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State:  Arkansas 
 

Citation Condition or Requirement 

1932(a)(1)(A) A. Section 1932(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act.

The State of   Arkansas enrolls Medicaid beneficiaries on a mandatory basis
into managed care entities (managed care organization [MCOs], primary care case
managers [PCCMs], and/or PCCM entities) in the absence of section 1115 or
section 1915(b) waiver authority. This authority is granted under section
1932(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (the Act). Under this authority, a state can
amend its Medicaid state plan to require certain categories of Medicaid
beneficiaries to enroll in managed care entities without being out of compliance
with provisions of section 1902 of the Act on statewideness (42 CFR 431.50),
freedom of choice (42 CFR 431.51) or comparability (42 CFR 440.230).

This authority may not be used to mandate enrollment in Prepaid Inpatient Health
Plans (PIHPs), Prepaid Ambulatory Health Plans (PAHPs), nor can it be used to
mandate the enrollment of Medicaid beneficiaries described in 42 CFR 438.50(d).

Where the state’s assurance is requested in this document for compliance with a
particular requirement of 42 CFR 438 et seq., the state shall place a check mark to
affirm that it will be in compliance no later than the applicable compliance date. All
applicable assurances should be checked, even when the compliance date is in the
future. Please see Appendix A of this document for compliance dates for
various sections of 42 CFR 438.

1932(a)(1)(B)(i) B. Managed Care Delivery System.
1932(a)(1)(B)(ii) 
42 CFR 438.2 The State will contract with the entity(ies) below and reimburse them as noted
42 CFR 438.6 under each entity type.
42 CFR 438.50(b)(1)-(2) 

1. ☐ MCO
a. ☐Capitation
b. ☐The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.6,

regarding special contract provisions related to payment, will be met.

2.  PCCM (individual practitioners)
a.  Case management fee
b. ☐ Other (please explain below)

Reimbursement is a set per member per month rate paid through MMIS.  There are 
no performance-based incentive payments in PCCM. 
a. The Medicaid beneficiary chooses a primary care physician (PCP)

who, through an on-going provider/beneficiary relationship,
coordinates health care services, including referrals for necessary
specialty services, physician’s services, hospital care and other
services. The PCCM provider will assist enrollees with locating
medical services and coordinate and monitor their enrollees prescribed
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Citation Condition or Requirement 

medical and rehabilitation services. PCCM will be mandatory for most 
Medicaid beneficiaries. 

The beneficiaries have a free choice of specialists within the state and 
bordering states. A beneficiary must enroll with a PCCM whose 
practice is in the beneficiary’s county of residence, a county adjacent to 
the beneficiary’s county of residence or a county adjoining a county 
adjacent to the beneficiary’s county of residence. PCCM providers 
have free choice of referrals specialists and ancillary providers 

Under this PCCM program, the PCCM provider manages the enrolled 
beneficiary’s health by working directly with beneficiaries and their 
treatment by providing: 

1) 24-hour, 7 days per week telephone access to a live voice ( an
employee of the primary care physician or an answering service).
Reasonable 24- hour availability and adequate hours of operation,
referral and treatment with respect to medical emergencies.

2) Response to after-hours calls regarding non-emergencies must be
within 30 minutes.

• PCPs must make the after-hours telephone number as widely
available as possible to their patients.

• When employing an answering machine with recorded
instructions for after-hours callers, PCPs should regularly
check to ensure that the machine functions correctly and that
the instructions are up-to-date.

• PCPs in underserved and sparsely populated areas may refer
their patients to the nearest facility available, but enrollees
must be able to obtain the necessary instructions by telephone.

• As regards access to services, PCPs are required to provide the
same level of service for their ConnectCare enrollees as they
provide for their insured and private-pay patients.

• Physicians and facilities treating a PCP’s enrollees after hours
must report diagnosis, treatment, significant findings,
recommendations and any other pertinent information to the
PCP for inclusion in the patient’s medical record.

• A PCP may not refer ConnectCare enrollees to an emergency
department for non-emergency conditions during the PCP’s
regular office hours.
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Citation Condition or Requirement 

3) Increases to the beneficiaries’ and/or their caregivers’
understanding of their disease so that they are:
• Better able to understand their disease

• Better able to access regular preventative health care by
improving their self-management skills

• Better able to understand the appropriate use of resources
needed to care for their disease

• Better able to improve the beneficiary’s quality of life by
assisting them in self-managing their disease and in accessing
regular preventative health care.

b. Arkansas Department of Human Services engages a network of
credentialed primary care physicians to meet medical needs for
enrolled beneficiaries. The PCCM provider is responsible for overall
health care services for beneficiaries.

3. ☐ PCCM entity
a. ☐ Case management fee
b. ☐ Shared savings, incentive payments, and/or financial rewards (see

42 CFR 438.310(c)(2))
c. ☐ Other (please explain below)

If PCCM entity is selected, please indicate which of the following
function(s) the entity will provide (as in 42 CFR 438.2), in addition to
PCCM services:
□ Provision of intensive telephonic case management
□ Provision of face-to-face case management
□ Operation of a nurse triage advice line
□ Development of enrollee care plans.
□ Execution of contracts with fee-for-service (FFS) providers in the

FFS program
□ Oversight responsibilities for the activities of FFS providers in the

FFS program
□ Provision of payments to FFS providers on behalf of the State.
□ Provision of enrollee outreach and education activities.
□ Operation of a customer service call center.
□ Review of provider claims, utilization and/or practice patterns to

conduct provider profiling and/or practice improvement.
□ Implementation of quality improvement activities including

administering enrollee satisfaction surveys or collecting data
necessary for performance measurement of providers.
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Citation Condition or Requirement 

□ Coordination with behavioral health systems/providers.
□ Coordination with long-term services and supports systems/providers.
□ Other (please describe):

_ 

42 CFR 438.50(b)(4) C. Public Process.

Describe the public process including tribal consultation, if applicable, utilized for
both the design of the managed care program and its initial implementation. In
addition, describe what methods the state will use to ensure ongoing public
involvement once the state plan managed care program has been implemented.
(Example: public meeting, advisory groups.)
If the program will include long term services and supports (LTSS), please indicate
how the views of stakeholders have been, and will continue to be, solicited and
addressed during the design, implementation, and oversight of the program,
including plans for a member advisory committee (42 CFR 438.70 and 438.110)

A statewide promulgation process was completed in 2013, which allowed for a 30-day public 
comment period.  At the time the state consulted with the State Medical Care Advisory 
Committee.  The beneficiary has the right to appeal or grieve  through the Division of Medical 
Services or Office of Chief Counsel. 

D. State Assurances and Compliance with the Statute and Regulations.
If applicable to the state plan, place a check mark to affirm that compliance with the
following statutes and regulations will be met.

1932(a)(1)(A)(i)(I) 1. ☐ The state assures that all of the applicable requirements of
1903(m) section 1903(m) of the Act, for MCOs and MCO contracts will be met.
42 CFR 438.50(c)(1) 

1932(a)(1)(A)(i)(I) 2.  The state assures that all the applicable requirements of section 1905(t)
1905(t) of the Act for PCCMs and PCCM contracts (including for PCCM entities) will

be met.
42 CFR 438.50(c)(2) 
1902(a)(23)(A) 

1932(a)(1)(A) 3. ☐ The state assures that all the applicable requirements of section 1932
42 CFR 438.50(c)(3) (including subpart (a)(1)(A)) of the Act, for the state's option to limit freedom

of choice by requiring beneficiaries to receive their benefits through managed
care entities will be met.

1932(a)(1)(A) 4.  The state assures that all the applicable requirements of 42 CFR 431.51
42 CFR 431.51 regarding freedom of choice for family planning services and supplies as
1905(a)(4)(C) defined in section 1905(a)(4)(C) will be met.
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Citation Condition or Requirement 

42 CFR 438.10(g)(2)(vii) 

1932(a)(1)(A) 5. ☐ The state assures that it appropriately identifies individuals in the
mandatory exempt groups identified in 1932(a)(1)(A)(i).

1932(a)(1)(A) 6.  The state assures that all applicable managed care requirements of
42 CFR 438 42 CFR Part 438 for MCOs, PCCMs, and PCCM entities will be met.
1903(m) 

1932(a)(1)(A) 7. ☐ The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.4, 438.5,
438.7, 438.8, and 438.74 for payments under any risk contracts will be met.

42 CFR 438.4 
42 CFR 438.5 
42 CFR 438.7 
42 CFR 438.8 
42 CFR 438.74 
42 CFR 438.50(c)(6) 

1932(a)(1)(A) 8.  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 447.362 for
42 CFR 447.362 payments under any non-risk contracts will be met.
42 CFR 438.50(c)(6) 

45 CFR 75.326 9.  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 45 CFR 75.326 for
procurement of contracts will be met.

42 CFR 438.66 10. Assurances regarding state monitoring requirements:

 The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.66(a),
(b), and (c), regarding a monitoring system and using data to improve the
performance of its managed care program, will be met.
 The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR
438.66(d), regarding readiness assessment, will be met.
 The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR
438.66(e), regarding reporting to CMS about the managed care program,
will be met.

1932(a)(1)(A) E. Populations and Geographic Area.
1932(a)(2) 

1. Included Populations. Please check which eligibility groups are included, if
they are enrolled on a Mandatory (M) or Voluntary (V) basis (as defined in 42
CFR 438.54(b)) or Excluded (E), and the geographic scope of enrollment.
Under the Geographic Area column, please indicate whether the nature of the
population’s enrollment is on a statewide basis, or if on less than a statewide
basis, please list the applicable counties/regions. Also, if type of enrollment
varies by geographic area (for example, mandatory in some areas and voluntary
in other areas), please note specifics in the Geographic Area column.
Under the Notes column, please note any additional relevant details about the
population or enrollment.
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TN: 23-0014               Approved:  06/12/2023   
Supersedes: 18-0013                       Effective: 04/01/2023 

 
Citation Condition or Requirement 
 

 
A. Mandatory Eligibility Groups (Eligibility Groups to which a state must provide Medicaid coverage) 

1. Family/Adult 
Eligibility Group Citation 

(Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

M V E Geographic Area 
(include specifics if 
M/V/E varies by area) 

Notes 

1. Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives §435.110 X   Statewide  
2. Pregnant Women §435.116 X   Statewide Required to 

enroll with a 
PCCM only if 
they need non-
obstetrical 
services which 
require a PCP 
referral. 

3. Children Under Age 19 (Inclusive of 
Deemed Newborns under §435.117) 

§435.118 X 
 

  Statewide  

4. Former Foster Care Youth (up to age 
26) 

§435.150 X   Statewide  

5. Adult Group (Non-pregnant 
individuals age 19-64 not eligible for 
Medicare with income no more than 
133% FPL ) 

§435.119  
X 

   Required only 
if deemed 
medically frail  

6. Transitional Medical Assistance 
(Includes adults and children, if not 
eligible under §435.116, §435.118, or 
§435.119) 

1902(a)(52), 
1902(e)(1), 1925, 
and 1931(c)(2) of 
SSA 

 
X 

   
Statewide 

 

7. Extended Medicaid Due to Spousal 
Support Collections 

§435.115 X   Statewide  
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2. Aged/Blind/Disabled Individuals
Eligibility Group Citation 

(Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

M V E Geographic Area 
(include specifics if 
M/V/E varies by area) 

Notes 

8. Individuals Receiving SSI age 19 and over
only (See E.2. below regarding age <19)

§435.120 X Statewide Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 

9. Aged and Disabled Individuals in 209(b)
States

§435.121 N/A—AR is a 
1634 State. 

10. Individuals Who Would be Eligible for
SSI/SSP but for OASDI COLA Increase
since April, 1977

§435.135
X Statewide 

Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 

11. Disabled Widows and Widowers
Ineligible for SSI due to an increase of
OASDI

§435.137
X Statewide 

Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 

12. Disabled Widows and Widowers
Ineligible for SSI due to Early Receipt of
Social Security

§435.138
X Statewide 

Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 

13. Working Disabled under 1619(b) 1619(b), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)( 
II), and 1905(q) of 
SSA 

X Statewide 
Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 

14. Disabled Adult Children 1634(c) of SSA X Statewide 

B. Optional Eligibility Groups
1. Family/Adult

Eligibility Group Citation 
(Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

M V E Geographic Area 
(include specifics if 
M/V/E varies by area) 

Notes 

1. Optional Parents and Other Caretaker
Relatives

§435.220 N/A 

2. Optional Targeted Low-Income Children §435.229 N/A 
3. Independent Foster Care Adolescents

Under Age 21
§435.226 N/A 

4. Individuals Under Age 65 with Income
Over 133%

§435.218 N/A 

5. Optional Reasonable Classifications of
Children Under Age 21

§435.222 N/A 

6. Individuals Electing COBRA
Continuation Coverage

1902(a)(10)(F) of 
SSA 

N/A 
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Citation Condition or Requirement 

2. Aged/Blind/Disabled Individuals
Eligibility Group Citation 

(Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

M V E Geographic Area 
(include specifics if 
M/V/E varies by 
area) 

Notes 

7. Aged, Blind or Disabled Individuals
Eligible for but Not Receiving Cash

§435.210 and
§435.230

N/A 

8. Individuals eligible for Cash except for
Institutionalized Status

§435.211 X 

9. Individuals Receiving Home and
Community-Based Waiver Services Under
Institutional Rules

§435.217
X 

10. Optional State Supplement Recipients -
1634 and SSI Criteria States – with 1616
Agreements

§435.232
N/A 

11. Optional State Supplemental Recipients-
209(b) States and SSI criteria States
without  1616 Agreements

§435.234 N/A 

12. Institutionalized Individuals Eligible under
a Special Income Level

§435.236 X 

13. Individuals Participating in a PACE
Program under Institutional Rules

1934 of the SSA X 

14. Individuals Receiving Hospice Care 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) 
(VII) and 1905(o)
of the SSA

 
X Institutionalized 

15. Poverty Level Aged or Disabled 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) 
(X) and
1902(m)(1) of the
SSA

 
X Statewide 

Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 
(AR entitles 
ARSeniors) 

16. Work Incentive Group 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) 
(XIII) of the SSA

 N/A 

17. Ticket to Work Basic Group 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) 
(XV) of the SSA

X Statewide Exclude 
Medicare 
Beneficiaries. 
(AR entitles 
Workers with 
Disabilities) 

18. Ticket to Work Medically Improved
Group

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) 
(XVI) of the SSA

 N/A 

19. Family Opportunity Act Children with
Disabilities

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) 
(XIX) of the SSA

 N/A 

20. Individuals Eligible for State Plan Home
and Community-Based Services

§435.219 X 
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3. Partial Benefits
Eligibility Group Citation 

(Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

M V E Geographic Area 
(include specifics if 
M/V/E varies by area) 

Notes 

21. Family Planning Services §435.214 N/A 
22. Individuals with Tuberculosis §435.215 N/A 
23. Individuals Needing Treatment for Breast

or Cervical Cancer (under age 65)
§435.213 N/A 

C. Medically Needy
Eligibility Group Citation 

(Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

M V E Geographic Area 
(include specifics if 
M/V/E varies by area) 

Notes 

1. Medically Needy Pregnant Women §435.301(b)(1)(i)
and (iv)

X 

2. Medically Needy Children under Age 18 §435.301(b)(1)(ii) X 
3. Medically Needy Children Age 18 through

20
§435.308 N/A 

4. Medically Needy Parents and Other
Caretaker Relatives

§435.310 X 

5. Medically Needy Aged §435.320 X 
6. Medically Needy Blind §435.322 X 
7. Medically Needy Disabled §435.324 X 
8. Medically Needy Aged, Blind and

Disabled in 209(b) States
§435.330 N/A 

2. Voluntary Only or Excluded Populations. Under this managed care authority,
some populations cannot be subject to mandatory enrollment in an MCO, PCCM,
or PCCM entity (per 42 CFR 438.50(d)). Some such populations are Eligibility
Groups separate from those listed above in E.1., while others (such as American
Indians/Alaskan Natives) can be part of multiple Eligibility Groups identified in
E.1. above.
Please indicate if any of the following populations are excluded from the

program, or have only voluntary enrollment (even if they are part of an eligibility
group listed above in E.1. as having mandatory enrollment):

Population Citation (Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

V E Geographic 
Area 

Notes 

Medicare Savings Program – Qualified 
Medicare Beneficiaries, Qualified 
Disabled Working Individuals, Specified 
Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries, 
and/or Qualifying Individuals 

1902(a)(10)(E), 1905(p), 
1905(s) of the SSA X 
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Population Citation (Regulation [42 
CFR] or SSA) 

V E Geographic 
Area 

Notes 

“Dual Eligibles” not described under 
Medicare Savings Program - Medicaid 
beneficiaries enrolled in an eligibility 
group other than one of the Medicare 
Savings Program groups who are also 
eligible for Medicare 

X 

American Indian/Alaskan Native— 
Medicaid beneficiaries who are American 
Indians or Alaskan Natives and members 
of federally recognized tribes 

§438.14
X Statewide 

Children Receiving SSI who are Under 
Age 19 - Children under 19 years of age 
who are eligible for SSI under title XVI 

§435.120
X Statewide 

Qualified Disabled Children Under 
Age 19 - Certain children under 19 living 
at home, who are disabled and would be 
eligible if they were living in a medical 
institution. 

§435.225
1902(e)(3) of the SSA X Statewide 

This population is 
covered under 1115 
TEFRA Waiver 

Title IV-E Children - Children receiving 
foster care, adoption assistance, or 
kinship guardianship assistance under 
title IV-E * 

§435.145
X Statewide 

Non-Title IV-E Adoption Assistance 
Under Age 21* 

§435.227 X Statewide 

Children with Special Health Care 
Needs - Receiving services through a 
family-centered, community-based, 
coordinated care system that receives 
grant funds under section 501(a)(1)(D) of 
Title V, and is defined by the State in 
terms of either program participation or 
special health care needs. 

X Statewide 

* = Note – Individuals in these two Eligibility Groups who are age 19 and 20 can have mandatory enrollment in managed care, while those under 
age 19 cannot have mandatory enrollment. Use the Notes column to indicate if you plan to mandatorily enroll 19 and 20 year olds in these Eligibility 
Groups. 

3. (Optional) Other Exceptions. The following populations (which can be part of
various Eligibility Groups) can be subject to mandatory enrollment in managed
care, but states may elect to make exceptions for these or other individuals.
Please indicate if any of the following populations are excluded from the
program, or have only voluntary enrollment (even if they are part of an eligibility
group listed above in E.1. as having mandatory enrollment):
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Population V E Notes 
Other Insurance--Medicaid beneficiaries who 
have other health insurance 

X 

Reside in Nursing Facility or ICF/IID-- 
Medicaid beneficiaries who reside in Nursing 
Facilities (NF) or Intermediate Care Facilities for 
Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 
(ICF/IID). 

X 

Enrolled in Another Managed Care Program- 
-Medicaid beneficiaries who are enrolled in
another Medicaid managed care program

X 
Eligibility Less Than 3 Months--Medicaid 
beneficiaries who would have less than three 
months of Medicaid eligibility remaining upon 
enrollment into the program 

X 

Participate in HCBS Waiver--Medicaid 
beneficiaries who participate in a Home and 
Community Based Waiver (HCBS, also referred 
to as a 1915(c) waiver). 

X 

Retroactive Eligibility–Medicaid beneficiaries 
for the period of retroactive eligibility. 

X 

Other (Please define): 

1932(a)(4) 
42 CFR 438.54 F. Enrollment Process.

Based on whether mandatory and/or voluntary enrollment are applicable to your
program (see E. Populations and Geographic Area and definitions in 42 CFR
438.54(b)), please complete the below:

1. For voluntary enrollment:  (see 42 CFR 438.54(c))
a. Please describe how the state fulfills its obligations to provide information as

specicifed in 42 CFR 438.10(c)(4), 42 CFR 438.10(e) and 42 CFR
438.54(c)(3).

State with voluntary enrollment must have an enrollment choice period or
passive enrollment. Please indicate which will apply to the managed care
program:

b. ☐ If applicable, please check here to indicate that the state provides an
enrollment choice period, as described in 42 CFR 438.54(c)(1)(i) and 42
CFR 438.54(c)(2)(i), during which individuals who are subject to voluntary
enrollment may make an active choice to enroll in the managed care
program, or will otherwise continue to receive covered services through the
fee-for-service delivery system.

i. Please indicate the length of the enrollment choice period: 
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c. ☐ If applicable, please check here to indicate that the state uses a passive
enrollment process, as described in 42 CFR 438.54(c)(1)(ii) and 
438.54(c)(2)(ii), for individuals who are subject to voluntary enrollment.

i. If so, please describe the algorithm used for passive enrollment
and how the algorithm and the state’s provision of information
meets all of the requirements of 42 CFR
438.54(c)(4),(5),(6),(7), and (8).

ii. Please indicate how long the enrollee will have to disenroll
from the plan and return to the fee-for-service delivery system:

2. For mandatory enrollment:  (see 42 CFR 438.54(d))
a. Please describe how the state fulfills its obligations to provide information

as specified in 42 CFR 438.10(c)(4), 42 CFR 438.10(e) and 42 CFR
438.54(d)(3).

Medicaid provides the Arkansas Medicaid Handbook online through
Medicaid.mmis.arkansas.gov as well as by simply typing in AR Medicaid
handbook. This handbook provides information on how to enroll in
Medicaid and how to contact ConnectCare, who assists our beneficiaries
as well as providers in enrollment, and change of primary care provider.
The Handbook provides all information that may be needed as to
definitions, coverage, and how to reach a customer representative. Our
contractor AFMC, who also holds the contract for ConnectCare, provides
education sessions across the state for Medicaid beneficiaries through
AFMC Medicaid Beneficiary Education. Each enrollee also receives
notification by either mail or email of rights and processes to choose or
change providers as well as how to access coverage and definitions.

b. ☐ If applicable, please check here to indicate that the state provides an
enrollment choice period, as described in 42 CFR 438.54(d)(2)(i), during
which individuals who are subject to mandatory enrollment may make an
active choice to select a managed care plan, or will otherwise be enrolled in
a plan selected by the State’s default enrollment process.

i. Please indicate the length of the enrollment choice period:

c. ☐ If applicable, please check here to indicate that the state uses a default
enrollment process, as described in 42 CFR 438.54(d)(5), for individuals
who are subject to mandatory enrollment.

i. If so, please describe the algorithm used for default enrollment
and how it meets all of the requirements of 42 CFR
438.54(d)(4), (5), (7), and (8).
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d. ☐ If applicable, please check here to indicate that the state uses a passive
enrollment process, as described in 42 CFR 438.54(d)(2), for individuals
who are subject to mandatory enrollment.

i. If so, please describe the algorithm used for passive enrollment
and how it meets all of the requirements of 42 CFR
438.54(d)(4), (6), (7), and (8).

1932(a)(4) 3. State assurances on the enrollment process.
42 CFR 438.54 

Place a check mark to affirm the state has met all of the applicable requirements
of choice, enrollment, and re-enrollment.

42 CFR 438.52 

a.  The state assures that, per the choice requirements in 42 CFR 438.52:

42 CFR 438.52 

42 CFR 438.56(g) 

i. Medicaid beneficiaries with mandatory enrollment in an MCO
will have a  choice of at least two MCOs unless the area  is
considered rural as defined in 42 CFR  438.52(b)(3);

ii. Medicaid beneficiaries with mandatory enrollment in a
primary care casse management system will have a choice of
at least two primary care case managers employed by or
contracted with the State;

iii. Medicaid beneficiaries with mandatory enrollment in a PCCM
entity may be limited to a single PCCM entity and will have a
choice of at least two PCCMs employed by or contracted with
the PCCM entity.

b. ☐ The state plan program applies the rural exception to choice requirements
of 42 CFR 438.52(a) for MCOs in accordance with 42 CFR 438.52(b).
Please list the impacted rural counties:

This provision is not applicable to this 1932 State Plan Amendment.

c. ☐ The state applies the automatic reenrollment provision in accordance
with 42 CFR 438.56(g) if the recipient is disenrolled solely because he or she
loses Medicaid eligibility for a period of 2 months or less.

 This provision is not applicable to this 1932 State Plan Amendment.
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42 CFR 438.71 d.  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.71
regarding developing and implementing a beneficiary support system that
provides support to beneficiaries both prior to and after MCO, PCCM, or
PCCM entity enrollment will be met.

1932(a)(4) G. Disenrollment.
42 CFR 438.56 1. The state will☐/ will not limit disenrollment for managed care.

2. The disenrollment limitation will apply for   N/A (up to 12 months). 

3.  The state assures that beneficiary requests for disenrollment (with and without
cause) will be permitted in accordance with 42 CFR 438.56.

4. Describe the state's process for notifying the Medicaid beneficiaries of their right
to disenroll without cause during the 90 days following the date of their initial
enrollment into the MCO, PCCM, or PCCM entity. (Examples: state generated
correspondence, enrollment packets, etc.)

A letter or email (recipient’s choice) is sent to the recipient from ConnectCare
when the recipient is first enrolled in Medicaid.  The letter/email informs the
recipient of who their PCP/PCCM is and how to disenroll or change their
PCP/PCCM.

5. Describe any additional circumstances of “cause” for disenrollment (if any).

H. Information Requirements for Beneficiaries.

1932(a)(5)(c)  The state assures that its state plan program is in compliance with 42 CFR
42 CFR 438.50 438.10 for information requirements specific to MCOs, PCCMs, and PCCM entity
42 CFR 438.10 programs operated under section 1932(a)(1)(A)(i) state plan amendments.

1932(a)(5)(D)(b) I. List all benefits for which the MCO is responsible.
1903(m) 
1905(t)(3) 

Complete the chart below to indicate every State Plan-Approved services that will 
be delivered by the MCO, and where each of those services is described in the 
state’s Medicaid State Plan. For “other practitioner services”, list each provider 
type separately. For rehabilitative services, habilitative services, EPSDT services 
and 1915(i), (j) and (k) services list each program separately by its own list of 
services.  Add additional rows as necessary. 

In the first column of the chart below, enter the name of each State Plan-Approved 
service delivered by the MCO. In the second – fourth column of the chart, enter a 
State Plan citation providing the Attachment number, Page number, and Item 
number, respectively. 
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State Plan-Approved Service Delivered by the MCO Medicaid State Plan Citation 
Attachment # Page # Item # 

Ex. Physical Therapy 3.1-A 4 11.a

1932(a)(5)(D)(b)(4) J. ☐ The state assures that each MCO has established an internal grievance and

42 CFR 438.228 appeal system for enrollees.

1932(a)(5)(D)(b)(5) K. Services, including capacity, network adequacy, coordination, and continuity.
42 CFR 438.62 
42 CFR 438.68 
42 CFR 438.206 
42 CFR 438.207 
42 CFR 438.208  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.62,

regarding continued service to enrollees, will be met.

□ The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.68, regarding
network adequacy standards, will be met.

□ The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.206, regarding
availability of services, will be met.

□ The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.207, regarding
assurances of adequate capacity and services, will be met.

□ The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.208, regarding
coordination and continuity of care, will be met.
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1932(c)(1)(A) L.  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.330 and
438.340, regarding a quality assessment and performance improvement program and
State quality strategy, will be met.

42 CFR 438.330 
42 CFR 438.340 

1932(c)(2)(A) M.  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.350, 438.354,
and 438.364 regarding an annual external independent review conducted by a qualified
independent entity, will be met.

42 CFR 438.350 
42 CFR 438.354 
42 CFR 438.364 
1932 (a)(1)(A)(ii) N. Selective Contracting Under a 1932 State Plan Option.

To respond to items #1 and #2, place a check mark. The third item requires a brief
narrative.

1. The state will ☐/will not  intentionally limit the number of entities it contracts
under a 1932 state plan option.

2.  The state assures that if it limits the number of contracting entities, this
limitation will not substantially impair beneficiary access to services.

3. Describe the criteria the state uses to limit the number of entities it contracts under
a 1932 state plan option. (Example: a limited number of providers and/or
enrollees.)

A PCCM must establish his or her Medicaid caseload limit, of a maximum of 2500.
The state will permit higher maximums in areas the federal government has designated
as medically underserved. The state may permit higher maximum caseloads for
Primary Care Providers who so request if the limit would create a hardship on their
practice.

4. ☐ The selective contracting provision in not applicable to this state plan.
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Appendix A: Compliance Dates (from Supplementary Information in 81 FR 27497, published 5/6/2016) 

States must comply with all provisions in effect as of the issuance of this preprint. Additionally, the following 
compliance dates apply: 

Compliance Dates Sections 
For rating periods for Medicaid managed care contracts 
beginning before July 1, 2017, States will not be held out of 
compliance with the changes adopted in the following sections 
so long as they comply with the corresponding standard(s) 
codified in 42 CFR part 438 contained in 42 CFR parts 430 to 
481, edition revised as of October 1, 2015. States must comply 
with these requirements no later than the rating period for 
Medicaid managed care contracts starting on or after July 1, 
2017. 

§§ 438.3(h), 438.3(m), 438.3(q) through (u),
438.4(b)(7), 438.4(b)(8), 438.5(b) through (f),
438.6(b)(3), 438.6(c) and (d), 438.7(b),
438.7(c)(1) and (2), 438.8, 438.9, 438.10,
438.14, 438.56(d)(2)(iv), 438.66(a) through
(d), 438.70, 438.74, 438.110, 438.208,
438.210, 438.230, 438.242, 438.330, 438.332,
438.400, 438.402, 438.404, 438.406, 438.408,
438.410, 438.414, 438.416, 438.420, 438.424,
438.602(a), 438.602(c) through (h), 438.604,
438.606, 438.608(a), and 438.608(c) and (d)

For rating periods for Medicaid managed care contracts 
beginning before July 1, 2018, states will not be held out of 
compliance with the changes adopted in the following sections 
so long as they comply with the corresponding standard(s) 
codified in 42 CFR part 438 contained in the 42 CFR parts 430 
to 481, edition revised as of October 1, 2015. States must 
comply with these requirements no later than the rating 
period for Medicaid managed care contracts starting on or 
after July 1, 2018. 

§§ 438.4(b)(3), 438.4(b)(4), 438.7(c)(3),
438.62, 438.68, 438.71, 438.206, 438.207,
438.602(b), 438.608(b), and 438.818

States must be in compliance with the requirements at 
§ 438.4(b)(9) no later than the rating period for Medicaid
managed care contracts starting on or after July 1, 2019.

§ 438.4(b)(9)

States must be in compliance with the requirements at 
§ 438.66(e) no later than the rating period for Medicaid
managed care contracts starting on or after the date of the
publication of CMS guidance.

§ 438.66(e)

States must be in compliance with § 438.334 no later than 3 
years from the date of a final notice published in the Federal 
Register. 

§ 438.334

Until July 1, 2018, states will not be held out of compliance 
with the changes adopted in the following sections so long as 
they comply with the corresponding standard(s) codified in 42 

§§ 438.340, 438.350, 438.354, 438.356,
438.358, 438.360, 438.362, and 438.364
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Compliance Dates Sections 
CFR part 438 contained in the 42 CFR parts 430 to 481, edition 
revised as of October 1, 2015. 

States must begin conducting the EQR-related activity described 
in § 438.358(b)(1)(iv) (relating to the mandatory EQR-related 
activity of validation of network adequacy) no later than one 
year from the issuance of the associated EQR protocol. 

§ 438.358(b)(1)(iv)

States may begin conducting the EQR-related activity described 
in § 438.358(c)(6) (relating to the optional EQR-related activity 
of plan rating) no earlier than the issuance of the associated 
EQR protocol. 

§ 438.358(c)(6)

According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information 
unless it displays a valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-
0933. The time required to complete this information collection is estimated to average 10 hours per response, 
including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather the data needed, and complete and 
review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or 
suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance 
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

CMS-10120 (exp. TBD – currently 4/30/17) 
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1932(a) (1) (A)    A.  Section 1932(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act. 
 

Arkansas Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) program aims to improve 
efficiency, economy and quality of care by rewarding high-quality care and outcomes, 
encouraging clinical effectiveness, promoting early intervention and coordination to 
reduce complications and associated costs, and, when provider referrals are necessary, 
by encouraging referral to efficient and economic providers who deliver high-quality 
care. 

 
Initially, participation in the PCMH program is open to practices as described in the 
DMS PCMH Provider Manual that have physicians who are primary care case 
managers as defined by the DMS Primary Care Case Management (ConnectCare) 
program. In addition, practices must meet the eligibility requirements described in the 
DMS PCMH Provider Manual.  Practices that participate in the Comprehensive 
Primary Care Initiative (CPC) are eligible to receive shared savings incentive 
payments. 
 
The State of Arkansas enrolls most Medicaid beneficiaries into mandatory primary 
care case management (PCCM). This authority is granted under section 1932(a)(1)(A) 
of the Social Security Act (the Act). Under this authority, a state can amend its 
Medicaid state plan to require certain categories of Medicaid beneficiaries to enroll in 
managed care entities without being out of compliance with provisions of section 1902 
of the Act on statewideness (42 CFR 431.50), freedom of choice (42 CFR 431.51) or 
comparability (42 CFR 440.230).    

 
B. General Description of the Program and Public Process. 

 
For B.1 and B.2, place a check mark on any or all that apply.   
 

1932(a)(1)(B)(i)   1. The State will contract with an 
1932(a)(1)(B)(ii) 
42 CFR 438.50(b)(1)    ____ i.  MCO  

  X      ii. PCCM (including capitated PCCMs that qualify as PAHPs) 
       ____ iii.  Both 
      

a. The Medicaid beneficiary chooses a primary care physician (PCP) 
who, through an on-going provider/beneficiary relationship, 
coordinates health care services, including referrals for necessary 
specialty services, physician’s services, hospital care and other 
services.  The PCMH provider will assist enrollees with locating 
medical services and coordinate and monitor their enrollees 
prescribed medical and rehabilitation services.  

 
The beneficiaries have a free choice of specialists within the 
state and bordering states.   PCMH providers have free choice 
of referrals specialists and ancillary providers     
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  Under this PCMH program, the PCMH provider manages the 

 enrolled beneficiary’s health by working directly with 
beneficiaries and their treatment by providing:  

 
1. A PCP must make available 24-hour, 7 days per week telephone 

access to a live voice ( an employee of the primary care physician 
or an answering service)  Reasonable 24- hour availability and 
adequate hours of operation, referral and treatment with respect 
to medical emergencies.  

2. Response to after-hours calls regarding non-emergencies must be 
within 30 minutes. 

PCPs must make the after-hours telephone number as widely 
available as possible to their patients. 

When employing an answering machine with recorded 
instructions for after-hours callers, PCPs should regularly check 
to ensure that the machine functions correctly and that the 
instructions are up to date. 

PCPs in underserved and sparsely populated areas may refer 
their patients to the nearest facility available, but enrollees must 
be able to obtain the necessary instructions by telephone. 

As regards access to services, PCPs are required to provide the 
same level of service for their PCMH enrollees as they provide 
for their insured and private-pay patients. 

Physicians and facilities treating a PCP’s enrollees after hours 
must report diagnosis, treatment, significant findings, 
recommendations and any other pertinent information to the 
PCP for inclusion in the patient’s medical record. 

A PCP may not refer PCMH enrollees to an emergency  
      department for non-emergency conditions during the PCP’s 
              regular office hours. 

 
3. Increasing the beneficiaries’ and/or their caregivers’ 

understanding of their disease so that they are: 
 Better able to understand their disease 
 Better able to access regular preventative health care by 

improving their self-management skills 
 Better able to understand the appropriate use of resources 

needed to care for their disease 
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• Better able to improve the beneficiary’s quality of life by
assisting them in self-managing their disease and in
accessing regular preventative health care.

b. Arkansas Department of Human Services engages a network of
credentialed primary care physicians to meet medical needs for
enrolled beneficiaries. The PCMH provider is responsible for
overall health care services for beneficiaries.

42 CFR 438.50(b) (2) 2. The payment method to the contracting entity will be:
42 CFR 438.50(b) (3) 

i. fee for service;
ii. capitation;

 X iii. a case management fee; 
_ X _iv. a bonus/incentive payment; 

v. a supplemental payment, or
vi. other. (Please provide a description below).

DMS offers two types of payments to Arkansas Patient Centered Medical Homes 
(PCMHs): (1) care coordination payments and (2) performance-based incentive 
payments.  

The care coordination payment may be used by participating practices for care 
coordination efforts, whether these are executed by a vendor on behalf of the practice or 
directly by the practice. Care coordination payments are risk adjusted to account for the 
varying levels of care coordination services needed for patients with different risk 
profiles. 

Performance-based incentive payments are annual payments made to a PCMH for 
delivery of economic, efficient and quality care. 

Each year the PCMHs are assessed in cost utilization measures. Those PCMHs that 
fall into the negotiated threshold of cost utilization measures will be eligible for 
performance-based incentive payments. Performance-based incentive payments 
will be risk and time adjusted.  

DMS will also select a yearly focus measure to reward top performing PCMHs. 
The focus measure will focus on an area in which the state performance is 
significantly lower than national average. 

DMS has established top performance thresholds for utilization measures, as described 
in the DMS PCMH Provider Manual.  These thresholds will help determine rewards 
for efficient, economic, and quality care. 
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DMS will: 

· Provide CMS, at least annually, with data and reports supporting achievements in the
goals of improving health, increasing quality and lowering the growth of health care costs.

· Provide CMS with updates, as conducted, to the state’s metrics.

· Review and renew the payment methodology as part of the evaluation.

· Make all necessary modifications to the methodology, including those determined
based on the evaluation and program success, through State Plan Amendment
submissions.

1905(t) 
42 CFR 440.168 
42 CFR 438.6(c)(5)(iii)(iv) 

3. For states that pay a PCCM on a fee-for-service basis, incentive
payments are permitted as an enhancement to the PCCM’s
case management fee, if certain conditions are met.

If applicable to this state plan, place a check mark to affirm the state has met
all of the following conditions (which are identical to the risk incentive rules
for managed care contracts published in 42 CFR 438.6(c)(5)(iv)).

i.  Incentive payments to the PCCM will not exceed 5% of the total
FFS payments for those services provided or authorized by the
PCCM for the period covered.

ii. Incentives will be based upon specific activities and targets.

iii. Incentives will be based upon a fixed period of time.

iv. Incentives will not be renewed automatically.

v. Incentives will be made available to both public and private
PCCMs.

vi. Incentives will not be conditioned on intergovernmental transfer
agreements.
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X_vii.  Not applicable to this 1932 state plan amendment. 

CFR 438.50(b)(4) 4. Describe the public process utilized for both the design of the program and its
initial implementation. In addition, describe what methods the state will use to
ensure ongoing public involvement once the state plan program has been
implemented.

The State established a website (www.paymentinitiative.org) to keep the
public informed during the design of the PCMH program and provide current
information on progress towards implementation. The website is a ‘one stop
shop’ for documents and information PCMH and includes an email address
for interested parties to send suggestions. The State also established a toll free
number manned by service representatives to answer public/provider
questions on PCMH program. These service representatives triage and
escalate as needed, and catalogue questions for changes to the technical
design, operational processes, or communications.

The PCMH Provider Manual explaining the program in detail is posted on the
website. Webinars on program overview, enrollment process, benefits and
requirements are also posted on the website along with FAQs on relevant
topics.

There is a statewide promulgation process including a 30 day public comment
period, after which feedback is incorporated into the version that is submitted
for State legislative approval.

TN: 18-0013 

Supersedes TN: 

Approved: 02/28/2019 Effective: 01/01/2019

13-0026



CMS-PM-10120 
Date: January 1, 2019 

ATTACHMENT 3.1-F 
Page 21 
OMB No.:0938-933 

State: ARKANSAS 

Citation Condition or Requirement 

Meaningful updates to the provider manual will be shared with CMS to enable 
continued collaboration and open lines of communication 

1932(a)(1)(A) 5. The state plan program will_X   /will not   implement mandatory
enrollment into managed care on a statewide basis. If not statewide,
mandatory / voluntary enrollment will be implemented in the 
following couties:: 

i. county/counties (mandatory)

ii. area/areas (mandatory)

iii. area/areas (voluntary)

B. State Assurances and Compliance with the Statute and Regulations.

If applicable to the state plan, place a check mark to affirm that compliance with the
following statutes and regulations will be met.

1932(a)(1)(A)(i)(I) 
1903(m) 
42 CFR 438.50(c)(1) 

1. The state assures that all of the applicable requirements of
section 1903(m) of the Act, for MCOs and MCO contracts will be met.

1932(a)(1)(A)(i)(I) 
1905(t) 
42 CFR 438.50(c)(2) 
1902(a)(23)(A) 

2. X   The state assures that all the applicable requirements of section 1905(t)
of the Act for PCCMs and PCCM contracts will be met.

1932(a)(1)(A) 3. _    The state assures that all the applicable requirements of section 1932
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42 CFR 438.50(c)(3)  (including subpart (a)(1)(A)) of the Act, for the state's option to limit freedom 
of choice by requiring beneficiaries to receive their benefits through managed 
care entities will be met. 

 
1932(a)(1)(A 4. _X___The state assures that all the applicable requirements of 42 CFR 
42 CFR 431.51  431.51 regarding freedom of choice for family planning services and supplies  
1905(a)(4)(C)  as defined in section 1905(a)(4)(C) will be met. 
 
1932(a)(1)(A)    5. __X__The state assures that all applicable managed care requirements of  
42 CFR 438     42 CFR Part 438 for MCOs and PCCMs will be met. 
42 CFR 438.50(c)(4)      
1903(m) 
 
1932(a)(1)(A)    6. ___The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 438.6(c) 
42 CFR 438.6(c)    for payments under any risk contracts will be met. 
42 CFR 438.50(c)(6) 
 
1932(a)(1)(A)    7. _X__  The state assures that all applicable requirements of 42 CFR 447.362 
for 42 CFR 447.362     payments under any nonrisk contracts will be met. 
42 CFR 438.50(c)(6) 
 
45 CFR 74.40 8. __X__The state assures that all applicable requirements of 45 CFR 92.36 for 

procurement of contracts will be met. 
 
 
 

D. Eligible groups  
 

1932(a)(1)(A)(i)   1.  List all eligible groups that will be enrolled on a mandatory basis. 
         

     Section 1931 children and related populations, pregnant women under 
     SOBRA (SOBRA women are required to enroll with a Primary Care 

Case Manger only if they need non-obstetrical services which require a 
PCP referral)., Section 1931 Adults and Related populations, poverty 
level, Blind/Disabled Adults and related populations age 18 or older, 
Blind/Disabled Children, Aged and related  populations.  Ages 65 or older 
who are not Medicare beneficiaries. Foster Care Children, ARKids First 
B children, pregnant women and infants, Blind/Disabled adults 18 and 
older, Foster Care children.  

 
2.  Mandatory exempt groups identified in 1932(a)(1)(A)(i) and 42 CFR 438.50. 

 
Use a check mark to affirm if there is voluntary enrollment in any of the 
following mandatory exempt groups.   

 
1932(a)(2)(B)     i. _____Beneficiaries who are also eligible for Medicare.    
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42 CFR 438(d)(1)   
If enrollment is voluntary, describe the circumstances of enrollment.  
(Example: Beneficiaries who become Medicare eligible during mid-

enrollment, remain eligible for managed care and are not disenrolled into 

fee-for-service.) 
 
1932(a)(2)(C)     ii. _X___Indians who are beneficiaries of Federally recognized Tribes except 
        when 42 CFR 438(d)(2) the MCO or PCCM is operated by the Indian Health 
        Service or an Indian Health program operating under a contract, grant or  
        cooperative agreement with the Indian Health Service pursuant to the Indian 
        Self Determination Act; or an Urban Indian program operating under a  
        contract or grant with the Indian Health Service pursuant to title V of the  
        Indian Health Care Improvement Act.  
 
1932(a)(2)(A)(i)    iii  _X__Children under the age of 19 years, who are eligible for Supplemental 
42 CFR 438.50(d)(3)(i)     Security Income (SSI) under Title XVI. 
 
1932(a)(2)(A)(iii)    iv. __X_ Children under the age of 19 years who are eligible under  
42 CFR 438.50(d)(3)(ii)    1902(e)(3) of the Act. 
 
1932(a)(2)(A)(v)    v. _X__Children under the age of 19 years who are in foster care or other out-
of- 
42 CFR 438.50(3)(iii)    the-home placement.  
 
1932(a)(2)(A)(iv)    vi. _X___Children under the age of 19 years who are receiving foster care or  
42 CFR 438.50(3)(iv)    adoption assistance under title IV-E. 

 
1932(a)(2)(A)(ii)    vii. _X ___Children under the age of 19 years who are receiving services   

    through a 42 CFR 438.50(3)(v) family-centered, community based,   
    coordinated care system that receives grant funds under section 501(a)(1)(D) 
    of Title V, and is defined by the state in terms of either program participation 
    or special health care needs.  

 
Note:  Voluntary provider enrollment is allowed under the PCMH 
program.  This program no way impacts direct services to Arkansas 
Medicaid beneficiaries. 
 
 

   E. Identification of Mandatory Exempt Groups 
 
1932(a)(2) 1. Describe how the state defines children who receive services that are funded  
42 CFR 438.50(d) under section 501(a)(1)(D) of title V.  (Examples: children receiving services  

at a specific clinic or enrolled in a particular program.) 

 

N/A 
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1932(a)(2)     2. Place a check mark to affirm if the state’s definition of title V children  
42 CFR 438.50(d)    is determined by:   
    

____i. program participation,  
____ii. special health care needs, or 
_  X_iii. both 

 
1932(a)(2)    3. Place a check mark to affirm if the scope of these title V services  
42 CFR 438.50(d)    is received through a family-centered, community-based, coordinated 

care system. 
 
       __X_i. yes 
       ___ _ii. no  
 
1932(a)(2)     4. Describe how the state identifies the following groups of children who are exempt 
42 CFR 438.50 (d)    from mandatory enrollment:  (Examples: eligibility database, self- identification)  
 

i. Children under 19 years of age who are eligible for SSI under title XVI; 
 

The state identifies this group as defined by categories at time of 
enrollment or reenrollment via the eligibility data base. 

 
ii. Children under 19 years of age who are eligible under section 1902 

(e)(3) of the Act;  
   

The state identifies this group as defined by categories at time of 
enrollment or reenrollment via the eligibility data base. 

 
 

 
iii. Children under 19 years of age who are in foster care or other out- 

of-home placement;  
 
The state identifies this group as defined by categories at time of 
enrollment or reenrollment via the eligibility data base. 
 
 

 
iv. Children under 19 years of age who are receiving foster care or 

adoption assistance. 
 
The state identifies this group as defined by categories at time of 
enrollment or reenrollment via the eligibility data base. 
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1932(a)(2) 5. Describe the state’s process for allowing children to request an exemption from 
42 CFR 438.50(d)  mandatory enrollment based on the special needs criteria as defined in the state 

plan if they are not initially identified as exempt. (Example: self-identification) 

 
 PCMH follows the PCCM process in which the state requires PCCM’s to 

allow enrollees to self–refer under certain circumstances. Arkansas Medicaid 
has no special definition for” special needs” children who are Medicaid 
beneficiaries. Connectcare includes mandatory enrollment for all of them 
who are not excluded for some other reason, such as having Medicare as 
their primary insurance.  

 
 

1932(a)(2)   6. Describe how the state identifies the following groups who are exempt from 
42 CFR 438.50(d) mandatory enrollment into managed care:   
 

i. Beneficiaries who are also eligible for Medicare. 
 
 The state uses aid categories on the eligibility system and the MMIS claims 

processing system to identify groups who are exempt from mandatory 
enrollment.  

 
 
ii. Indians who are beneficiaries of Federally recognized Tribes except 

when the MCO or PCCM is operated by the Indian Health Service or 
an Indian Health program operating under a contract, grant or 
cooperative agreement with the Indian Health Service pursuant to the 
Indian Self Determination Act; or an Urban Indian program operating 
under a contract or grant with the Indian Health Service pursuant to 
title V of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act.   

 
          
 The state uses aid categories on the eligibility system and the MMIS claims 

processing system to identify groups who are exempt from mandatory 
enrollment.  

 
 
 

 
42 CFR 438.50 F. List other eligible groups (not previously mentioned) who will be exempt from 

mandatory enrollment  
 
Medicare dual eligible, poverty level pregnant women (SOBRA ;SOBRA women 
are required to enroll with a Primary Care Case Manger only if they need non-
obstetrical services which require a PCP referral), Beneficiaries  who  reside in a 
nursing facilities or intermediate care facilities for the mentally  retarded,  Home 
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and Community Based Waiver beneficiaries,  Medicaid beneficiaries for  the period 
of retroactive eligibility, medically needy spend down, family planning waiver, 
pregnant women: presumptive eligibility  
 

 
42 CFR 438.50   G. List all other eligible groups who will be permitted to enroll on a voluntary basis  
       
      N/A  
  
 

H. Enrollment process. 
 

1932(a)(4)     1. Definitions 
42 CFR 438.50 

i. An existing provider-beneficiary relationship is one in which the 
provider was the main source of Medicaid services for the 
beneficiary during the previous year. This may be established 
through state records of previous managed care enrollment or 
fee-for-service experience or through contact with the recipient. 
Enrollees are permitted to disenroll from their PCMH or transfer 
between PCMHs. 

 
ii. A provider is considered to have “traditionally served” Medicaid  

beneficiaries if it has experience in serving the Medicaid 
population.  

 
1932(a)(4)     2.  State process for enrollment by default. 
42 CFR 438.50 

Describe how the state’s default enrollment process will preserve:  
 

i. the existing provider-recipient relationship (as defined in H.1.i).  
 
A beneficiary may enroll with a PCMH at the office of the 
PCMH, at the regional district state office, through Connectcare 
or through the emergency room.  The PCMH’s staff telephones a 
Voice Response System; the entire process is automated via 
proprietary hardware and software; 

 
ii. the relationship with providers that have traditionally served 

Medicaid beneficiaries (as defined in H.2.ii). 
 

 
iii. the equitable distribution of Medicaid beneficiaries among 

qualified MCOs and PCCMs available to enroll them, (excluding 
those that are subject to intermediate sanction described in 42 
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CFR 438.702(a)(4)); and disenrollment for cause in accordance 
with 42 CFR 438.56 (d)(2).  
 
The state has set enrollment limits for each PCCM provider. The 
PCCM provider is limited to 2500 enrollees. If that limitation 
creates a hardship for the practitioner, threatens the PCCM’s 
practice or creates a problem of access and availability for 
beneficiaries, the PCCM may request in writing to the Director of 
Medical Services additional case load.  
 

 
1932(a)(4)  3. As part of the state’s discussion on the default enrollment process, include 
42 CFR 438.50    the following information: 
 

i. The state will____/will not x   use a lock-in for managed care. 
 

ii. The time frame for beneficiaries to choose a health plan before being 
auto-assigned will be   N/A   .  

 
 

iii. Describe the state's process for notifying Medicaid beneficiaries of their 
auto-assignment.  (Example: state generated correspondence.) 

 
N/A 

  
 

iv. Describe the state's process for notifying the Medicaid beneficiaries who 
are auto-assigned of their right to disenroll without cause during the first 
90 days of their enrollment. (Examples: state generated correspondence, 

HMO enrollment packets etc.) 
 
N/A 

 
 

v. Describe the default assignment algorithm used for auto-assignment.  
(Examples: ratio of plans in a geographic service area to potential 

enrollees, usage of quality indicators.) 
 
N/A 
 

 
vi. Describe how the state will monitor any changes in the rate of default 

assignment.  (Example: usage of the Medical Management Information 

System (MMIS), monthly reports generated by the enrollment broker) 
 

N/A 
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1932(a)(4)    I.  State assurances on the enrollment process 
42 CFR 438.50 

Place a check mark to affirm the state has met all of the applicable requirements of 
choice, enrollment, and re-enrollment. 
 

 1. X    The state assures it has an enrollment system that allows beneficiaries who  
are already enrolled to be given priority to continue that enrollment if the MCO or 

 PCCM does not have capacity to accept all who are seeking enrollment under the 
program.  

 
2. X  The state assures that, per the choice requirements in 42 CFR 438.52, 

Medicaid beneficiaries enrolled in either an MCO or PCCM model will have a 
choice of at least two entities unless the area is considered rural as defined in 42 
CFR 438.52(b)(3).  

 
3. ____ The state plan program applies the rural exception to choice requirements of 

42 CFR 438.52(a) for MCOs and PCCMs.  
 

This provision is not applicable to this 1932 State Plan Amendment.  
 
4. ____The state limits enrollment into a single Health Insuring Organization (HIO), 

if and only if the HIO is one of the entities described in section 1932(a)(3)(C) of 
the Act; and the recipient has a choice of at least two primary care providers 
within the entity. (California only.) 

 
X   This provision is not applicable to this 1932 State Plan Amendment. 

 
5. ____ The state applies the automatic reenrollment provision in accordance 

with 42 CFR 438.56(g) if the recipient is disenrolled solely because he or she 
loses Medicaid eligibility for a period of 2 months or less.  
 
 X   This provision is not applicable to this 1932 State Plan Amendment. 
 

1932(a)(4)    J.  Disenrollment 
42 CFR 438.50 

1. The state will___/will not X use lock-in for managed care. 
 
2.  The lock-in will apply for _N/A_ months (up to 12 months).  
 
3. Place a check mark to affirm state compliance. 

 
X   The state assures that beneficiary requests for disenrollment (with  
and without cause) will be permitted in accordance with 42 CFR 438.56(c).  
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1. Describe any additional circumstances of “cause” for disenrollment (if any).

K. Information requirements for beneficiaries

Place a check mark to affirm state compliance. 

1932(a)(5) X The state assures that its state plan program complies with 42 CFR 42 
CFR 438.50 438.10(i) for information requirements specific to MCOs and PCCM programs 
42 CFR 438.10 operated under section 1932(a)(1)(A)(i) state plan amendments. (Place a check 

mark to affirm state compliance.) 

1932(a)(5)(D) L. List all services that are excluded for each model (MCO & PCCM)
1905(t) 

The following PCCM exempt services do not require PCP authorization: 
Dental Services 
Emergency hospital care 
Developmental Disabilities Services Community and Employment 
Support  
Family Planning 
Anesthesia 
Alternative Waiver Programs 
Adult Developmental Day Treatment Services Core Services only 
Disease Control Services for Communicable Diseases 
ARChoices waiver services 
Gynecological care 
Inpatient Hospital admissions on the effective date of PCP enrollment or on the day 
after the effective date of PCP enrollment 
Medication-Assisted Treatment Services for opioid use disorder when part of a 
Medication Assisted Treatment plan 
Mental health services as follows: 

a. Psychiatry for services provided by a psychiatrist enrolled in
Arkansas Medicaid and practice as an individual practitioner

b. Rehabilitative Services for Youth and Children
Nurse Midwife services 
ICF/IID Services 
Nursing Facility services 
Hospital non-emergency or outpatient clinic services on the effective date of PCP 
enrollment or on the day after the effective date of PCP enrollment. 
Ophthalmology and Optometry services 
Obstetric (antepartum, delivery, and postpartum) services 
Pharmacy 
Physician Services for inpatients acute care 
Transportation 
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  Sexual Abuse Examination.  
Targeted case management provided by the Division of Youth Services or the 
Division of Children and Family services under an interagency agreement with 
the Division of Medical Services. 
 

 
1932 (a)(1)(A)(ii)  M. Selective contracting under a 1932 state plan option  
 

To respond to items #1 and #2, place a check mark.  The third item requires a brief 
narrative.    

 
1. The state will ___will not___X___ intentionally limit the number of entities it 

contracts under a 1932 state plan option.    
 
2. X  The state assures that if it limits the number of contracting entities, this 

limitation will not substantially impair beneficiary access to services.   
 

3. Describe the criteria the state uses to limit the number of entities it contracts under 
a 1932 state plan option.   

 
N/A 

 
 


