Close this search box.

News Feed

Stay informed on the latest News.

Disaster Food Assistance (D-SNAP) relief approved for areas hit by tornadoes last month


(LITTLE ROCK, Ark.) — Residents in areas hit by last month’s tornadoes in north Arkansas may be eligible for SNAP Disaster Assistance (D-SNAP) under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, authorized by The Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Services, the Arkansas Department of Human Services announced today.

Anyone that resided within one of the counties and zip codes below who suffered disaster losses during the tornadoes during Memorial Day weekend may be eligible to receive this D-SNAP assistance.

•    Mountain Home (72653, 72654) Briarcliff (72653) Salesville (72653) Elizabeth (72531) in Baxter County
•    Decatur (72722) Rogers (72756, 72757, 72758) in Benton County
•    Salem (72576) Elizabeth (72531) in Fulton County
•    Paragould (72450) (72451) in Greene County
•    Hindsville (72738) Huntsville (72740) in Madison County
•    Harrison (72601) (72602) Yellville (72687) in Marion County
•    Attica (72455) Ravenden Springs (72460) Pocahontas (72455) in Randolph County
•    Olvey (72601) Bellefonte (72601) in Boone County

D-SNAP extends benefits to many households that would not ordinarily qualify but suddenly need food assistance because of a disaster. D-SNAP benefits are provided via an electronic debit-like card and can be used to purchase food items at authorized retailers. Recipients do not have to be enrolled in SNAP to receive D-SNAP assistance. 

Residents from these counties who experienced at least one of the following conditions as a direct result of these tornadoes may be eligible:

•    Damage to or destruction of their home or self-employment business
•    Loss or inaccessibility of income including a reduction or termination of income, or a significant delay in receiving income due to disaster-related problems
•    Disaster-related expenses (home or business repairs, temporary shelter, evacuation, etc.) that are not expected to be reimbursed during the disaster benefit period
Residents or workers seeking D-SNAP may apply from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. beginning Monday, June 24 through Sunday, June 30, 2024. If you are having difficulty, you may call the local county office at the numbers listed below. Recipients of D-SNAP assistance must have lived in the disaster area at the time of the tornado and must have suffered loss or damages.

D-SNAP applications may be taken at the following locations:  

•    The Baxter County DHS Office located at 204 Bucher Dr., Mountain Home, AR 72654. Phone: 870-425-6011
•    The Benton DHS County Office located at 900 Southeast 13th Ct., Bentonville, AR 72712. Phone: 479-273-9011
•    The Boone DHS County Office located at 2126 Capps Road, Harrison, AR 72601. Phone: 870-741-6107
•    The Fulton DHS County Office located at 222 Byron Road, Salem AR 72576. Phone: 870-895-3309
•    The Greene County DHS Office located at 809 Goldsmith Road, Paragould, AR 72450. Phone: 870-236-8723
•    The Madison DHS County Office located at 1013 N. College Ave., Huntsville, AR 72740. Phone: 479-738-2161
•    The Marion DHS County Office located at 114 East Old Main St., Yellville, AR 72687. Phone: 870-449-4058
•    The Randolph DHS County Office located at 1408 Pace Road, Pocahontas AR 72455. Phone: 870-892-4475

Share this post