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MEMORANDUM (DMS-37)

To:  Medicaid Providers

From: Division of Medical Services (DMS)
Date: April 24, 2020

Re:  Telemedicine for RHCs and FQHCs

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak in Arkansas and consistent with CMS guidance, DMS is
suspending the following rules to allow for telemedicine services to be provided by Federally
Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) and Rural Health Clinics (RHC).

e Medicaid Provider Manual for RHCs § 211.300

e Medicaid Provider Manual for FQHCs §§ 252.140(B) and 262.120

RHC and FQHC providers may bill for telemedicine services as follows:

Code Description Rate
T1015, U7, | Distant site telemedicine services can be furnished by any health 58.32
GT (if still care practitioner working for the RHC or the FQHC within their

needed on scope of practice, if telemedicine is within their scope of practice

July 1, 2020, | (including the relaxed scope or practice rules during the public

code G2025 | health emergency). Telemedicine encounters may not be billed in
will e used) | conjunction with a full, face-to-face encounter, but instead are
considered part of that encounter. A nurse or other paraprofessional
cannot provide telemedicine services exclusive of other licensed
practitioners.

These services may not be billed if a full, face-to-face encounter is provided seven days before
the telemedicine service is billed or within 24 hours (or the next available appointment) after the
encounter. These services may be provided to a beneficiary in their home under previous rule
suspensions lifting the originating site requirement.

Telemedicine services are not to be billed as an All-Inclusive Rate (AIR) or Prospective Payment
(PPS). Telemedicine services are to be reported on the cost report but will not be used to set
future AIR and PPS rates or included in the annual cost settlement.

This suspension will go into effect on April 28, 2020, and last until the Governor ends the
public health emergency in Arkansas.

To ensure quality and consistency of care to Medicaid beneficiaries, DMS will coordinate
with the Office of the Medicaid Inspector General (OMIG) to conduct retrospective
P.O. Box 1437, Slot $401 * Little Rock, AR 72203-1437 * 501.682.8292
HUMANSERVICES.ARKANSAS.GOV




reviews and audits of these services during this time. Please keep all records of services as
required by Medicaid rules.



