Contact Us

Featured Stories

« Go Back

The Department of Human Services (DHS) is Arkansas’ largest state agency, with more than 7,400 employees working to ensure citizens are healthy, safe and enjoying a high quality of life.

The agency’s skilled and passionate staff cares for Arkansans of all ages. Often, that means providing a safety net for our most vulnerable residents. Families or individuals facing difficult times may need assistance to get back on their feet. People needing support will find at least one local DHS office in each of the state’s 75 counties.

Arkansans may apply for a vast array of services at their local county office as well as online. Services include ARKids First health insurance for children, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, formerly known as food stamps), Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) and Medicaid.

Through a blend of federal and state Medicaid funds, DHS pays for 64 percent of the babies born in Arkansas each year and for the care of 69 percent of the state’s nursing home patients.

Additionally, DHS protects children and the elderly who have been abused or neglected; finds adoptive homes for foster children; funds congregate and home-delivered meals for the elderly; regulates nursing homes and childcare facilities; supports high-quality early childhood education; treats and serves youth in the juvenile justice system; oversees services for blind Arkansans; runs residential facilities for people with developmental disabilities; manages the Arkansas State Hospital and Arkansas Health Center for those with acute behavioral health issues; and supports nonprofit, community and faith-based organizations that depend on volunteers to continue programs vital to our communities.

The agency also works with a system of community mental health care centers to provide mental health services to nearly 74,000 people each year.

In all, DHS serves more than 1.2 million Arkansans every year.

To manage these services and programs efficiently, DHS has nine divisions and seven support offices headquartered in Little Rock in addition to the 85 county offices.

Please contact local offices and individual divisions – or visit their Web pages listed on the left side of the page – if you need additional information. If you don’t find what you’re looking for, please call 501-682-1001 for assistance.

Thank you for visiting DHS online. We look forward to serving you.



Arkansas citizens are healthy, safe, and enjoy a high quality of life.

Mission Statement

Together we improve the quality of life of all Arkansans by protecting the vulnerable, fostering independence, and promoting better health.

Core Values

Operational Values

Customer Focused - Ensuring our actions and services are targeted to the well-being of recipients/customers and the citizens of Arkansas.

High Quality Workforce - Recruiting and developing our people so that they enjoy the highest quality work life and choose DHS as the best place to work.


Information coming soon.

Doing Business with DHS

Employment with DHS

Information from DHS

Policy documents are available on the DHS SharePoint server.

Visit the DHS Policy site on ARDHS


Under the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act, all public records shall be open to inspection and copying by any citizen of the State of Arkansas during the regular business hours of the custodian of the records.  DHS must make public records available upon request unless the records are in active use or storage, in which case, DHS must do so within 3 working days.  Disclosures are subject to various exemptions under federal and state law.  DHS.FOIA@dhs.arkansas.gov receives and responds to all Freedom of Information Act requests except media requests, which go to Director of Communications Amy Webb in the Director’s Office.  

For complete information see  DHS Policy 1053.

Records & Databases

Title Type
Listing and General Description of Computer Databases PDF

Informational & Statistical Reports

Title Type
DHS Legislative and Consumer Directory PDF
Arkansas Annual Synar Reports LINK
Annual Statistical Reports LINK

Arkansas Prevention Needs Assessment Student Survey Reports

Title Type
County Office Operational Report (COOR) LINK
Arkansas Medicaid Program Overview Booklet  PDF
Juvenile Justice Reform In Arkansas PDF
Olmstead Report    WEB

Program Policies

Title Type
Dept of Human Services Policies PDF

Program Plans

Title Type
SSBG Pre-expenditure Report PDF
Arkansas State Plan on Aging FY2008-2011 PDF

Public Assistance

How do I apply for public assistance programs such as Medicaid, ARKids, nutrition assistance, cash assistance or child care assistance?

You will find the applications you need online at Access Arkansas. The site also will provide you with information so you can determine whether you’re qualified for assistance before submitting an application. You also may apply at your local county office.f

What does Medicaid provide?

The Medicaid Program helps you, if you are eligible, to pay some of your medical bills. Eligibility depends on your income, resources, age and situation. Most people who are eligible fall into one of the following categories: age 65 or older, under age 19, blind, disabled, pregnant, nursing home resident, have breast or cervical cancer, disabled but work some, in need of home and community-based services or are under 21 and in foster care.

What is ARKids First?

ARKids First health insurance provides coverage options for more than 300,000 Arkansas children who otherwise might have gone without health care. Eligibility for ARKids is based on your family’s income and other factors. Resources are totally disregarded. ARKids A offers low-income families a comprehensive package of benefits. ARKids B provides coverage for families with higher incomes. Children must be under age 19, living in your home and a U.S. citizen or qualified legal alien. If you have questions about your child’s eligibility, call our ARKids First free hotline at 1-888-474-8275, visit your local county office or log on to Access Arkansas.

How can I get help purchasing food?

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, formerly known as the Food Stamp Program) provides food assistance to eligible households to cover a portion of a household's food budget.  Benefits are distributed through an Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card and must be used to buy food products or seeds to grow vegetables. In addition to food assistance, the program provides SNAP recipients with nutrition education regarding food safety, healthy foods, portion sizes, and food preparation.

I just lost my job. How can I provide for my children?

The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program is a federally funded program that provides case management services to assist families with children under age 18 with finding employment. Arkansas's TANF program is called Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA). While looking for a job, the family will receive a cash assistance payment based on household size. The family's income must be equal to or less than $223 per month. SSI income is not counted in this total. The family's resources must be $3000 or less.  Supportive services also will be provided to the recipient if needed while looking for employment. TANF also provides cash assistance to children being cared for by caretaker relatives other than the parent.

I cannot pay for my utilities. Where can I get help?

The Low-income Home Energy Assistance Program helps low-income households with home energy costs by providing financial assistance through the Winter Assistance Program and Crisis Intervention Program.  Each program provides assistance to a household’s energy supplier or, under certain circumstances to the applicant. The Crisis Intervention Program provides assistance to eligible households facing energy-related emergencies. The Winter Assistance program runs from early January until the end of March or the depletion of funds. The Crisis Programs runs from the beginning of April until the end of September or until the depletion of funds. Both program are operated by the 16 Community Action Agencies and cover all 75 counties of the State of Arkansas.  


What types of childcare assistance are there?

Transitional Employee Assistance (TEA) childcare which is available to TEA clients receiving TEA benefits. Extended Support Services childcare which is available only to those TEA clients who gain employment and their TEA case is closed due to earnings. Low Income Childcare which is available to those who work 30 hours per week, be a full time student, or work part time and go to school part time that averages out to 30 hours per week.

How long will I be on the waiting list for childcare assistance?

As services become available in a particular county, the Program Eligibility Specialist will contact the applicants based on the availability of day care services.

Once I'm approved for childcare assistance how often will my case by reevaluated?

Every six (6) months.

How do I appeal a denial decision?

Whenever an application is denied, or an adverse action is taken on a case, the client will be informed in writing of the decision and of the right for a review of the decision.  The notice to the applicant/client must state that he/she has ten (10) days from the date of the Notice of Action in which to submit a request to Internal Review of the decision.

Where can I find the minimum licensing requirements for day care homes, centers and voluntarily registered homes?

For information, visit the Child Care Licensing page. 

Services for the Disabled

How do I apply for services offered by the Division of Developmental Disabilities Services?

For children ages 0-21, contact DDS Children’s Services Intake and Referral Unit at 501-682-1464. For adults, contact the DDS Adult Services Intake and Referral Unit at 501-683-5687.

Does a physician have to make the referral for my infant or toddler (birth to 36 months) to receive First Connections Early Intervention Services?

No. Anyone can refer an infant or toddler for Early Intervention services (examples: a parent, a concerned friend, neighbor, physician or teacher). Please contact the Early Intervention program at our help and information line. 800-643-8258.

Youth Committed to the Division of Youth Services

How long does a youth stay in Division of Youth Services residential programs?

Youth Services uses a matrix to set the length of stay based on the law violated. However, we do monitor the progress of each youth in their rehabilitative work and adjust the length of stay accordingly. The average length of stay is approximately six months.

Do youth in residential programs receive educational services?

Yes. Youth Services system of education is recognized by law and the Arkansas Department of Education. The youth are required to attend school while in residential programs and receive credit toward graduation for their work. 


What type of programs or services are available in Arkansas for seniors?

DHS Division of Aging and Adult Services, 501-682-2441 or 866-801-3435 or you may visit our website at www.daas.ar.gov  and search for public benefits and programs for Arkansas seniors.

Where can I get a list of senior centers in a particular county?

Call the Division of Aging and Adult services at 501-682-2441 or 866-801-3435 . We will put you in touch with the Area Agency on Aging for your Region. You also may visit our website at www.daas.ar.gov for more information.

Are all services offered in every county in Arkansas?

Unfortunately, not all services are offered in every county. Call the Division of Aging and Adult Services at 501-682-2441 or 866-801-3435. We will give you the number for your local Area Agency on Aging. You also may visit our website at www.daas.ar.gov for a comprehensive list of services by county.

Who should I contact for help with Medicare or Medicaid?

You may call your local Area Agency on Aging or the DAAS Choices In Living Resource Center at  866-801-3435. You also may visit our website at www.daas.ar.gov for a comprehensive list of DHS county offices.

Are there programs for families who need help with a parent but do not want to place the parent in a nursing home?

Yes. Long Term Care Medicaid Waivers and private pay services are available depending on circumstances.


Where do I call if I have a problem with Medicaid transportation?

You may call the Transportation Help Line at 1-888-987-1200 and follow the directions.

What is a ConnectCare Primary Care Physician or PCP?

A ConnectCare Primary Care Physician or "PCP," is your family "doctor" who will take care of all your healthcare needs. Your ConnectCare doctor has your medical records and will give you medical advice based on your medical needs. Your doctor can handle your basic medical needs, refer you for special care, and admit you into the hospital. You may contact your doctor 24 hours a day, seven days a week, including holidays. When attempting to contact your doctor, you may talk to your doctor directly, another doctor, or staff person based on the availability of your doctor.

How do I get a ConnectCare doctor?

  1. Your Medicaid caseworker should ask you to complete a ConnectCare Primary Care Physician enrollment form when applying for a Medicaid card.
  2. If you are a SSI (Supplemental Security Income) recipient, you may go to a DHS office to select a ConnectCare doctor once you have become Medicaid eligible, or call ConnectCare at 1-800-275-1131 (1-800-285-1131 TDD), or if you are in the Central Arkansas area, call 614-4689.
  3. You may select your doctor at his or her office. Your choice is valid from the date the office calls it into Medicaid.
  4. You may call the ConnectCare Help Line  at 1-800-275-1131 (1-800-285-1131 TDD), or if you are in the Central Arkansas area, call 614-4689, 6:00 am to 10:00 pm Monday – Friday.
  5. You also may request a doctor using the online assign/change form on our website at www.seeyourdoc.org. Please note that using this method DOES NOT guarantee your request. If you need a doctor immediately, please call the Help Line. 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse

I need mental health and/or substance abuse treatment, but I have no insurance or way to pay for it. How can I get help?

Community mental health centers (CMHC) provide services for priority populations and persons with limited financial resources. Priority populations are served first and include Act 911 forensic patients (including those jailed and recently released) and patients certified as seriously emotionally disturbed or seriously mentally ill. Other patients are served as resources allow. These CMHCs provide a full array of services, including individual and group therapy, medication management and case management. Please refer to Community Mental Health Centers under Related Documents for the location of the mental health center in your area. It is possible that the CMHC may allow a reduced payment option for services.

For alcohol and/or substance abuse treatment, please contact the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention (OADAP) at (501) 686-9866 for more information regarding receiving treatment with limited financial resources.

My adult son/daughter needs mental health and/or substance abuse treatment but refuses to go. What are my options?

If your son or daughter is a clear and present danger to self or others because of a mental illness or alcohol and/or drug abuse, they can be “committed”. This involves a judge issuing an order that this person get an evaluation and/or treatment regardless of the person’s agreement. The treatment can be inpatient (in a hospital) or outpatient (at a clinic). Arkansas law is very specific about the commitment process, and the dangerous behavior must be serious and also recent or an immediate threat. More information about the commitment process can be found on this (DBHS) website at Mental Health Commitment Law under Related Documents. You also can contact the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention (OADAP) at (501) 686-9866 to learn more about your options.

You also might check into Psychiatric Advanced Directives. This is a legal instrument used to document a competent person’s specific instructions or preferences regarding future mental health treatment, in preparation for the possibility that the person may lose capacity to give or withhold informed consent to treatment during acute episodes of psychiatric illness. More information about Psychiatric Advanced Directives can be found on this (DBHS) website under Related Documents.

How can I help a family member or friend that is threatening to harm themselves?

The first step is to make sure they are safe. Call the police if you feel they are an immediate threat to do harm. If the threat is not immediate, there are other resources available to help you. The Arkansas Crisis Center (1-888-274-7472 or www.arcrisis.org) has a 24-hour hotline with dedicated volunteers and staff members.  You also can contact the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-SUICIDE (784-2433) or 1-800-273-TALK (8255) or TTY 1-800-799-4TTY (4889). You also can contact the local community mental health center or RSPMI private provider in your area. Each of these providers is required to have emergency/crisis services available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Other suicide prevention resources are available at the Arkansas Suicide Prevention website.

Adoptions 1-888-736-2820
Adult Protective Services 1-800-482-8049
Arkansas Poison Control Center 1-800-222-1222
ARKids First 1-888-474-8275
Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-482-5964
Child Abuse Hotline TDD 1-800-843-6349
Child Care Assistance 1-800-322-8176
Child Care Resource And Referral 1-800-445-3316
Child Support Information 1-877-731-3071
General Customer Assistance 1-800-482-8988
General Customer Assistance TDD 1-501-682-8933
Fraud And Abuse Hotline 1-800-422-6641
Medicaid Claims Questions 1-800-482-5431
Medicaid Transportation Questions 1-888-987-1200
Security/Privacy Hotline 1-501-320-3911​
Senior Medicare Fraud Patrol 1-866-726-2916
Suicide Prevention Hotline 1-888-274-7472

​To view additional information and map, click the name of the office. If you know the name of the office, enter it into the search box to narrow your results.

DHS offers a variety of programs and services for all Arkansas citizens. From simple A to Z list of all services to more focused lists based on groups such as young adult or seniors, our goal is to help you find the information you need quickly.

Quick Access

Programs and Services | A to Z
If you know the name of the program or service, this is the fastest way to find details and contact information.

Programs and Services | Search by Keyword
Need a little help finding the program or service? Enter a few words and we'll narrow it down.

Programs and Services | For Providers
A fast list to help our providers access the information they need.

Programs and Services by Group
A more focused approach for specific visitors.

Do Not Edit Here. Content is pulling from a template.

To filter results, enter desired search term in the search field. To change the number of visible events, use the drop menu. Click the name of the event to link to more information.


To filter results, enter desired search term in the search field. To change the number of visible events, use the drop menu. Click the name of the event to link to more information.


Contact Information for DHS Divisions and Offices

By Phone: 501-682-1001
By TDD: 501-682-8820
Address: Donaghey Plaza, P.O. Box 1437, Little Rock, AR 72203 | PDF Map | Google Map
Email: Send Your Comments to the DHS Director of Communications

Contact Information for County Offices

Email: Contact Your County Office
Map: DHS County Office Map for additional contact information, map and directions.

Contact Information for DHS Facilities

DHS Offices and Contacts


Related Documents

File Name File Type Date
DHS Publication 407, Notice of Privacy Practices PDF 01/01/2017
DHS Publication 407, Notice of Privacy Practices, Spanish PDF 01/01/2017
DHS Publication 408, Notice of Privacy Practices PDF 01/01/2017
DHS Publication 408, Notice of Privacy Practices, Spanish PDF 01/01/2017


To locate a long term care facility, search by name, city or county to filter results. To get details about a specific facility, click the name of the facility to be linked to additional information.

Talking with a person who is blind

When conversing with a person who is blind use normal terms as well as normal tones. Go ahead and use words like "see" and "look". Speak directly to the person, not through a third party. Interpretation is not necessary. When asking a question, call the person by name so he will know he is being addressed.


Leaving a person who is blind

When you're leaving a person who is blind, announce your departure. Don't leave him stranded or talking to himself. Above all, remember common sense and sensitivity to others are most important.

What is Blindness?

Blindness does not always mean total loss of sight. A person whose visual acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye, with best correction, or whose field of vision is restricted to 20 degrees or less is considered "blind." Some people with rapidly progressive visual problems which will result in blindness may benefit from services of the Division of Services for the Blind.


Serving as a sighted guide

When walking with a person who is blind move at a normal pace about one half step ahead. He will normally hold onto the sighted person's arm just above the elbow. The person who is blind can then feel and easily follow the guide's movements up, down, straight, left, right, etc. A slight hesitation before stepping up or down is helpful.


Serving food to a person who is blind

When serving a person who is blind and eating without a sighted companion, offer to read the menu - including the price of each item.
As you place each item on the table, call his attention to it, as: "Here's your water." If he wants you to cut up his food or serve it from a casserole or platter, he will request that help. It's never bad form to offer, however.

Making change for a person who is blind

If making change in bills of more than one denomination, hand him the bills separately and identify each denomination as you hand it to him. This is not necessary with coins; he knows them by touch.

Assisting a person who is blind across the street

Let the blind person know you are there by asking, "May I be of assistance?" Speak in a normal tone. If he accepts your offer, let him take your arm. Never "grab" the blind person's arm, he can't anticipate your movements if you do. After crossing a street see that he is going in the direction he wants to take and caution him about any obstruction ahead.

Giving directions to a person who is blind

Always give directions verbally - pointing or gesturing will not help. Using terms such as "left," "right ",”straight ahead" or compass points will assist the person in reaching his destination. Street names, if known, can be helpful to some people who are blind.

Assisting a person who is blind with seating

In showing a person who is blind to a chair, place his hand upon the back or arm of it; don't try to push him into it. His touch will tell him the type, width and height of the chair.
If you need this material in an alternative format such as large print, tape, Braille or computer disk, please contact our Americans with Disabilities Act coordinator at 501-682-5463 or 1-800-960-9270.

Lost Sight Does Not Mean Lost Opportunity in Arkansas

The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act and is operated, managed and delivers services without regard to age, religion, disability, political affiliation, veteran status, sex, race, color or national origin.

Contact information

Any person who is severely visually impaired and is interested in receiving additional information or services can contact:

Division of Services for the Blind
700 Main Street
Little Rock, AR 72203
Telephone: 501 682-5463
TDD: 501-682-0093
FAX: 501-682-0366
Toll Free: 1-800-960-9270 

Date Title
05/28/2018 May is Mental Health Awareness Month
06/20/2018 DHS Weight Loss Series: Santasha Roy
04/28/2018 Independence County Staff Highlight DHS Jobs and Services at Batesville Business Expo
04/29/2018 Conway Human Development Center Hosts 14th Annual Health Fair
04/27/2018 Crowd Rallies at State Capitol to Promote Child Abuse Prevention
05/14/2018 DHS Weight Loss Series: Dale Woodall
04/23/2018 DYS Tournament provides several great moments
04/04/2018 Paula Mainard turned a scary situation into motivation
04/03/2018 Arkansas Health Center embraces kindness campaign
04/02/2018 Volunteer group keeps DHS connected with the community
03/01/2018 DHS Foster Grandparent program makes a difference in the lives of its volunteers
03/01/2018 Johannes uses weight loss to defeat self-esteem issues
03/01/2018 Residents and staff of Conway Human Development Center enjoy the Valentine’s Day Prom
03/01/2018 Warm Shoulders program helps Arkansas State Hospital patients, and the homeless population
11/21/2017 Garden program at Mansfield Juvenile Treatment Center is celebrated
11/21/2017 Fall Drug Take Back was a major success
11/16/2017 Family Volunteer Day emphasizes communities building a rapport with law enforcement
10/26/2017 DHS excited to partake in Fall 2017 Arkansas Drug Take Back
10/24/2017 Public, private collaboration leads to creation of work program at AJATC
10/20/2017 DDS presents second annual fall festival
10/20/2017 DCCECE enjoys partnership with UCA Dietetic Intern program
09/25/2017 DBHS reminds youth to avoid use of alcohol and drugs
09/25/2017 Health and Nutrition Unit hosts special conference for its community partners
09/14/2017 DHS Continues Re-organization to Strengthen Agency’s Internal Integrity, Controls
09/01/2017 Nolte overcomes the odds to excel academically, socially
08/28/2017 High 5 Dads provides hope, enthusiasm for the youth
08/23/2017 Inaugural Family Day gives residents, families an opportunity to re-connect
08/22/2017 Teens enjoy YAB Leadership Conference
07/19/2017 HDC gardens can be a valuable link between centers and surrounding communities
07/06/2017 Foster Grandparents are celebrated during annual conference
07/03/2017 NCCC team makes an impact in Arkansas
06/23/2017 Forever different, forever redeemed: Misty and Justin’s Story
06/22/2017 DHS joins the #300-for-300 challenge
06/16/2017 DCFS GEM Awards Presented
06/15/2017 DHS joins battle against youth hunger in Arkansas
06/15/2017 The 40th annual CSA celebrates benevolence in Arkansas
06/15/2017 Randolph County staff showcases mettle during a tough situation
06/09/2017 Reunification and Redemption: Rosie
06/05/2017 Phillips’ leadership has helped to shape Lake View
06/05/2017 Roberson proves you’re never too young to make a difference
06/05/2017 Cooper promotes the importance of gardening
06/05/2017 Two social workers strive to assist foster teens
06/05/2017 Sisters convert heartbreak into a unique civic organization
06/05/2017 Everett family is committed to serving Saline County
06/05/2017 Welch uses the arts to help individuals with developmental disabilities
06/05/2017 Ellis is a respected presence in Benton
06/05/2017 Johnson leads quest to fund cancer research
05/19/2017 90 Arkansas foster children are recognized for reaching academic milestone
05/15/2017 Division of Youth Services enjoys quality union with Rite of Passage
05/04/2017 DYS Hosts “Youth On the Rise” Job Fair at Alexander Facility
05/04/2017 DHS, Community Partners Rally for Child Abuse Prevention
05/04/2017 Governor Wraps Up National Volunteer Week with First Family Challenge
04/04/2017 DHS celebrates national service
03/29/2017 Governor signs resolution which prompts singing and dancing
03/17/2017 Governor, Principal Recognize Youth Writers with Special Luncheon
03/10/2017 Special AmeriCorps team to build, grow gardens at Human Development Centers in Arkansas
01/30/2017 New job training program ‘coming together’ at SEAHDC
01/13/2017 Cities, towns recognized for excellence in community service
01/12/2017 A village and divine intervention - A teen adoption nearly eight years in the making
01/05/2017 Summer Food Program Provider Application Open Feb. 20-April 28
12/12/2016 Man blinded by gunshot earns state achievement award
12/09/2016 Gingerbread Tree Program brings a smile to the faces of adults, children alike
12/02/2016 Center eager to present holiday event
11/29/2016 Pulaski County Courts, DHS Celebrate National Adoption Day
11/21/2016 Families, DHS Pitch in to Help Area Veterans
11/14/2016 DHS Moves To Stabilize Child Welfare System
11/08/2016 Reggie Dillard provides inspiration at Conway HDC
10/28/2016 Arkansas Girl Adopted from Foster Care Says Not All Super Heroes Wear Capes
10/24/2016 Crystal Barker Named DHS Employee of the Year 2016
10/07/2016 AmeriCorps Celebrates Opening Day, 100 Members Take Oath of Service
09/27/2016 USDA Under Secretary praises DHS-Goodwill partnership
09/27/2016 Department of Human Services to provide GED
09/15/2016 Department of Human Services Hosts Food Trucks, Craft Fair on Friday in LR
09/13/2016 Governor to Ask Legislature to Shift Funding to Cover Services for Over 500 on Waiting List
05/31/2016 You Won
05/23/2016 10 Reasons to Adopt a Teenager (#9 is so, so true!)
05/13/2016 Too hard to say goodbye to a foster child? One foster mom

Arkansas Department
of Human Services
(501) 682-1001

TTY: 1-800-285-1131 or dial 711 for Arkansas Relay Service

Google Map | Contact Us