
What is child maltreatment? 
Child maltreatment means abuse, neglect, or abandonment of a child by the 
caretaker (a parent, guardian, custodian, or foster parent). The caretaker may 
be anyone who is 14 years of age or older and entrusted with the care of the 
child. Child maltreatment occurs when the caretaker harms the child, lets harm 
come to the child, or fails to meet the child’s basic needs.  Child maltreatment 
also includes sexual abuse and exploitation of a child whether by a caretaker or 
by another person. 

Who reports child maltreatment? 
Anyone who suspects child maltreatment may make a report. Some people 
(for example, doctors, teachers, and school counselors) are required by law to 
report suspected child maltreatment. 

What happens when there is a report of child maltreatment? 
When the Child Abuse Hotline accepts a report of suspected child 
maltreatment, Arkansas law says that the Division of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS) or the Arkansas State Police Crimes Against Children Division 
(CACD) will investigate the report. Generally, CACD will investigate severe 
maltreatment allegations, referred to as Priority I allegations, but DCFS may 
help provide services to families involved in these cases if appropriate. DCFS 
will generally investigate less severe maltreatment allegations that are referred 
to as Priority II allegations and also provide services to families involved in 
Priority II cases if appropriate. DCFS and/or CACD will work with you to make 
sure that children in your care are protected and their basic needs met. If you 
do not protect the children in your care, court action may be taken and your 
children could be removed from your home. 

What happens if the report is true? 
If you are named as an offender in a true investigative determination, you will 
be provided notice and have thirty (30) days from the day you receive the 
notice to request an administrative hearing. The administrative hearing is your 
opportunity to appeal the investigative determination. If you do not request 
the administrative hearing within thirty (30) days or the judge at the hearing 
decides the true determination will remain a true finding, your name will be 
placed in the Arkansas Child Maltreatment Central Registry.   
 
Under certain situations, your name can be removed from the Central Registry. 
Please contact your local DCFS County Office for more information. If there is a 
true finding of sexual abuse, but the offender is under 14 years old (Underage 
Juvenile Offender), his or her name will not be added to the Central Registry. 

What if the report is unsubstantiated (not true)? 
If you are named as an offender in an unsubstantiated report, your name will 
not be placed on the Child Maltreatment Central Registry. If you are the 

subject* of a report, you may request a copy of the report. See “Obtaining a 
Copy of the Report” below. Hard copy records of unsubstantiated reports are 
destroyed at the end of the month in which the determination is made.  
Therefore, requests for unsubstantiated reports must be made before the 
record is destroyed if a complete copy of the record is wanted. Information 
contained in the automated database will continue to be available to 
authorized recipients even after the hard copy is destroyed. The Division will 
not release any information regarding a pending child maltreatment report to 
you. If requested, DCFS can tell the court and the prosecuting attorney about 
the report.   

How can you obtain a copy of the report? 
DCFS will tell you in writing. You will not be told who made the report. If you 
are the subject* of the report, send a written, notarized request to get a copy 
of your report. The written request must give your name and address and the 
name of the child(ren) involved.  
 
A true report may be released only if: (1) the offender has failed to request an 
administrative hearing within thirty (30) days of receiving notification of the 
investigative finding; or, (2) a hearing has been held and the judge decides 
that investigative finding of true should remain as a true finding. 
 
If you are a parent requesting a copy of a child maltreatment report on your 
child(ren), and you are NOT a subject* of the report, your request must 
include a statement attesting to your legal relationship to the child(ren).  
 
The request for a copy of a report must be accompanied by a check or money 
order made payable to the Department of Human Services (DHS) in the 
amount of ten dollars ($10.00). 
Thank you for taking the time to review this important information. 
 
______________________________ __________ 
Family Service Worker Signature  Phone 
   
Or 
 
______________________________ __________ 
CACD Investigator Signature  Phone 
 
 
*A subject of the report includes the offender, the victim child, and the 
victim child’s parents (custodial and non-custodial), guardians or legal 
custodians. 
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Where do I send the request? 
 
You should send the written, notarized request to: 
 

Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services 
Central Registry Unit 
P.O. Box 1437, (Slot S566) 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437 

 
If I have more questions, where can I get the answers? 
 
Call your own attorney or Legal Services in your community, if you have any 
legal questions. 
 
Call your local DHS county office if you have questions about available 
services. 
 
This information is available in different formats such as: large print, 
audiotape, etc. If you need another format, contact the Division's ADA 
Coordinator at 682-8747 or TDD 682-1442. 
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