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MEMORANDUM
TO: Interested Persons and Providers
FROM: Elizabeth Pitman, Director, Division of Medical Services
DATE: October 12, 2023
SUBJ: Continuous Glucose Monitors and Diabetic Supplies as a Pharmacy Benefit

As a part of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act process, attached for your review and
comment are proposed rule revisions.

Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email
address: ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov Please note that public comments submitted in response to this
notice are considered public documents. A public comment, including the commenter’s name and
any personal information contained within the public comment, will be made publicly available
and may be seen by various people.

If you have any comments, please submit those comments in writing, no later than November 12,
2023.

All DHS proposed rules, public notices, and recently finalized rules may also be viewed at:
Proposed Rules & Public Notices.

We Care. We Act. We Change Lives.
humanservices.arkansas.gov
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NOTICE OF RULE MAKING

The Department of Human Services announces for a public comment period of thirty (30) calendar days a
notice of rulemaking for the following proposed rule under one or more of the following chapters,
subchapters, or sections of the Arkansas Code: §§ 25-10-129, 20-76-201, and 20-77-107.

The Director of the Division of Medical Services (DMS) amends the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan and
corresponding provider manuals to implement Act 393 of 2023 of the 94th General Assembly. The Act
requires Medicaid to cover continuous glucose monitors (CGMs) as a pharmacy benefit and
mandates pharmacy coverage of CGMs for certain individuals with diabetes or hypoglycemia.
Impacted beneficiaries include those with Type 1 diabetes or any other type of diabetes with
either insulin use or evidence of level 2 or level 3 hypoglycemia, or beneficiaries diagnosed with
glycogen storage disease type 1a. DMS also added blood glucose monitors (BGMs) and other
diabetic supplies to the rule to benefit from additional state supplemental rebates and streamline
access to care for beneficiaries.

Medicaid payments for the CGMs and related supplies are calculated using already established rate
methodology for pharmacy with rebates being applied. The projected annual cost of this change for state
fiscal year (SFY) 2024 is $600,094.00 (of which $432,067.00 is federal funds) and for SFY 2025 is
$213,589.00 (of which $153,784.00 is federal funds).

Pursuant to the Governor’s Executive Order 23-02, DHS repeals the following two rules as part of this
promulgation: (1) DDS Policy 3018 — Reporting of Denial of Access to Services, and (2) DDS Policy
3018 — Mortality Review of Deaths of Persons Receiving Alternative Community Services Waiver
Services.

The proposed rule is available for review at the Department of Human Services (DHS) Office of Rules
Promulgation, 2nd floor Donaghey Plaza South Building, 7th and Main Streets, P. O. Box 1437, Slot
S295, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437. You may also access and download the proposed rule at
ar.gov/dhs-proposed-rules. This notice also shall be posted at the local office of the Division of County
Operations (DCO) of DHS in every county in the state.

Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address:
ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov. All public comments must be received by DHS no later than November 12,
2023. Please note that public comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public
documents. A public comment, including the commenter’s name and any personal information contained
within the public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

A public hearing by remote access only through a Zoom webinar will be held on October 25" at 9:00 a.m.
and public comments may be submitted at the hearing. Individuals can access this public hearing at
https://us02web.zoom.us/i/88475745635. The webinar ID is 884 7574 5635. If you would like the electronic
link, “one-tap” mobile information, listening only dial-in phone numbers, or international phone numbers,

please contact ORP at ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov.

If you need this material in a different format, such as large print, contact the Office of Rules
Promulgation at (501) 320-6428.



The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights
Act and is operated, managed and delivers services without regard to religion, disability, political
affiliation, veteran status, age, race, color or national origin. 4502172997

D dleul (PR

Elizabeth{Pijtman, Director
Division ofMedical Services




ARKids First-B Section Il

221.100 ARKids First-B Medical Care Benefits 21-1-224

Listed below are the covered services for the ARKids First-B program. This chart also includes
benefits, whether Prior Authorization or a Primary Care Physician (PCP) referral is required, and
specifies the cost-sharing requirements.

Co-payment/
Prior Coinsurance/
Benefit Coverage and Authorization/ PCP  Cost Sharing
Program Services Restrictions Referral* Requirement™
Ambulance Medical Necessity None $10 per trip
(Emergency Only)
Ambulatory Surgical Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Center
Audiological Medical Necessity None None
Services (only
Tympanometry, CPT
procedure code****,
when the diagnosis
is within the ICD
range (View ICD
codes.))
Certified Nurse- Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Midwife
Chiropractor Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Dental Care Routine dental care and None — PA for inter-  $10 per visit
orthodontia services periodic screens
and orthodontia
services
Durable Medical Medical Necessity PCP Referral and 10% of Medicaid
Equipment $500 per state fiscal year Prescription allowed amount
(July 1 through June 30) per DME item
minus the cost-share
coinsurance/cost-share.
Covered items are listed in
Section 262.120
Emergency Dept. Services
Emergency Medical Necessity None $10 per visit
Non-Emergency Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Assessment Medical Necessity None $10 per visit
Family Planning Medical Necessity None None
Federally Qualified Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Health Center
(FQHC)
Home Health Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit

(10 visits per state fiscal
year (July 1 through June
30)

Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
is copyright © 2015 American Dental Association. All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS apply. Section lI-1
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Program Services

Benefit Coverage and

Restrictions

Prior
Authorization/ PCP
Referral*

Co-payment/
Coinsurance/
Cost Sharing
Requirement™

Hospital, Inpatient

Medical Necessity

PA on stays over 4

10% of first

days if age 1 or over inpatient day
Hospital, Outpatient  Medical Necessity PCP referral $10 per visit
Inpatient Psychiatric  Medical Necessity PA & Certification of 10% of first
Hospital and Need is required inpatient day
Psychiatric prior to admittance
Residential
Treatment Facility
Immunizations All per protocol None None
Laboratory & X-Ray = Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Medical Supplies Medical Necessity PCP Prescriptions None
Benefit of $125/mo. .
o . PA required on
Covered supplies listed in supply amounts
Section 262.110 exceeding $125/mo
Mental and Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Behavioral Health, PA on treatment
Outpatient services
School-Based Medical Necessity PA Required (See $10 per visit
Mental Health Section 250.000 of
the School-Based
Mental Health
provider manual.)
Nurse Practitioner Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Physician Medical Necessity PCP referral to $10 per visit
specialist and
inpatient
professional
services
Podiatry Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Prenatal Care Medical Necessity None None
Prescription Drugs Medical Necessity Prescription Up to $5 per
Including Centi prescription
Gl Met (Must use
(CGM CoM generic, if
lies diabetic available)
supplies
Preventive Health All per protocol PCP Administration  None
Screenings or PCP Referral
Rural Health Clinic Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
is copyright © 2015 American Dental Association. All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS apply. Section lI-2
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Co-payment/
Prior Coinsurance/
Benefit Coverage and Authorization/ PCP  Cost Sharing
Program Services Restrictions Referral* Requirement™
Speech-Language Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Therapy 4 evaluation units (1 unit Authorization
=30 min) per state fiscal required on
year extended benefit of
4 therapy units (1 unit=15 services
min) daily
Occupational Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Therapy 2 evaluation units per state  Authorization
fiscal year required on
extended benefit of
services
Physical Therapy Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
2 evaluation units per state  Authorization
fiscal year required on
extended benefit of
services
Vision Care
Eye Exam One (1) routine eye exam  None $10 per visit
(refraction) every 12
months
Eyeglasses One (1) pair every 12 None None

months

"Refer to your Arkansas Medicaid specialty provider manual for prior authorization and PCP

referral procedures.

“ARKids First-B beneficiary cost-sharing is capped at 5% of the family’s gross annual income.

""ARKids First-B beneficiaries will pay a maximum of $5.00 per prescription. The beneficiary will
pay the provider the amount of co-payment that the provider charges non-Medicaid purchasers
up to $5.00 per prescription. For pharmacy billing information to include Continuous Glucose
Monitors (CGM),-ard-CGM supplies, blood glucose monitors (BGMs), and glucose testing

supplies see the DHS contracted Pharmacy Vendor’s website.

****View or print the procedure codes for ARKids First-B procedures and services.

Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
is copyright © 2015 American Dental Association. All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS apply.

Section II-3
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Home Health Section Il

242.150 Home Health Medical Supplies 1-1-20242-
e

The following Health Care Procedural Coding System (HCPCS) codes must be used when billing
the Arkansas Medicaid Program for medical supplies. Providers must use the current HCPCS
Book for code descriptions.

View or print the procedure codes for Home Health services.

Listed below are medical supplies that require special billing or need prior authorization. These
items are listed with the HCPCS codes and require modifiers. The asterisk denotes these items
and the required modifiers.

B-A. **Gradient Compression Stocking (Jobst Stocking), All Ages

The gradient compression stocking (Jobst) is payable for beneficiaries of all ages. Before
supplying the items, the Jobst stocking must be prior authorized by AFMC. View or print
form DMS-679A and instructions for completion. Documentation accompanying form
DMS-679A must indicate that the beneficiary has severe varicose with edema, or a venous
stasis ulcer, unresponsive to conventional therapy such as wrappings, over-the-counter
stocking and Unna boots. The documentation must include clinical medical records from a
physician detailing the failure of conventional therapy.

Code must be manually priced.
Code requires a prior authorization (PA). See Section 221.000.

Code requires prior authorization (PA); see Section 221.000. Code is manually priced and
is covered for beneficiaries ages 0-20 years of age.

B.G: ***Food Thickeners, All Ages

Food thickeners, including “Thick-it”, “Simple Thick”, “Thick and Easy” and “Thick and
Clear” are not subjected to the medical supply benefit limit.

The modifier NU must be used with the code found in this section and when food
thickeners are administered enterally, the modifier “BA” must be used in conjunction with
the code.

When food thickeners are billed, total units are to be calculated to the nearest full ounce.
Partial units may be rounded up. When a date span is billed, the product cannot be billed
until the end date of the span has elapsed.

The maximum number of units allowed for food thickeners is 16 units per date of service.

The following HCPCS codes usage must match the Arkansas Medicaid code description and use
of modifier(s).

*The following HCPCS codes and modifiers are covered only for pregnant women.

Section II-1
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212.000 Exclusions 1-1-20248-
1-24

A.  Products manufactured by non-rebating pharmaceutical companies.

Effective January 1, 2006, the Medicaid agency will not cover any drug covered by
Medicare Part D for full-benefit dual eligible individuals who are entitled to receive
Medicare benefits under Part A or Part B.

C. The Medicaid agency provides coverage, to the same extent that it provides coverage for
all Medicaid beneficiaries under § 1927 (d) of the Social Security Act, for the following
excluded or otherwise restricted drugs or classes of drugs, or their medical uses; with the
exception of those covered by Part D plans as supplemental benefits through enhanced
alternative coverage as provided in 42 CFR § 423.104 (f) (1) (ii) (A),to full-benefit dual
eligible beneficiaries under the Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit - Part D.

The following excluded drugs are set forth on the DHS Contracted Pharmacy Vendor
website.

1.  Select agents when used for weight gain
Select agents when used for the symptomatic relief of cough and colds

Select prescription vitamins and mineral products, except prenatal vitamins and
fluoride

4.  Select nonprescription drugs

5.  Select agents when used to promote smoking cessation

D. Medical accessories are not covered under the Arkansas Medicaid Pharmacy Program.
Typical examples of medical accessories are atomizers, nebulizers, hot water bottles,

‘ fountain syringes, ice bags and caps, urinals, bedpans, glicose-meonitering-devices-and

supphes;-cotton, gauze and bandages, wheelchairs, crutches, braces, supports, diapers,
and nutritional products.

‘ 216.100 Medical Supplies for Long-Term Care Facility Residents 10-13-031-
1-24

A pharmacy often supplies items that are not covered under the Arkansas Medicaid Program to
Medicaid eligibles in a long-term care facility. Under the cost-related reimbursement system in
which long-term care (LTC) facilities are reimbursed, many of these items are the financial
responsibility of the facility; therefore, the patient or the patient’s family should not be billed for
these items. The facility must furnish the following items to Medicaid beneficiaries:

A.  First aid supplies (e.g., small bandages, merthiolate, mercurochrome, hydrogen peroxide,
ointments for minor cuts and abrasions);

B. Dietary supplies (e.g., salt and sugar substitutes, supplemental feedings, equipment for
preparing and dispensing tube feedings);

C. Items normally stocked by the facility in gross supply and distributed in small quantities
(e.g., alcohol, hydrogen peroxide, applicators, cotton balls, tongue depressors);

D.  All over-the-counter drugs_and glucose monitors and supplies;

Section II-1


https://arkansas.magellanrx.com/provider/documents/
https://arkansas.magellanrx.com/provider/documents/

Pharmacy

Section Il

E.
F.

Enemas and douches—including equipment and solution (also disposables);

Catheters;

Special dressings (e.g., gauze, 4-by-4s, ABD pads, surgical and micropore tape, telfa
gauze, ace bandages);

Colostomy drainage bags and

Equipment required for simple tests such as clinitest, acetest and dextrostix.

e . " "

216.101 Medical Supplies Covered as a Pharmacy Benefit

The pharmacy National Council for Prescription Drug Program (NCPDP) benefit for the Arkansas

Medicaid pharmacy program covers continuous glucose monitors (CGMs) and other diabetic

supplies. This coverage would include CGMs and supplies, patch type insulin pumps and

supplies, and blood glucose monitors (BGMs) and supplies.

A.

Diabetic supplies payable as a pharmacy benefit will be reimbursed at the

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus the applicable professional dispensing fee.
Traditional insulin pumps requiring tubing and cannula type supplies will remain a

medical benefit.
Beneficiaries with Medicare Part B benefits will continue to be serviced under the

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) program.
For coverage details concerning prior authorization requirements and preferred

product list see the DHS Pharmacy Vendor’s website for specific information.

Section II-2
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212.206 {DME) Home Blood Glucose Monitor_and Supplies, Pregnant 8-1-051-1-

All Ages

A. Medicaid beneficiaries are eligible for diabetic and blood sugar testing supplies as a
pharmacy benefit. Home blood sugar meters and supplies (strips, lancets,
calibration solution, etc.) are available without a prior authorization. See the DHS
Pharmacy Vendor’'s website for specific information for coverage details.

B- MemberBeneficiaries with Medicare Part B benefits willcontinue to be serviced under the
durable medical equipment (DME) program.

212.207 {BME)-Insulin Pump and Supplies, All Ages 8-1-211-1-
2024

Insulin pumps and supplies are covered by Arkansas Medicaid for beneficiaries of all ages.
Effective 1/1/2024, patch or tubeless insulin pumps willbeare covered as a pharmacy benefit
while traditional insulin pumps requiring tubing and cannula type supplies will-remain a medical
benefit. MemberBeneficiaries with Medicare Part B benefits will-continue to be serviced for all of
their needs under the DME program.

Prior authorization is required for the insulin pump. A prescription and proof of medical necessity
are required. The patient must be educated on the use of the pump, but the education is not a
covered service.

Insulin is covered through the prescription drug program.
The following criteria will be utilized in evaluating the need for the insulin pump:

A. Insulin-dependent diabetes that is difficult to control.

Section I1-1
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B.

C.

Fluctuation in blood sugars causing both high and low blood sugars in a patient on at least
three (3), if not four (4), injections per day.

Beneficiary’s motivation level in controlling diabetes and willingness to do frequent blood
glucose monitoring.

Beneficiary’s ability to learn how to use the pump effectively. This will have to be
evaluated and documented by a professional with experience in the use of the pump.

Determination of the beneficiary’s suitability to use the pump should be made by a
diabetes specialist or endocrinologist.

Beneficiaries not included in one (1) of these categories will be considered on an individual
basis.

Prior authorization requests for the traditional insulin pumps and supplies_(cannula, tubing) must
be submitted on form DMS-679A titled Prescription & Prior Authorization Request for Medical
Equipment Excluding Wheelchairs & Wheelchair Components, to DHS or its designated vendor.
View or print form DMS-679A and instructions for completion. View or print contact

information for how to submit the request.

212.208

When submitting prior authorization requests for the patch or tubeless insulin pumps see
the DHS Pharmacy Vendor’s website for specific information for coverage details.

Continuous Glucose Monitors 4-4-221-1-

continuous glucose monitors (CGMs) are moving to a pharmacy benefit. Beneficiaries

must meet the following criteria for coverage:

1.  Either:
a. A presence of type 1 diabetes or any other type of diabetes with the use of
insulin-mere-than-two(2)-times-daily; or
b. A presence of type 1 diabetes or any other type of diabetes with evidence of
Level 2 or Level 3 hypoglycemia; or

C. Diagnosis of glycogen storage disease type 1a; or
d. Use of an insulin pump; and

2.  Regular follow-up with a healthcare provider at a minimum every six (6) months to
assess for ongoing benefit.

Definition. As used in this section, "continuous glucose monitor" means an instrument or
device, including repair and replacement parts, that:

Is designed and offered for the purpose of aiding an individual with diabetes;

2 Measures glucose levels at set intervals by means of a small electrode placed under
the skin and held in place by an adhesive; and

3 Is generally not useful to an individual who has not been diagnosed with diabetes.

MemberBeneficiaries with Medicare Part B benefits willcontinue to be serviced under the DME

program.

Section II-2
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 3d
STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: January 1, 20242022

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

7.d.

Home Health Services (Continued)

In accordance with 42 CFR 440.70(b)(3) medical supplies, equipment and appliances are suitable for use in any setting
in which normal life activities take place. (Continued)

(5) Diapers/Underpads

Diapers/underpads are limited to $130.00 per month, per beneficiary. The $130.00 benefit limit is a combined limit
for diapers/underpads provided through the Prosthetics Program and Home Health Program. The benefit limit may
be extended with proper documentation. Only patients with a medical diagnosis other than infancy which results in
incontinence of the bladder and/or bowel may receive diapers. This coverage does not apply to infants who would
otherwise be in diapers regardless of their medical condition. Providers cannot bill for underpads/diapers if a
beneficiary is under the age of three years.

(6) PME/Continvous-Glaeose Monitors. Home Health Supplies Provided by Pharmacy.

A. Effective January 1, 2024, Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGM) and diabetic supplies are wil-be-covered
under a beneficiary’s pharmacy benefits. See the DHS vendor’s website for coverage details. for

Askansas Medicaid-clientbeneficiaries-

C. Traditional insulin pumps requiring tubing and cannula type supplies will remain a medical benefit and will
require a prior authorization for beneficiaries who do not meet certain approval criteria.

Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech-language pathology and audiology services provided by a home health
agency or medical rehabilitative facility.

Physical therapists must meet the requirements outlined in 42 CFR 440.110(a).

Services under this item are limited to physical therapy when provided by a home health agency and prescribed by a physician.
Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2017, individual and group physical therapy are limited to six (6) units per
week. Effective for dates on or after January 1, 2021, physical therapy evaluations are limited to two (2) units per State Fiscal
Year (July 1 through June 30). Extensions of the benefit limits will be provided if medically necessary for eligible Medicaid

reeipientbeneficiaries.

Private Duty Nursing to enhance the effectiveness of treatment for ventilator-dependent beneficiaries or non-ventilator
dependent tracheotomy beneficiaries

Enrolled providers are Private Duty Nursing Agencies licensed by Arkansas Department of Health. Services are provided by
Registered Nurses or Licensed Practical Nurses licensed by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing.

Services are covered for Medicaid-eligible beneficiaries age 21 and over when determined medically necessary and prescribed
by a physician.

Beneficiaries 21 and over to receive PDN Nursing Services must require constant supervision, visual assessment and
monitoring of both equipment and patient. In addition, the beneficiary must be:

A. Ventilator dependent (invasive) or

TN:21-0015 Approval: Effective Date:3—3-2622
Supersedes TN:20-0021



B. Have a functioning trach
1. requiring suctioning and
2. oxygen supplementation and
3. receiving Nebulizer treatments or require Cough Assist / inexsufflator devices.

TN:21-0015 Approval: Effective Date:3—3-2622
Supersedes TN:20-0021



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page Saaa
STATE ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: September30;2041
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY
12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in diseases

of the eye or by

an optometrist (Continued)

a. Prescribed Drugs (continued)

Prior authorization will be established for certain drug classes, particular drugs or medically
accepted indication for uses and doses.

The state will appoint a Pharmaceutical and Therapeutic Committee or utilize the drug
utilization review committee in accordance with Federal law.

When a pharmacist receives a prescription for a brand or trade name drug, and dispenses an
innovator multisource drug that is subject to the Federal Upper Limits (FULSs), the innovator
multisource drug must be priced at or below the FUL or the prescription hand annotated by
the prescriber “Brand Medically Necessary”. Only innovator multisource drugs that are
subject to the Federal Upper Limit at 42 CFR 447.332(a) and dispensed on or after July 1,
1991, are subject to the provisions of Section 1903(i)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act.

For drugs listed on the Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List, the upper limit price
will not apply if the prescribing physician certifies in writing that a brand name drug is
medically necessary.

The Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List is comprised of State generic upper limits
on specific multisource drug products and CMS identified generic upper limits on
multisource drug products.

The Medicaid agency will provide coverage of prescription and over-the-counter (OTC)
smoking/tobacco cessation covered outpatient drugs for pregnant women as recommended in
“Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence — 2008 Update: A Clinical Practice Guideline”
published by the Public Health Service in May 2008 or any subsequent modification of such
guideline.

Prescribed Supplies as a Pharmacy Benefit

-As of 1/1/2024, diabetic supplies and continuous glucose monitors are covered under a
beneficiary’s pharmacy benefits. See the DHS vendor’s website for coverage details.
Traditional insulin pumps requiring tubing and cannula type supplies will remain a medical
benefit.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-B

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 3f
STATE ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: January 1,-20242622
MEDICALLY NEEDY
7. Home Health Services (Continued)

7.c. In accordance with 42 CFR 440.70(b)(3) medical supplies, equipment and appliances are
suitable for use in any setting in which normal life activities take place. (Continued)
&) Diapers/Underpads
Diapers/underpads are limited to $130.00 per month, per recipientbeneficiary. The
$130.00 benefit limit is a combined limit for diapers/underpads provided through the
Prosthetics Program and Home Health Program. The benefit limit may be extended with
proper documentation. Only patients with a medical diagnosis other than infancy which
results in incontinence of the bladder and/or bowel may receive diapers. This coverage
does not apply to infants who would otherwise be in diapers regardless of their medical
condition. Providers cannot bill for underpads/diapers if a reeipientbeneficiary is under the
age of three years.
(6) PME/Ceontinnous-Glucose Moniters Home Health Supplies Provided by Pharmacy.
A. Effective January 1, 2024, €Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGM) and diabetic
supplies are wi-be-covered under a beneficiary’s pharmacy benefits. See the
DHS vendor’s website for coverage details. for-ArkansasMedicaid-elients:
B- A-priorauthorzation-(PA - maywit-berequiredfor-benefietariestha Ao
€B.  Traditional insulin pumps requiring tubing and cannula type supplies will remain
a medical benefit and will require a prior authorization for beneficiaries who do
not meet certain approval criteria.
7.d.  Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech-language pathology and audiology services
provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitative facility.
Services under this item are limited to physical therapy when provided by a home health agency
and prescribed by a physician. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2017, individual
and group physical therapy are limited to six (6) units per week. Effective for dates of service on
or after January 1, 2021, physical therapy evaluations are limited to two (2) units per State Fiscal
Year (July 1 through June 30). Extensions of the benefit limit will be provided if medically
necessary for eligible Medicaid recipients.
TN : 24+—60645— Approval: Effective Date:1-1-
20242

Supersedes TN:261-002+15



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-B

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 4i
STATE ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF January 1, 2024
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised:
MEDICALLY NEEDY
12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in

diseases of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued)
a. Prescribed Drugs (continued)

Prior authorization will be established for certain drug classes, particular drugs or
medically accepted indication for uses and doses.

The state will appoint a Pharmaceutical and Therapeutic Committee or utilize the drug
utilization review committee in accordance with Federal law.

When a pharmacist receives a prescription for a brand or trade name drug, and dispenses
an innovator multisource drug that is subject to the Federal Upper Limits (FULs), the
innovator multisource drug must be priced at or below the FUL or the prescription hand
annotated by the prescriber “Brand Medically Necessary”. Only innovator multisource
drugs that are subject to the Federal Upper Limit at 42 CFR 447.332(a) and dispensed on
or after July 1, 1991, are subject to the provisions of Section 1903(i)(10)(B) of the Social
Security Act.

For drugs listed on the Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List, the upper limit
price will not apply if the prescribing physician certifies in writing that a brand name
drug is medically necessary.

The Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List is comprised of State generic upper
limits on specific multisource drug products and CMS identified generic upper limits on
multisource drug products.

The Medicaid agency will provide coverage of prescription and over-the-counter
(OTC) smoking/tobacco cessation covered outpatient drugs for pregnant women as
recommended in “Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence — 2008 Update: A
Clinical Practice Guideline” published by the Public Health Service in May 2008 or
any subsequent modification of such guideline.

Prescribed Supplies as a Pharmacy Benefit

As of 1/1/2024, diabetic supplies and continuous glucose monitors (CGM) will-beare covered
under— a member’sbeneficiary’s pharmacy benefits. See the DHS vendor’s website for coverage
details. Traditional insulin pumps requiring tubing and cannula type supplies will remain a
medical benefit. Members
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12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in
diseases of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued)

b. Dentures

Refer to Attachment 3.1-B Item 4.b(7) for coverage of dentures for Child Health Services
(EPSDT) recipients.

Dentures are available for eligible Medicaid beneficiaries age 21 and over, but are benefit limited.
Specific benefit limits and prior authorization requirements for beneficiaries age 21 and over are

detailed in the Dental Provider Manual.

Dentures are excluded from the annual limit but are limited to one set per lifetime.

TN:23-0023 Approved: Effective:01/01/2023
Supersedes: None - New Page
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STATE

ARKANSAS

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE Revised: January 1, 2024

12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in
diseases of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued)

a. Prescribed Drugs (continued)

Effective 1/1/2024, Continuous Glucose Monitoring (CGM) and other diabetic supplies payable as a
pharmacy benefit are reimbursed at the Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus the applicable
professional dispensing fee.

TN:23-0023 Approved: Effective:01/01/2023
Supersedes: None - New Page



SPA #13., Purpose of SPA:

6.1.

The purpose of this SPA is to demonstrate compliance with Arkansas Act 393 of 2023 requiring

Arkansas Medicaid to cover Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) as a pharmacy benefit.

Impacted beneficiaries include those with Type 1 diabetes or any other type of diabetes with

either insulin use or evidence of level 2 or level 3 hypoglycemia, or beneficiaries diagnosed with

glycogen storage disease type 1a. Blood glucose monitors (BGMs) and testing supplies will also
be covered as a pharmacy benefit, and these products will no longer be available in the Durable
Medical Equipment (DME) program.

Proposed effective date: January 1, 2024
Proposed implementation date: January 1. 2024

The State elects to provide the following forms of coverage to children: (Check all that
apply. If an item is checked, describe the coverage with respect to the amount, duration

and scope of services covered, as well as any exclusions or limitations) (Section 2110(a))
(42CFR 457.490)

ARKids-B Program

The Title XXI CHIP ARKids-B program’s benefit package includes inpatient and outpatient hospital
services, physician, surgical and medical services, laboratory and x-ray services, well baby care,
including age-appropriate immunizations. Enrollees in ARKids-B are not eligible for the full range
of Medicaid State Plan services. The chart below provides a description of the coverage and the
amount, duration, and scope of services covered in certain services included in the ARKids-B
benefit package, as well as any exclusions or limitations. The services checked below in the pre-
print are included in the ARKids-B benefit package.

Ambulance (Emergency Only)

Ambulatory Surgical Center

Audiological Services (only Tympanometry, CPT procedure code 92567, when the diagnosis
is within the ICD-9-CM range of 381.0 through 382.9)

Certified Nurse Midwife

Chiropractor

Dental Care (routine dental care & orthodontia)

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) (Limited to $500 per State Fiscal Year (SFY) July 1 -
June 30)

Emergency Dept. Services (Emergent, non-emergent, assessment)

Family Planning

Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC)

Home Health (10 visits per SFY (July 1 —June 30))

Hospital, Inpatient

Hospital, Outpatient

Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital & Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility

1



8.1.

Immunizations (All per protocol)

Laboratory & X-Ray

Medical Supplies (Limited to $125/month unless benefit extension is approved)
Mental & Behavioral Health, Outpatient

School-Based Mental Health

Nurse Practitioner

Physician

Podiatry

Prenatal Care

Prescription Drugs_and diabetic supplies*

Preventive Health Screenings (All per protocol)

Rural Health Clinic

Speech Therapy

Evaluation — Four 30 minute units/SFY (July 1 — June 30) unless benefit extension is
approved

Therapy - Four 15 minute units/day unless benefit extension is approved

Physical Therapy

Evaluation — Four 30 minute units/SFY (July 1 - June 30) unless benefit extension is
approved

Therapy — Four 15 minute units/day unless benefit extension is approved
Occupational Therapy

Evaluation — Four 30 minute units/SFY (July 1 — June 30) unless benefit extension is

approved
Therapy — Four 15 minute units/day unless benefit extension is approved

Substance Abuse Treatment Services (SATS), Outpatient

Vision

(Eye exam — One routine eye exam (refraction) every 12 months
Eyeglasses) — One pair every 12 months

*The pharmacy benefit includes prescription drugs, Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) with
CGM supplies, and blood glucose monitors (BGMs) with blood glucose testing supplies (test strips,

calibration solution). The diabetic supplies will no longer be available through the Durable Medical

Equipment (DME) program.

CHIP Title XXI CHIP ARKids-B Program

Describe the amount of cost-sharing, any sliding scale based on income, the group or
groups of enrollees that may be subject to the charge by age and income (if applicable)
and the service for which the charge is imposed or time period for the charge, as
appropriate. (Section 2103(e)(1)(A)) (42CFR 457.505(a), 457.510(b) and (c), 457.515(a)
and (c))

8.1.1. ] Premiums:

8.1.2.[ ] Deductibles:



8.1.3. [X] Coinsurance or copayments:




Co-payments and co-insurance apply for all services with the exception of
immunizations, preventive health screenings, family planning, and prenatal care.
The Title XXI CHIP ARKids-B schedule of co-payments and co-insurance is
outlined in the following table. The annual cumulative cost-sharing maximum
cannot exceed 5% of the ARKids-B beneficiary’s family’s income.

Benefits/Limits Co-Pay/Co-Insurance
Ambulance (Emergency Only) $10 per trip
Ambulatory Surgical Center $10 per visit
Audiological Services (only Tympanometry,
CPT procedure code 92567, when the
diagnosis is within the ICD-9-CM range of None
381.0 through 382.9)
Certified Nurse Midwife $10 per visit
Chiropractor $10 per visit
Dental Care (routine dental care & orthodontia) | $10 per visit

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) (Limited to
$500 per State Fiscal Year (SFY) July 1 - June
30)

10% of Medicaid allowed per DME item

Emergency Dept. Services (Emergent, non-

emergent, assessment) $10 per visit
Family Planning None

Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) $10 per visit
Home Health (10 visits per SFY (July 1 —June | $10 per visit

30))

Hospital, Inpatient

10% of first inpatient day

Hospital, Outpatient

$10 per visit

Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital & Psychiatric
Residential Treatment Facility

10% of first inpatient day

Immunizations (All per protocol) None
Laboratory & X-Ray $10 per visit
Medical Supplies (Limited to $125/month
unless benefit extension is approved None
Mental & Behavioral Health, Outpatient $10 per visit
School-Based Mental Health $10 per visit
Nurse Practitioner $10 per visit
Physician $10 per visit
Podiatry $10 per visit
Prenatal Care None
Prescription Drugs_and diabetic supplies* $5 per prescription (Must use generic, if
available)
Preventive Health Screenings (All per protocol) | None
Rural Health Clinic $10 per visit

Speech Therapy
Evaluation — Four 30 minute units/SFY (July 1
—June 30) unless benefit extension is
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approved
Therapy — Four 15 minute units/day unless $10 per visit
benefit extension is approved

Physical Therapy

Evaluation — Four 30 minute units/SFY (July 1
- June 30) unless benefit extension is
approved

Therapy — Four 15 minute units/day unless $10 per visit
benefit extension is approved

Occupational Therapy

Evaluation — Four 30 minute units/SFY (July 1
—June 30) unless benefit extension is
approved

Therapy — Four 15 minute units/day unless $10 per visit
benefit extension is approved

Substance Abuse Treatment Services (SATS),

outpatient $10 per visit

Vision

(Eye exam, $10 per visit

Eyeglasses) No co-pay for eyeglasses

*The pharmacy benefit includes prescription drugs, Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) with
CGM supplies, and blood glucose monitors (BGMs) with blood glucose testing supplies (test strips,

calibration solution). The diabetic supplies will no longer be available through the Durable Medical

Equipment (DME) program.

During the Federal COVID-19 public health emergency, cost sharing shall be waived for
any in vitro diagnostic product described in section 2103(c)(10) of the Social Security
Act and any other COVID-19 testing-related services regardless of setting type. In
addition, the state will waive copayments for COVID treatment.



RULES SUBMITTED FOR REPEAL

Rule #1:
DDS Policy 3018 — Reporting of Denial of Access to Services

Rule #2:

DDS Policy 3018 — Mortality Review of Deaths of Persons Receiving
Alternative Community Services Waiver Services
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