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OFFICIAL NOTICE

TO:
Health Care Providers – All Pediatric Providers
DATE:
November 9, 2021
SUBJECT:
COVID-19 – Pfizer Pediatric Vaccination Shots (Ages 5-11 Years Old)
I.
General Information
Due to the on-going Public Health Emergency (PHE) and guidance from the FDA (Food & Drug Administration) and CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services), Arkansas Medicaid will cover the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for children five (5) through eleven (11) years of age.

The correct procedure codes that must be used to file a claim for administration of this shot is set out in the table in this Official Notice.
The Effective Dates for this coverage are October 29, 2021, through the end of the PHE.
II.
Authorized Administration of the Janssen Booster for Medicaid clients

Arkansas Medicaid will follow the criteria and limitations outlined by the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH), the CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention), and the FDA in its Emergency Use Authorizations (EUAs).  These documents can be found here:

· ADH COVID-19 Vaccine Information
· CDC COVID-19 Vaccine for Children and Teens
· CMS COVID-19 Vaccination for Children 5-11 Years Old
· FDA Authorizes Pfizer COVID Vaccination for Children 5-11 Years Old
· FDA Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 Vaccine
III.
Procedure Code Tables
· The procedure code table below contain the authorized procedure codes for the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine medication and administration for children five (5) through eleven (11) years of age.

· Claims for using the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccination for children five (5) through eleven (11) years of age must include the correct procedure code for administration along with the correct procedure code for the medication.

PFIZER-BIONTECH FOR CHILDREN 5-11 YEARS OLD
COVID-19 VACCINATION (1st and 2nd SHOTS)

	Procedure Code
	Description
	Reimbursement Rate

	0071A
	ADM SARSCV2 10MCG TRS-SUCR 1
(Pfizer-BioNTech Covid-19 Pediatric Vaccine - Administration - First dose)
	$100.00

(TEMPORARY rate increase for administration of the COVID-19 vaccine)

	0072A
	ADM SARSCV2 10MCG TRS-SUCR 2
(Pfizer-BioNTech Covid-19 Pediatric Vaccine - Administration - Second dose)
	$100.00

(TEMPORARY rate increase for administration of the COVID-19 vaccine)

	91307
	SARSCOV2 VAC 10 MCG TRS-SUCR
(Pfizer-BioNTech Covid-19 Pediatric Vaccine)
	$0.01

(For the vaccine medication)


IV.
Record Keeping

· All providers should maintain accurate records as required by Medicaid billing rules, including documentation regarding the clinical basis for administration of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine to children five (5) through eleven (11) years of age.

· To ensure quality and consistency of care to Medicaid beneficiaries, DMS (the Division of Medical Services) will coordinate with the Office of the Medicaid Inspector General (OMIG) to conduct retrospective reviews and audits of all services provided during this time.

V.
Billing Guidelines and Payment of Claims
· Claims for administration of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine to children five (5) through eleven (11) years of age must include the correct corresponding COVID-19 vaccine medication.

· Providers must file claims for Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine (for children five (5) through eleven (11) years of age) included in this Official Notice within three-hundred and sixty-five (365) days from the DOS (Date of Service).
VI.
Authorized Providers

The following Arkansas Medicaid providers will continue to be authorized to administer COVID-19 vaccinations:

· Physicians

· Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN) which include the following:

· Certified Nurse Practitioner

· Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

· Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)

· Clinical Nurse Specialist

· Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC)

· Rural Health Centers (RHC)

· Pharmacy Licensed Providers who are enrolled to provide vaccines (pursuant to SPA No. 20-0024, Eff. 12/8/2020):

· Pharmacists

· Pharmacy Interns

· Pharmacy Technicians 

· Pharmacies 

· Arkansas Department of Health (ADH)

· Hospitals (in the outpatient setting)

· Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASC)

If you have questions regarding this notice, please contact the Provider Assistance Center at 
1-800-457-4454 toll-free or locally at (501) 376-2211.
If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact the Office of Rules Promulgation at (501) 396-6428.
Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices, notices of rule making, and remittance advice (RA) messages are available for download from the Division of Medical Services website.
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.


   /s/ Elizabeth Pitman


Elizabeth Pitman

Director
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