Contact Us

Featured Stories

« Go Back

All Featured Stories >

DCFS Celebrates State’s Top Foster Parents

Date: 07/24/2018

The Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS) Division of Children and Family Services (DCFS) celebrated foster parents from across the state on Friday, July 20, at a banquet at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion.

As part of that celebration, the agency selected Casey and Felicia Stone of Heber Springs as the 2018 Arkansas Foster Parents of the Year, primarily because they have embraced their role as a “reunification partner” and work closely with the biological families of the children in their care.

“Casey and Felicia are amazing foster parents and are so committed to helping children and their families that they actually closed their foster home for a while so they could help a mom get back on her feet and be the parent who children needed her to be,” said DCFS Director Mischa Martin.

Casey and Felicia were humbled by the award but proud to accept it on behalf of the children and families who have touched their lives over the past five years that they have been foster parents.

One winner from each area, as well as the Stones as the overall winner, were chosen by DCFS staff.

Area winners are:

1. James and Tina Stewart                                           6. Dan and Stacie Herrington

2. Laquita Wellborn                                                       7.  Judith and James Sullivan

3. Warren and Jan Parks                                              8. Jeff and Deanndra Whitaker

4. Jeremy and Brooke Hargis                                       9. Casey and Felicia Stone

5. Russ and Tenille Rauls                                     10. Alexander and Rhoda Horner



Caption: In the photo is Cleburne County Division of Children and Family Services Supervisor Johnnelle Switzer (right) is with Felicia and Casey Stone during the 2018 Arkansas Foster Parents of the Year Banquet at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock.  

Arkansas Department
of Human Services
(501) 682-1001

TTY: 1-800-285-1131 or dial 711 for Arkansas Relay Service

Google Map | Contact Us