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MEMORANDUM 
 
      LTC-A-2019-01 
 
TO:   Nursing Facilities;  ICFs/MR 16 Bed & Over;  HDCs; 
   ICFs/MR Under 16 Beds;  Interested Parties;  
   DHS County Offices 

FROM: Carol Shockley, Director, Office of Long Term Care   
 
DATE: January 14, 2019 
 
RE: Advisory Memorandum - Nursing Facility Licensure Renewal for 2019 

 
 
Each long term care nursing facility is required by State law to submit a yearly license renewal 
application to the Office of Long Term Care in accordance with Act 1238 of 1993 (Ark. Code Ann. 20-
§ 20-10-224).  The DMS-726 (R. 1/13) Application for License to Conduct a Long Term Care Facility, the 
instructions for completion, the checklist, and the Director of Nurses form are available for download at 
https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/about-dhs/dpsqa/forms. 
 
Once on the website, scroll down to DMS-726, then click on Nursing Homes.  The required Form W-9 
is available for download at http://www.irs.gov. 
 
Please use the Form W-9 that is available on the IRS website at the time of preparation of the license 
renewal application; otherwise the renewal will be delayed while OLTC requests and awaits receipt of 
the correct Form W-9. 
 
A 10 percent (10%) penalty on the amount due will be assessed for each nursing facility if the renewal 
application is not delivered before March 1, 2019 or if mailed, is not postmarked on or before 
March 1, 2019.  The fee submission is $10.00 per licensed bed. 
 
A check made payable to Arkansas Department of Human Services must be attached to each 
application.  The facility name and city must be included on the check.  Note:  The check will be 
returned if not made payable to Arkansas Department of Human Services. 
 
NOTE:  Due to the DocuShare Scanning Program, please do not submit two-sided pages or 
legal-sized pages for the DMS-726 Form or other attachments.  Thank you for your assistance 
with this request.  
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CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK 
 
As stated in the instructions and the Rules and Regulations for Conducting Criminal Record Checks for 
Employees of Long Term Care Facilities effective October 1, 1997 (and as revised), all operators (the person 
signing this renewal application) must fulfill the requirements as set forth in Section 202 (1) and Section 
400 respectively. 
 
If you are signing the license application as Operator, Administrator or Owner of the facility, you must complete the 
State criminal record check process and the National Criminal Background Check process.  If the National Criminal 
Background Check (CRC) process has not been completed on the Operator, Administrator or Owner of the facility, 
or is more than five (5) years old, you must resubmit both CRC processes.  If you have completed only the State 
CRC process, you must resubmit another State CRC and complete the National Criminal Background Check 
process. Effective January 1, 2019, all state criminal background checks must be performed online.  All national 
criminal background checks must be submitted to the Division of Provider Services and Quality Assurance 
(DPSQA) for processing and referral to the Arkansas State Police. On November 19, 2018, a memo was mailed 
to all facilities titled – Regulatory Memo – Changes to Criminal Record Checks.  Please refer to this memo outlining 
the current procedures for the submission of Criminal Record Checks. 
 
All documents submitted for Licensure must have the legal entity name and the doing business as name as filed 
with the Arkansas Secretary of State consistent throughout the paperwork.  If the legal or doing business as name 
has an “and” or an “&” in either name this should be consistent throughout. “Please do not use abbreviations when 
completing the paperwork; abbreviations are permissible in the legal entity name or the doing business name IF 
the abbreviations are actually part of the name.” 
 
The completed, notarized license renewal application, including all attachments and a separate fee submission for 
each application must be sent by the following procedures: 
 

(Postmarked on or before March 1, 2019 for each situation) 
 
If mailed, mail to:     If sent Federal Express, send to: 
 
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES       DHS-CASH RECEIPTS-SLOT WG2 
OFFICE OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION    112 WEST 8th 
LONG TERM CARE-SLOT WG2    DONAGHEY PLAZA SOUTH  
PO BOX 8181    LITTLE ROCK, AR  72201 
LITTLE ROCK, AR  72203-8181 
 
If HAND DELIVERED by March 1:  You must come to 700 Main in Little Rock to the Donaghey Plaza South 
Building, show identification, and surrender your driver’s license to obtain a visitor’s pass.   
 
Facilities operated by the State must send the completed, notarized application and attachments to: 
 
 Office of Long Term Care - Slot S404 
 Nursing Facility Licensure Section 
 P. O. Box 8059 
 Little Rock, AR 72203-8059 
 
If you have questions or need the required forms faxed to you, please contact Kenneth Hanft at (501) 320-6194. 
 
If you need this material in alternative format such as large print, please contact our Americans with Disabilities 
Act Coordinator at 501-682-8307 (voice) or 501-682-6789 (TDD). 
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