Arkansas Community Service Awards

About the Awards



The Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support (DCSNS) is accepting nominations for the 40th Arkansas Community Service Awards (CSA). The Community Service Awards are a prestigious honor given to individuals, youth, national service participants and businesses for their dedication and commitment to supporting volunteerism throughout Arkansas.

The awards are sponsored by the Department of Human Services - Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support (DCSNS), KARK Channel 4, the Governor’s Office and Duncan Law Firm. Honorees are selected throughout the year and recognized in June at the Governor’s Mansion. Up to six individual finalists, one youth finalist, one National Service AmeriCorps finalist, as well as one small and one large corporate finalists are chosen. 

Recipients of the 2015-2016 awards were: Individual finalists include Scott Pursley of Little Rock, Tenille Rauls of Mountain Home, Charolette Tidwell of Fort Smith, Dave Steinquist of Jonesboro, Derick Easter of Little Rock, and LaGranzie Kale of Jonesboro. The Youth Humanitarian Honoree was Kathryn Williams of  Vilonia. The National Service Honoree was former AmeriCorps member Mike Machella of  Pfeifer Kiwanis Camp Alternative Classroom Experience in Little Rock. The Corporate Humanitarian honoree is JPMS Cox, PLLC of Little Rock. The Distinguished Citizens were the Hickingbotham family, including Frank  and his sons Herren and Todd Hickingbotham of Little Rock.



2016-2017 Nomination Guidelines and Forms

Nominate someone for the 2016 Arkansas Community Service Awards!  Do you know an individual, a business or an outstanding youth who you feel exemplifies the volunteer spirit in Arkansas?

We are now accepting nominations year-round and each month a finalist will be chosen.  Get your nominations in early to give your nominee more chances to be a monthly winner!  The Winners will be eligible to be recipients for the 2016 awards. 

Award categories include:

  • Individual Candidate Award: age 21 and up
  • Youth Humanitarian: 21 and under (must not turn 21 before July 2016)
  • National Service Humanitarian​
  • Corporate Humanitarian: Small Corporate 50 or less employees & Large Corporate 51 or more employees

Download the guidelines and forms below.
Both nomination instructions and form must be completed.


 For additional information about the awards, contact Kimberly Simpson at 501-320-6599.


Past Arkansas Community Service Award Winners

We're honored to list the past winners of the Arkansas Community Service Awards below.

Click Title for Link
ACSA Individual Award Winners listed by City
ACSA Youth Award Winners
ACSA Corporate Award Winners
ACSA Distinguished​ Citizen Award Winners​

​ ​​​​​