## There is an option.



# Don't abandon your baby.



### Please call 1-888-510-BABY

to get addresses and directions for any hospital, fire department, police station or sheriff's office in Arkansas. You also can visit our website at www.arkansassafehaven.org

Or call 866-99BABY1 to find the nearest

Safe Haven Baby Box



Division of Children and Family Services www.Humanservices.arkansas.gov







### Safe Haven is a law designed to protect babies.

#### What is Safe Haven?

In Arkansas, the Safe Haven law allows a parent to give up an infant anonymously. The purpose of Safe Haven is to prevent babies from being hurt or killed by unsafe abandonment. Unsafely abandoning a baby puts the infant in extreme danger that can result in the baby's death. It also is illegal, with severe consequences.

#### How does it work?

A parent who does not want an infant or who is unable to care for an infant can give up custody of a baby 30 days or younger legally and anonymously. Safe Haven allows a baby to be given up at any:

- Hospital emergency room
- Police station
- Sheriff or State Police Office
- Fire station (manned 24 hours a day)

When a baby is dropped off, no information is required, but a parent may share the baby's age or health status.

Please call 1-888-510-BABY in

#### Will I be in trouble?

No. As long as the baby has not been abused, the parent may give it up:

Without fear of arrest or prosecution
Anonymously

The Arkansas Department of Human Services' Division of Children and Family Services will immediately take custody and place the child in a foster or pre-adoptive home where it will be loved and cared for. The division will terminate parental rights, freeing the baby for adoption.

#### Where do I leave my newborn?

You can take the baby to any hospital emergency room in Arkansas, any police or sheriff department or an Arkansas State Police office, or a fire department that is staffed 24 hours a day. The baby must be left with an employee unless there is a marked baby box.

#### Who can drop off the baby?

The only people who can legally drop off a newborn are the parents.

to get the address and directions for any hospital, police station or sheriff's office in Arkansas. You also can visit our website at www.arkansassafehaven.org

Or call 866-99BABY1 to find the nearest Safe Haven Baby Box



