NOTICE OF RULE MAKING

The Director of the Division of Medical Services of the Department of Human Services announces for a
public comment period of thirty (30) calendar days a notice of rulemaking for the following proposed rule
under one or more of the following chapters, subchapters, or sections of the Arkansas Code: §§ 20-76-
201, 20-77-107, and 25-10-129.

Effective January 1, 2021:

The Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS), Division of Medical Services (DMS), intends to
revise the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan rates in the Personal Care program. Rates will increase by
13.72% based upon rate review of the service. The rate increase was recommended due to a rate review
survey process. The financial impact for this rule for the current fiscal year is $12,176,842 and
$24,353,684 for next fiscal year. All rates are published on the agency’s website:
(http://medicaid.mmis.arkansas.gov/).

The proposed rule is available for review at the Department of Human Services (DHS) Office of Rules
Promulgation, 2nd floor Donaghey Plaza South Building, 7th and Main Streets, P. O. Box 1437, Slot
S295, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437. You may also access and download the proposed rule on the
Medicaid website at https://medicaid. mmis.arkansas.gov/General/Comment/Comment.aspx. Public
comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address:
ORP(@dhs.arkansas.gov. All public comments must be received by DHS no later than November 9",
2020. Please note that public comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public
documents. A public comment, including the commenter’s name and any personal information contained
within the public comment, will be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

A public hearing by remote access only will be held on October 29, 2020, at 12:00 p.m. Individuals can
access this public hearing by calling 1-848-220-3300 and entering the conference code, 2611048.

If you need this material in a different format, such as large print, contact the Office of Rules
Promulgation at 501-396-6428.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights
Act and is operated, managed and delivers services without regard to religion, disability, political
affiliation, veteran status, age, race, color or national origin. 4501960528
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
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STATE ARKANSAS
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE Revised: January 1, 20202021
26. Personal care is furnished in accordance with the requirements at 42 CFR § 440.167 and with regulations

promulgated, established and published for the Arkansas Medicaid Personal Care Program by the Division of
Medical Services.

(a)

(b)

(©)

(d)

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers of personal care services and the fee schedule and any
annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published on the Medicaid website at
www.medicaid.state.ar.us.

Reimbursement for Personal Care Program Services is by fee schedule, at the lesser of the billed
charge or the Title XIX (Medicaid) maximum allowable fee per unit of service. Effective for dates of
service on and after July 1, 2004, one unit equals fifteen minutes of service.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2007, reimbursement to enrolled Residential Care
Facilities (RCFs) for personal care services furnished to Medicaid eligible residents (i.e., clients) is
based on a multi-hour rate system not to exceed one day, based on the individual clients’ levels of
care. A client’s level of care is determined from the service units required by his or her service plan.
Rates will be recalculated as needed to maintain parity with other Personal Care providers when
revisions of the Title XIX maximum allowable fee occur. The effective date of any such revised
rates shall be the effective date of the revised fee.

Reimbursement to enrolled Assisted Living Facilities (ALF) for personal care services furnished to
Medicaid eligible residents (i.e., clients) is based on a multi-hour rate system not to exceed one day,
based on the individual clients’ level of care. A client’s level of care is determined from the service
units required by his or her service plan. Rates will be recalculated as needed to maintain parity with
other Personal Care providers when revisions of the Title XIX maximum allowable fee occur. The
effective date of such revised rates shall be the effective date of the revised fee.

Agencies rates are set as of January 1, 28202021, and are effective for services on or after that date.
All rates are published at the agency’s website, (http://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/).
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Division of Medical Services
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MEMORANDUM
TO: Interested Persons and Providers
FROM: Janet Mann, Director, Division of Medical Services
DATE: October 9% 2020
SUBI: SPA 20-0022- Medicaid Personal Care Rate

As a part of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act process, attached for your review and
comment are proposed rule revisions.

Public comments must be submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email
address: ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov Please note that public comments submitted in response to this
notice are considered public documents. A public comment, including the commenter’s name and
any personal information contained within the public comment, will be made publicly available
and may be seen by various people.

If you have any comments, please submit those comments in writing, no later than November 9,
2020.

We Care. We Act. We Change Lives.
humanservices.arkansas.gov
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