Volunteer Community of the Year Awards

​About the Awards

The Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Awards are co-sponsored by the DHS Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support, the Arkansas Municipal League, and the Office of the Governor. These awards are designed to offer thanks and a reward to the communities as a whole (rather than as individuals within the communities) for their volunteer effort in serving their neighbors. 

2015 Recipients


Recipients of the 2015 awards were: Fairfield Bay, Clarkridge, Vilonia, Greenbrier, Clarksville, Arkadelphia, Maumelle, Van Buren, Benton, Bentonville, Fayetteville, and Fort Smith.

Nomination Information​

Nominations are solicited each summer, with a nomination period extending through early fall. Communities submit nominations describing their local volunteer activities and these nominations are reviewed by a panel of citizens representing a cross section of the state.

Communities that are chosen each year receive signs on two of the town's borders designating the city as a Volunteer Community of the Year for that year. These signs are donated to each city each year by the Arkansas Highway Commission. In addition, the cities, and their volunteer programs are the subject of a feature article in City & Town magazine, which is published by the Arkansas Municipal League. Many local newspapers, television and radio stations, and other media, pick up on the news as well, and the communities do receive a lot of recognition and publicity for their work.

COY Digital Form WeButton.jpg

Frequently Asked Questions

My city won an award several years ago.  Can we apply again?
Yes, there are no restrictions on the number of times a city can be honored.

Where can I get a nomination form?
You can fill out a nomination form online by clicking the blue "Click Here" box above or you can download a PDF form below during the nomination period (July 1st to September 30 each year).  
Can I fax my nomination in?
Yes, but the fax copy must be followed by the original in the mail.  Please indicate that you are mailing the original when you fax your nomination. Remember, the original must be in the office by the deadline in order to be eligible to be judged.

How are the honorees chosen?
A selection committee, made up of individuals from around the state who are active in volunteerism, reviews and ranks each nomination.  The top 12 cities each year are honored.
When is the awards ceremony?
The cities are awarded each year at the Winter Conference of the Arkansas Municipal League (ARML). You may access ARML’s website for exact dates of the winter conference.
Click Title for Link Type
2016 Volunteer Community of the Year Award Guidelines and Nomination Form​ PDF
Past Volunteer Community of the Year Award Winners​ PDF​

If you have any questions please call: Kimberly Simpson at (501) 320-6599.