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	Arkansas Department of Human Services
Division of Medical Services
Office of Long Term Care     Mail Slot S409

P.O. Box 8059

Little Rock, Arkansas  72203-8059

Telephone (501) 682-8487   TDD (501) 682-6789   Fax (501) 682-8551


M E M O R A N D U M

LTC-A-2008-03 
TO:
(X)  Nursing Home Administrators,    (X)  Nursing Facilities;    (X)  ICFs/MR 16 Bed & Over;    (X)  HDCs;    (X)  ICFs/MR Under 16 Beds;    (  )  RCFs;    (X)  Interested Parties;    (   )  Hospitals & Discharge Planners;    (X)  DHS County Offices

FROM:
Carol Shockley, Director, Office of Long Term Care

DATE:
April 15, 2008
RE:
Advisory Memo – Notice of Administrator License Renewal and Inactive Status

______________________________________________________________________________

Please be advised that renewal of Administrator Licensure must be completed by June 30, 2008.  Renewal forms may be found at the following website:  https://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/InternetSolution/General/units/oltc/forms/forms.aspx
Please be aware of the following 

1. Licenses must be renewed on or before July 1, 2008.

2. Applications for renewal must be postmarked to, or received by, the Department of Human Services (DHS), Division of Administrative Services, Long Term Care on or before July 1, 2008.

RENEWAL OF ACTIVE LICENSE

1. Fully completed renewal applications must be accompanied by a check made payable to the Arkansas Department of Human Services in the amount of $100.00.

2. Fully completed renewal applications must be accompanied by documentation that the applicant has attended and accumulated twenty (20) continuing education hours.

3. If the fully completed application, licensure fee, and documentation of twenty (20) continuing education hours is not postmarked to or received by the DHS, Division of Administrative Services, Long Term Care on or before July 1, 2008, the applicant’s license will be suspended, and the applicant will be ineligible to perform the duties of nursing home administrator.

4. Applications for renewal postmarked to, or received by, the Office of Long Term Care after July 1, 2008, will not be considered unless, in addition to the above, the application is accompanied by a check for a late charge of $50.00 made payable to the Arkansas Department of Human Services.

5. Licenses not renewed on or before September 1, 2008, shall expire effective September 2, 2008.

INACTIVE STATUS RENEWAL
If your Administrator’s license is currently on inactive status, you must:

1. Fully complete the attached renewal application.

2. Indicate in the appropriate location on the renewal application that the license is to be inactive.

3. The application for renewal must be accompanied by a check made payable to the Arkansas Department of Human Services in the amount of $50.00.
4. If your license has been inactive since July 1, 2005, you must attach documentation that you have successfully completed twenty (20) continuing education hours.  FAILURE TO COMPLY WILL RESULT IN THE AUTOMATIC EXPIRATION OF THE LICENSE.
ACTIVATION OF INACTIVE LICENSE
If you hold an inactive license and wish to have it activated, you must notify Jean Adams, Office of Long Term Care.

If you have questions, please contact Jean Adams at 501-682-1873.

If you need this material in alternative format such as large print, please contact our Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-8307(voice) or 682-6789 (TDD).

CS/ja

Please complete the enclosed DMS-746 (R. 4/00) Nursing Home Administrator License Renewal Form for licensure renewal for the period July 1of this year through June 30 of next year.  Current licenses expire June 30 of this year.  The Form DMS-746 (R. 4/00) form is sent only to licensed administrators’ personal mailing addresses and does not accompany other distribution of this material.

Your renewal application, licensure fee and, if applicable, documentation of 20 clock hours of continuing education must be postmarked or received by DHS no later than July 1 of this year.  The licenses of persons not meeting these requirements shall be considered suspended on July 2 of this year.  An individual holding a suspended license shall not serve as the administrator of a nursing facility.

Based on provisions of Ark. Code Ann. § 20-10-405, renewal applications postmarked or received by DHS after July 1, 2007 must pay a late fee of $50.00.  Renewal applications will be processed by DHS through September 1 of this year.  A license not renewed by September 1st will expire on September 2nd .
ONLY COMPLETE application packets will be processed.  Incomplete packets (i.e., form unsigned, no fee, # II not answered, photocopies of CEU certificates submitted without notarization, etc.) will be returned to the sender via certified mail and will not be considered received until all requirements are met.

Administrators who held an active license any time during the last twelve (12) months immediately preceding July of this year must provide documentation of attendance for 20 clock hours of approved continuing education in order to renew his or her license – see requirements for CEU certificates listed below.  This requirement also applies to current active licensees who wish to change to an inactive license for the period of July 1 of this year through June 30 of next year.

To renew your active administrator license as an active license, return:

1.
The completed and signed renewal application form.

2.
Documentation of 20 clock hours of approved continuing education.  Your renewal packet must include CEU certificates bearing approval numbers. OLTC will not retroactively review and approve continuing education programs submitted as part of a renewal packet.  Licensees must obtain the approval number prior to submitting a certificate for credit.

3. Licensure fee of $100.00.

To renew your active license in inactive status, return:

1.
The completed and signed renewal application form.

2.
Documentation of 20 clock hours of approved continuing education.  Your renewal packet must include CEU certificates bearing approval numbers.  OLTC will not retroactively review and approve continuing education programs submitted as part of a renewal packet.  Licensees must obtain the approval number prior to submitting a certificate for credit.
3. Licensure fee of $50.00.

To renew your inactive administrator license as an inactive license, return:

1. The completed and signed renewal application form. 

2. Licensure fee of $50.00.

3. If your license has been inactive for the past 36 months, you must attach documentation that you have successfully completed twenty (20) continuing education hours.  FAILURE TO COMPLY WILL RESULT IN THE AUTOMATIC EXPIRATION OF THE LICENSE.
To renew your inactive license in active status,
 IMMEDIATELY contact the OLTC Administrator Licensure Program for REQUIRED activation packet.  Persons who currently hold an inactive license and wish to activate must meet the educational, experience and core requirements listed under Section 2. E (pp 2-3 of the green booklet) of the new Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of Nursing Home Administrators in Arkansas.  If you have questions about the requirements to change your license from inactive to active status, please contact (501) 682-6291.

Requirements for certificates for approved workshops/seminars were specified in LTC-M-98-15.  These requirements apply to ALL certificates received for workshops/seminars attended.  Briefly, the certificate must:
1. Be the original certificate or a NOTARIZED copy. (Notarized copies may be helpful for individuals licensed in more than one state who wish to use a certificate in both jurisdictions.)

2. Contain the original signature of the presenter/agent.

3. Contain the Arkansas, NAB/NCERS or other-state approval ID number.

Note:

Registered sponsors (RS), such as the American College of Health Care Administrators (ACHCA) and the American Society on Aging, are approved annually by NAB/NCERS to offer/sponsor an unlimited number of programs, including self-study programs.  These registered sponsors receive only one approval number (such as #: 07019-037-RS) that is used for all of the programs they offer.  This number should be on any certificate received from these sponsors.

4. Clearly identify the workshop/seminar.

5. Clearly identify the licensed administrator.

Checks should be made payable to: Department of Human Services.  

Please return your renewal application form, active or inactive licensure fees and any required verification of continuing education hours by Certified Mail to:

Department of Human Services





Division of Administrative Services





Long Term Care





PO Box 8181  Slot WG2





Little Rock, AR  72203-8181
If you have any questions concerning licensure renewal procedures or continuing education requirements, please contact the office at (501) 682-6291.







"The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act."
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