children Health Services/Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Provider Manual in compliance with a Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) State Health Officials Letter. CMS issued guidance on Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage and payment for "stand-alone vaccine counseling. CMS interprets the EPSDT benefit to require states to provide coverage of stand-alone vaccine counseling to Medicaid beneficiaries under the age of 21 who are eligible for EPSDT. The projected annual cost of this change for the current state fiscal year is \$1,194,138.00 (State share 167,179.00; Federal share \$1,026,959.00), and for the next state fiscal year \$4,776,552.00 (State share 1,170,255.00, Federal share \$3,606,297.00). The proposed effective date of the rule is September 1, 2024.

There are no changes to Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment services (EPSDT). DHS assures continued access to EPSDT services in compliance with 42 C.F.R. §440.345.

The proposed rule is available for review at the Department of Human Services (DHS) Office of Policy and Rules, 2nd floor Donaghey Plaza South Building, 7th and Main Streets, P. O. Box 1437, Slot S295, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437. You may also access and download the proposed rule at <u>ar.gov/dhs-proposed-rules</u>. Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address: <u>ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov</u>. All public comments must be received by DHS no later than July 13, 2024. Please note that public comment, including the commenter's name and any personal information contained within the public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

A public hearing will be held by remote access through Zoom. Public comments may be submitted at the hearing. The details for attending the Zoom hearing appear at <u>ar.gov/dhszoom</u>.

If you need this material in a different format, such as large print, contact the Office of Policy and Rules at 501-320-6428. The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act and is operated, managed, and delivers services without regard to religion, disability, political affiliation, veteran status, age, race, color, or national origin. 4502201653

> Elizabeth Pitman, Director Division of Medical Services

## **TOC not required**

## 215.290 Health Education

<del>2-1-22<u>9-1-</u> 24</del>

Health education is a required component of screening services and includes anticipatory guidance. The developmental assessment, comprehensive physical examination, visual, hearing or dental screening provides the initial opportunity for providing health education. Health education and counseling to parents (or guardians) and children are required. Health education and counseling are designed to assist in understanding what to expect in terms of the child's development and to provide information about the benefits of healthy lifestyles and practices, as well as accident and disease prevention. See <u>Section 242.100</u> for procedure codes.

Health education can include but isn't limited to tobacco cessation counseling services to the parent/legal guardian of the child.

A. Counseling Visits:

<u>View or print the procedure codes and modifiers for Child Health Services/Early and</u> Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services.

- \* Exempt from PCP referral requirements.
- \*(...) This symbol, along with text in parentheses, indicates the Arkansas Medicaid description of the service. When using a procedure code with this symbol, the service must meet the indicated Arkansas Medicaid description.
- B. Referral of patient to an intensive tobacco cessation referral program.
- C. Can be billed in addition to an office visit or EPSDT.
- D. If the beneficiary is under the age of eighteen (18), and the parent/legal guardian smokes, he or she can be counseled as well, and the visit billed under the minor's beneficiary Medicaid number. The provider cannot prescribe meds for the parent under the child's Medicaid number. A parent/legal guardian session will count towards the four (4) counseling sessions limit described in section C above.
- E. These counseling sessions do NOT require a PCP referral.
- F. The provider must complete the counseling checklist and place in the patient records for audit. <u>View or Pprint the Arkansas Be Well Referral Form</u>.

Refer to Section 257.000 and Section 292.900 of the Physician's manual for more information.

Health education can include vaccine counseling services to parents and legal guardians, and children. New codes for reimbursement for vaccine counseling under EPSDT are available beginning September 1, 2024. Vaccine counseling is allowed up to four (4) times per year, with the ability to request an extension of benefit limit. View or print DMS contractor information for extension of benefits.