ARKANSAS STATE HOSPITAL
VISITATION GUIDELINES

Effective February 1, 2019

The Arkansas State Hospital (ASH) recognizes the importance of family, spouses, partners,
friends and other visitors in the care process of patients. It is the policy of ASH to permit visitors
on campus subject to the following guidelines:

Visitation Hours

Day Time Locations
Tuesday and 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM e Adult Units (Unit B, Unit C, Unit A)
Thursday e Forensic Units (5 Upper, 5 Lower, 6 Upper, 6
Lower)
Saturday, Sunday, 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM e Adult Units (Unit B, Unit C, Unit A)
and Holidays (state e Forensic Units (5 Upper, 5 Lower, 6 Upper, 6
observed) Lower)

PLEASE NOTE:

o Visitation for Adolescent Units D and E may vary and will be scheduled through the
patient’s social worker.

e Special visitations (i.e. visitations outside of regularly scheduled visitation hours) may
be arranged by requesting an approval from the patient’s physician or treatment team.

¢ Any potential visitor who arrives outside of regular visiting hours will be referred to the
Nursing Officer on Duty (NOD). Visitation may or may not be allowed.

Age Limitations

Visitors must be five (5) years of age or over, unless there is a physician’s order specifying
otherwise. Visitors under age eighteen (18) must be accompanied by an adult.

Maximum Number of Visitors Per Patient

No more than three (3) visitors may visit with a patient during visitation time, unless there is a
physician’s order specifying otherwise.

Restrictions to Visiting

1. Visitors will not be allowed to visit with anyone other than the ASH patient authorizing
the visit.

2. The patient may restrict, withdraw, or deny consent to one or more visitors at any time.

3. Former patients, discharged from ASH within a year of the visit, are prohibited from
visitation. Any exception to this restriction requires a physician’s approval in advance.

4. The hospital may limit visitation of visitors based on a court order limiting or restricting
contact.
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5. Visitors who create a disturbance; or whose behavior or health presents a direct risk or
threat to patients or staff may be asked to leave.

6. The introduction of contraband into ASH is prohibited. Furnishing, possessing, or
using prohibited articles is class “C” felony punishable by Arkansas law.
Prohibited articles include, but is not limited to: weapons, intoxicating beverages,
controlled substances, money, a cellular telephone or other communication devices, or
any other items that would facilitate an unauthorized departure.

7. Visitors’ clothing must be appropriate. Clothing deemed inappropriate will not be
permitted.

8. Visitors are permitted to carry in the following items:

a. clear plastic bag containing a small amount of cash of $10.00 or less for
purchasing refreshments

b. prescription medication in the visitor's name and in original pharmacy container

c. medical equipment the visitor needs and uses on a permanent basis

d. government issued identification

e

f.

baby items (e.g. plastic bottles, diapers, formula, and wipes)
car keys; and
g. jewelry (being worn)

9. ASH accepts no responsibility for the property of visitors.

10. Visitors may not smoke in ASH buildings or anywhere on ASH grounds. Smoking
tobacco on the hospital campus is a Class “C” misdemeanor and punishable by
fine up to $500.

11. All campus visitors are subject to metal detector screening and search if necessary.

Because it is impossible to determine or anticipate every clinical reason that could
require restrictions or limitations, ASH reserves the right to determine any additional
circumstances where it is necessary to modify or change visitation.
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