
Instructions 
Request for Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check 

CFS-316 
 

PURPOSE: This form is used to request a Child Maltreatment Central Registry check. 
 
For prospective foster parents, provisional foster parents and adoptive parents, a separate form is to 
be completed on each applicant, and each household member age 14 years and older who is residing or 
has ever resided in the applicant’s home.  All completed forms for each applicant’s home shall be 
submitted in one packet. 

 
Per Act 1041 of 1997, a person required to have the Central Registry check shall repeat the check every 
two years.  Adoptive parents and each member of the household age 14 years and older, residing out of 
state, shall have a Child Maltreatment Central Registry check, if available, in their state. 
 
Applicants and employees of state agencies, pursuant to Act 1041 of 1997, are subject to a Child 
Maltreatment Central Registry check if the position includes direct contact with children.  Direct contact 
is defined as “the ability to interview, question, examine, interact, talk with, or communicate with a child 
without being in the physical presence of a person other than the child.” 

 
The CFS-316 will be completed upon the selection of a new hire.  The Central Registry check is a 
condition of employment.  The applicant may be hired on the condition he/she is not found to have a 
record of child maltreatment.  The applicant/employee has a right to an administrative hearing if the 
validity of the report is challenged.  Each employee subject to a Central Registry check shall be required 
to repeat the check every two years. 
 
DHS personnel may request a check when necessary for internal administrative reasons.  A brief 
explanation of the reason that a check is needed shall be given.  The requesting staff member shall sign 
the form.  THE INFORMATION THUS REQUESTED CANNOT BE USED OUTSIDE OF DHS. 
 
For others, the request will be processed for a fee of $10 made payable by check or money order to DHS.  
We do not accept cash.  This fee may be waived for non-profits who provide proof of 501(c)(3) status.  
Allow 7-10 business days for processing. 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: 

A. Indicate the TYPE OF APPLICANT involved—e.g., foster parent, provisional foster parent, 
adoptive parent, employee/applicant, legal custodian or other person. 

B. Indicate the Name/Title, Organization, Address (mailing and physical address), Telephone, and 
Fax Number of the person making the request. 

C. Complete the Name, Maiden Name/Other Names Used, Race, Sex, Age, Date of Birth, and Social 
Security Number of the person for whom the check is being requested. 

D. Give complete residential history for the last six years starting with the Present Address. 
E. List all cities and states (outside of Arkansas) of employment for the past five years. 
F. List all children who are now residing or who have ever resided in the home and all biological 

children of the person for whom the check is being requested.  List Full Name, Date of Birth, 
Age, Relationship to person named in “C,” and Social Security Number.  NOTE: If applicant was 
a foster parent in another state, do not list the foster children placed by the state. 

G. Print applicant’s name.  Applicant must sign and date. 
H. This form must be notarized. 
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ROUTE TO:  Arkansas Department of Human Services 
   Division of Children and Family Services 
   Central Registry Unit 
   PO Box 1437, Slot S-566 
   Little Rock, AR 72203-1437 
 

I. The Central Registry Unit will complete this section, and return a copy of the form and an official 
statement, if applicable, to the Office/Organization requesting the information. 
 

NOTE: For foster parent, provisional foster parent, and adoptive parent applicants, the county will 
receive two copies of any information found in the Central Registry.  One copy is to be filed in the Foster 
Family Record and one copy is to be given to the applicant (i.e., the adult subject or the parent/legal 
guardian of a minor subject).  If any information is found, a copy of the report and this form shall also be 
routed to the Manager, Foster Care Unit.  For adoptive parent applicants, no information found in the 
Central Registry shall be released to the applicants without a notarized request to the Central Registry. 
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