


Arkansas American Rescue Plan Act Funds Reporting Instructions

Arkansas State Hospital, acute care hospitals, critical access hospitals, and long-term care hospitals must complete the ARPA Funds Reporting Form to claim ARPA funds. Hospitals should indicate on the form their hospital name and Medicaid provider number. All requests must be submitted by September 30, 2021.

There are three programs that may be claimed on the form - 1) Formula-based Allotment, 2) COVIDComm Receiving Hospital Add-on Payment, and 3) Monoclonal Antibody (MAB) Administration Add-on Payment. Providers should request participation in any of the programs by marking an X in, or checking, the boxes on the reporting form and completing the associated licensed Medicare bed information, and finally completing the Total Funding Request.

The hospital will submit the proper documentation of costs that are necessary expenditures to attain and retain frontline healthcare workers due to the public health emergency with respect to COVID-19. Acceptable documentation may include, but is not limited to, any documents or files sufficient to evidence actual obligation or expense of funds. DHS may request supplemental documentation, as needed.  Examples of sufficient documentation include copies of purchase orders, contracts, receipts, payroll records, cancelled checks, and bank and credit statements.

To claim reimbursement in this program, providers must report their request on the ARPA FORMULA COST FORM.  Providers must report the allotment request in Section 1, COVIDComm participation in Section 2, and MAB administration in Section 3. This funding is for expenses obligated on or after March 3, 2021, through December 31, 2022.  

The administrator or an officer of the provider must provide a signed attestation on the reporting form to qualify for the ARPA funding.  

Additional qualifications for the ARPA hospital funding are listed below.  A hospital must:
1. Attest that these funds are necessary for payment of costs associated with hospital staff recruitment and retention during the COVID-19 pandemic.
2. Be enrolled in the Arkansas Medicaid program as of March 1, 2021, and currently accepting Medicaid beneficiaries.
3. Each critical access hospital and acute care hospital operates and staffs, according to ADH rules, an emergency department 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Licensed distinct-part units within an acute care hospital will not be treated as separately licensed hospitals for purposes of this distribution.
4. Will maintain essential beds and appropriate levels of staffing according to Arkansas Department of Health rules.
5. Will be enrolled and maintain enrollment in both Medicare and Medicaid.
6. Will continuously operate during the declared emergency, including operating and staffing an emergency department 24 hours per day, seven days per week, if required by Arkansas Department of Health rules.
7. Have infection prevention policies and procedures in place and will report diseases, including COVID-19, as required under the Arkansas Department of Health’s rules.
8. Agree to cooperate with any state or federal audit and provide DHS with access to financial records. 
9. Attest that these are necessary expenditures to address the problems and needs described in this proposal caused by the public health emergency with respect to COVID-19 and that none of these funds are used to: 
· Duplicate or supplant funding from any other federal or state program. Payments or other reimbursement for direct patient care is not included as funding from a federal or state program; or 
· Pay any increase in management fees to administrative personnel.



