
Applicat
ion

for Licensure as a Child Care Provider

The following steps are involved in the
process to obtain a license to operate a
child care center, an out of school time
facility, a licensed child care family home
or registered child care family home and
to access Division programs offered by the
Family Support Unit (Child Care
Assistance Program) and the Health and
Nutrition Unit (USDA Food Program):

The prospective applicant
contacts Child Care Licensing
Staff at this number:
 
501-682-8590

#1
The prospective applicant will be
given contact information for the
Child Care Licensing Specialist
in their area and information on
how to schedule the required
Pre-application Orientation Class.

#2
The prospective applicant
will attend the Pre-Licensing
Class and will receive
information on the steps
involved in obtaining a license,
including:

#3

the applicable licensing
requirements

 
required background check
results must be received on
the owner and employees
prior to opening

 
financial considerations and
business liability

 
Fire Department approval

 
Health Department approval

 
zoning requirements

 
The Child Care
Assistance Program

 
The USDA Nutrition Program

 
Better Beginnings, Arkansas’s
quality rating and
improvement system

* New licensees must qualify for Better
Beginnings, level 2, in order to
participate in the child care assistance
program.

The prospective applicant will contact the Child Care Licensing Specialist
in their area to discuss their plans for operating a licensed facility and to
determine if they are ready to submit an application for licensure.
 
The Child Care Licensing Specialist will offer technical assistance, both
before submission of an application and during the application process.
 
The Licensing Specialist will provide the prospective applicant with
information on how to participate in the Child Care Assistance Program
and the USDA Nutrition Program.
 
The Licensing Specialist will also offer to review plans and blueprints, visit
proposed site locations with the prospective applicant and provide
information on how to obtain zoning, Fire and Health approvals.

#4

The prospective applicant will submit a completed and signed application
form when they are within 60 days of their anticipated date of opening
their center/home.

#5

*Applications, by law must be processed within 60 days of receipt. If an applicant is unable to meet
the necessary requirements for licensure within that time frame, they will be asked to withdraw
their application, until they are able to proceed with the application process.

#6
The assigned Licensing Specialist will contact the
applicant within two business days of receipt of the
application to discuss the applicant's plans and to offer
technical assistance during the application process.

#7

A completed application, signed by the owner
 

A qualified Director
 

Background check results must be received for the owner
and any staff who have been hired prior to approval of the
application

 
Approval from the Fire Department

 
Approval from the Department of Health if the applicant
plans to prepare and serve meals to children.

 
Verification that a boiler inspection has been scheduled
with the Department of Labor

 
Zoning approval, if required for the location of their
center/home.

 
Child Care Liability Insurance

*water heater inspection required
by Arkansas law

*a minimum of one million dollars in
coverage for centers and 100 thousand
dollars for homes

A reasonable plan with a proposed budget, covering
costs of staffing, facilitiess, utilities, equipment, safety
and nutrition.

 
A walk-through of the building and grounds by the
Licensing Specialist to ensure that there are no hazards
that could pose a risk to children in care

 
Transportation requirements have been met, if the
applicant plans to transport children

 
The appropriate licensing fee has been paid.

 

*centers only*centers only

*The applicant will receive a license fee notice in the mail, with information
on the amount of the fee and the address where the fee will be mailed to.

Licensed Homes - $15
Registered Homes – no fee required
Centers [both child care and out of school time]–

 up to 17 children - $15, 17 to 99 children- $50,
100 or more children - $100

The following must be in place before the
application will be approved and the applicant can
provide care to a licensable number of children:
*More than 5 children at any time
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To participate in Better
Beginnings, the new provider
should notify the Better
Beginnings Specialist at 501-
320-8981. The Specialist will
send an application to complete.

#8
To participate in Child Care
Assistance services, contact
Division Administrative Staff at
501-682-8947. You will be
advised of options to participate.

#9
To participate in Feeding
services, the provider should
contact the Health & Nutrition
Unit at 501-682-8869 or        

 1-800-482-5850 ext 28869.
Unit staff will notify provider
of decision within 30 days.

#10

https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/dccece/Appforlicense.pdf

