

Emergency Response Reimbursement Extended to Cover COVID-19 Costs from May 31-November 15 for Eligible Medicaid Providers

Earlier this year, the CARES Act Steering Committee approved a one-time reimbursement for operational costs to continue safely serving Medicaid clients during the public health emergency. Select Medicaid providers could submit documentation for reimbursement of approved expenses incurred from March 18-May 30, 2020. The Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS) estimated the program would cost approximately \$23 million. However, at the end of September there were still funds available.

Providers have continued to contact DHS for funding to help cover costs of personal protective equipment (PPE), safety-related expenses, and technology support for telemedicine due to the public health emergency. Therefore, DHS is extending the opportunity to submit requests for a one-time reimbursement to help cover COVID-19 related expenses from May 31-November 15. Requests must be submitted by November 25.

Which provider types are eligible?

For this extension, providers must have been enrolled as an Arkansas Medicaid provider on May 31, and the providers also must currently be accepting Medicaid clients. The eligible provider types include:

- Independent Primary Care Physicians
- Other Independent Physicians
- Dentists
- Independent Therapy Practices
- Independent Ambulances

- Outpatient Behavioral Health Agencies
- Early Intervention Day Treatment Centers (EIDT)
- Adult Development Day Treatment Centers (ADDT)

No additional reimbursements for costs before May 31 will be approved for the above providers.

DHS also is making this opportunity for one-time reimbursement of costs from May 31-November 15 available to these additional providers:

- Assisted Living Facilities
- Intermediate Care Facilities for people with developmental or intellectual disabilities
- Residential Care Facilities

- In-home Hospice Care Providers
- Personal Care Agencies
- Home Health Agencies

These providers may submit a request for reimbursement of costs from March 18-May 30 because they were not included in the first round. The requests for those costs must be submitted by October 30.

What types of expenses can be reimbursed?

Providers can request reimbursement for COVID-19 related operational costs, including but not limited to:

- Expanding use of telemedicine, including costs of equipment, technology, and facility upgrades
- Offering workforce support, such as training staff on providing services through telemedicine
- Purchasing or leasing specialized equipment
- Modifying intake areas or client rooms to allow for social distancing
- Buying PPE and paying for enhanced cleaning services to comply with CDC recommendations beyond normal infection control operations
- Changing business practices, such as entry screenings and shifted hours, to expand services and ensure service are provided in a safe way



Providers may propose additional improvements or costs for reimbursements, which could be considered for DHS approval.

What's the maximum amount a provider can be reimbursed?

If all eligible providers request reimbursement for costs incurred from May 31 - November 15, the maximum reimbursement will be \$2,000 per provider. If all eligible providers do not submit requests for reimbursement, the remaining funds will be distributed equitably to those providers who submit requests for eligible expenses above that amount.

These costs must be necessary to respond to the COVID-19 public health situation. They may not be used to duplicate or supplant other funding sources, pay bonuses or increased management fees for administrative personnel, or to offset lost revenue.

How does a provider submit a request to get the reimbursement?

The provider should submit <u>this reporting form</u> to DHS, describing the eligible expenses along with copies of invoices or other documents that show the actual costs for all expenses incurred from May 31–November 15 in a single request. The form should be emailed to <u>caresactfunding@dhs.arkansas.gov</u> by November 25.

Requests for reimbursement will be reviewed by DHS and finalized by December 15.