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Section I:   Purpose and Performance of the Agreement 
 
The purpose of this Agreement is to establish eligibility for participation in the CCDF Program and to set forth Department and 
Participant responsibilities and assurances.  The CCDF Program provides participants the opportunity to provide child care services 
to children of families eligible to receive child care services funded through the Department of Human Services (DHS).  Eligible 
families select a child care provider from a list of eligible participants. 
 
The Participant must comply with state, federal, and departmental regulations. If any statute or regulation is enacted or promulgated 
requiring changes in this Agreement, both parties will consider this Agreement to be automatically amended to comply with the 
newly enacted statute or regulation as of the effective date of the statute or regulation.  DHS shall notify the Participant in writing 
within thirty (30) days of the receipt of any necessary changes or amendments to this Agreement resulting from newly enacted state 
or federal statutes or regulations.   
 
This Agreement becomes effective when certified by the Department of Human Services, Division of Child Care and Early 
Childhood Education, Chief Fiscal Officer (CFO) or designee and will remain effective until amended or cancelled by either party. 
 
Section II:  Definitions 
 

A. Absentee Billing:  Billing when a child is authorized to attend but is temporarily absent.    
 

B. Agreement: The Child Care Development Fund Program Participant Agreement. 
 

C. Age Groups: For billing purposes, age groups are as follows: 
 

Infant 0-18 months 
Toddler 18-36 months/ 18 months - 3 years 
Preschool 30-71 months/ 2 ½ years - 5 years 
School Age 60-155 months/ 5 to 13 years* 

*Over age 13 to 19 years special needs (See definition of Special Needs Child) 
 

D. Certificate of Authorization: A document establishing DHS’s financial obligation to pay the Participant after delivery of 
specified child care services.   
 

E. Child Care Development Fund (CCDF):  Primary funding for the Child Care Assistance Program comes from the Child 
Care Development Fund.  The Child Care Development Fund is under the administration of the U.S Department of Human 
Services, Administration for Children and Families. 
 

F. Client:  The parent, custodian, or guardian (or in the case of a child in DHS custody, the child's primary caseworker) of the 
child receiving child care assistance. 
 

G. Daily Rates:  Daily rates are determined by dividing the weekly rate by five (5).  DHS will not pay drop-in rates as the daily 
rate. 
 

H. DCCECE:  Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education. 
 

I. Department or DHS:  The Arkansas Department of Human Services. 
 

J. DHS Representative: A representative of DHS including, but not limited to, Child Care Service Specialists, Program 
Eligibility Specialists, investigators, etc. 
 

K. Direct Deposit:  Electronic transfer of funds from the State of Arkansas to the Participant’s financial institution. 
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L. Early Departure:  Occurs when a child is picked up prior to the regularly scheduled departure time. 

 
M. Employer Identification Number (EIN):  A unique numerical identifier which is used to identify businesses, 

partnerships, or other entities and is used by the IRS for tax-related purposes. 
 

N. Expulsion:  Permanent removal of a child from the child care facility. 
 

O. Facility:  A licensed, registered or church operated exempt site where child care services are provided. 
 

P. Full-Time: Five (5) hours up to ten (10) hours daily.   
 

Q. Half-Time:  Between three (3) and five (5) total hours per day.  These hours may or may not be consecutive. 
 

R. Holidays:  A day listed on the official Federal and/or State of Arkansas holiday calendar with the exception of two 
holidays*.  The days are:   
 
• New Year’s Day • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday • President’s Day 
• Good Friday* • Memorial Day • Independence Day 
• Labor Day • Columbus Day • Veteran’s Day 
• Thanksgiving Day • Friday after Thanksgiving • Christmas Eve 
• Christmas Day • New Year’s Eve*  

 
S. Hours of Care:  The hours when a child is the responsibility of the Participant including transportation time, if provided.  

 
T. Improper Payment:  Payment to a Participant for services not delivered. 

 
U. Inclement Weather:  Severe weather that causes the facility to close. 
 
V. License/Registration Number:  The number assigned by the Child Care Licensing Unit to each specific site name and 

address approved to provide child care services.  
 

W. Licensure Adverse Action: The revocation, suspension, or denial of a license or registration. 
 
X. Night Care:  Care provided between the hours of 6:00 P.M. and 5:59 A.M. on a weekday.  Over one-half of the total care 

must be provided after 6:00 P.M. for an authorization to be keyed for night care.  
 

Y. Part-Time:  Less than three (3) hours of care. The hours may or may not be consecutive. 
 
Z. Participant: The name of the owner or business name of the organization providing child care services. 

 
AA. Password:  A sequence of eight (8) to twenty (20) characters, consisting of letters and numbers, giving access to the 

Child Care Billing system. 
 

BB. PHI:  Protected Health Information. 
 
CC. Special Needs Child:  A child whose physical condition has lasted or is expected to last at least two (2) years as 

diagnosed by a licensed medical or psychological practitioner and/or a child determined eligible for special services 
under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act for whom a current IFSP or IEP exists.  
 

DD. Suspension:  Temporary removal of a child from the child care facility. 
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EE. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN):  A number issued by the Internal Revenue Service to report income paid to an 

individual. This TIN may be either an individual’s social security number or employer identification number. 
 
FF. Weekend Care: Care provided between 6:00 a.m. Saturday through 6:00 a.m. Monday. 

 
 

Section III:   DHS Responsibilities and Assurances 
 

A. DHS agrees to make training and technical assistance available to new and existing Participants.  
 

B. DHS agrees to establish an online public listing of all Participants in the CCDF Program.  Eligible clients may select a child 
care Participant from the online listing. The link to the online listing can be located at 
http://humanservices.arkansas.gov/dccece.  

 
C. DHS agrees to notify Participants via electronic mail and/or by issuance of the authorization that a client has been certified 

as eligible for assistance.  The notification obligates the Department to reimburse Participants for services provided. 
 

D. DHS may require a Participant to certify the name of their business via the Arkansas Secretary of State. 
 

E. DHS does not conduct business with excluded individuals and/or entities.  DHS does not allow Participants to be 
represented on any matter related to the CCDF program by any individual and/or entity that has been placed on 
an exclusion list, either State or Federal. 
 

F. DHS agrees to reimburse the Participant for services delivered in compliance with this Agreement after the Certificate of 
Authorization has been received and services are rendered.  A Participant cannot bill or receive payment for services until 
this Agreement has been signed by the Participant and certified by the Department. 
 
DHS is not obligated to pay any bills received more than sixty (60) calendar days after the date the service was actually 
delivered without prior written approval from the CCDF Program Administrator.  
 

G. DHS reserves the right to recoup improper payments through current and subsequent payments to the Participant. 
 

H. DHS will permit billing for a temporarily absent child if the billing conforms to the requirements of the federal or state 
funding source.  All absentee billing must be submitted in accordance with the requirements set out below. DHS will not 
permit billing when the facility is closed unless it is an observed holiday or inclement weather. 

 
1. DHS recognizes that a client's child may be temporarily absent from the facility because of illness or some reason 

connected with the plan of service.  The intent of the absentee billing policy is to avoid penalizing either the client 
or the Participant by not allowing reimbursement for the child's temporary absence. The facility must be open and 
the billed services available before billing for a temporarily absent child is allowable. (See definition of Absentee 
Billing) 
 

2. Billing for a temporarily absent child is allowed only when the child is absent on a day the child is scheduled to 
attend and there is a reasonable expectation the child will return to the program. Billing for an absent child is not 
allowed if the child is not scheduled by DHS to attend or if the Participant has been notified by the client or DHS 
that care is no longer needed. For example: If a child is enrolled to attend only Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 
the Participant may not use absentee billing for Tuesday and Thursday.   
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The maximum billable absentee days per trimester are as follows: 

Trimester Days Allowed Not to Exceed 
July – October 12*+ 6 in a given month**+ 

November – February 16*+ 8 in a given month**+ 
March – June 12*+ 6 in a given month**+ 

*Days will be pro-rated based on the start date of the authorization. 
**The Participant reserves the right to charge the client for absentee days that exceed the above limits. 
+Foster Care and Protective Services cases are exempt from these limits. 
 

3. Absentee billing is allowed only if private pay clients are also billed for absences.  Absentee days are cumulative 
per child per twenty-four (24) hour period and may not exceed forty (40) days per calendar year without written 
approval.  Waivers of the forty (40) day limit may be granted by the CCDF Administrator in cases including, but 
not limited to, extreme illness or other health related conditions. 
 

I. DHS will permit billing for up to ten (10) of the fourteen (14) listed holidays, if the holiday is observed on a day when the 
child would have been scheduled to attend. DHS will only permit holiday billing if the facility is closed. (See definition of 
Holidays) 

 
J. DHS will permit billing when the facility is closed due to inclement weather (See definition of Inclement Weather), if 

allowable through the designated federal or state funding source and billed in accordance with the requirements set out 
below: 

 
1. DHS realizes that facilities may be forced to close due to inclement weather.  DHS allows Participants to bill for 

those operational days lost due to severe weather conditions; however, the policy may only be applied when 
public schools in the Participant's area have been forced to close or whenever other extraordinary weather related 
conditions exist. "Extraordinary weather related conditions" exist whenever it can be demonstrated that clients 
were unable to reach the premises or the Participant could not open due to circumstances beyond the control of 
the Participant.  This does not mean that a Participant must close when local schools close. 
 

2. Participants who bill inclement weather must maintain documentation of the reason for closure such as 
newspaper articles regarding weather conditions, statements from local utilities regarding power outages, notices 
regarding school closure, etc. 

 
K. DHS recognizes that early departure occurs for children in care.  DHS agrees to pay the normal daily rate when a child is 

picked up earlier than usual.  For instance, if a child is scheduled for full-time but only attends half-time on a particular day 
because of a doctor’s appointment, etc., DHS will pay the full-time rate since that is the normal time of attendance.  These 
days will not be billed as absentee days.  If the temporary situation of early departure will exist longer than two (2) 
consecutive weeks, then a new authorization with the correct care type shall be written.  DHS shall notify Participants 
when a child becomes ineligible for continued payment.   
 

L. DHS does not provide pre-notification of client withdrawal from the CCDF program and shall not be charged a drop fee by 
the Participant. 
 

M. DHS reserves the right to amend this Agreement with a thirty (30) day notice.   
 

Section IV:   CCDF Program Participant Responsibilities and Assurances 
 
A. General Requirements: 
 

1. The Participant agrees to comply with all the requirements set forth in this Agreement.  Failure to comply is grounds for 
termination of participation from the CCDF Program and for possible further action by DHS. 
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2. The Participant agrees to conduct transactions by electronic means. Electronic transactions include but are not limited to:  

electronic mail, submission of the Participant Agreement, direct deposit, notices of action, authorizations, adverse actions 
and improper payments. 

 
3. The Participant and/or designee agree to complete DHS-sponsored mandatory training prior to the submission of 

this Agreement and at any other time required by DHS.  The Participant and/or designee agree to complete refresher 
training once every twelve (12) months.  If training is not completed by the training due date, payments will be suspended 
until training is completed and/or a corrective action plan implemented.  In the event that the mandated training is not 
completed within sixty (60) days after the training due date or a corrective action plan implemented, this Agreement will be 
cancelled.  If an Agreement is cancelled in this way, a new Participant Agreement will not be accepted for sixty (60) days 
after the cancellation date.   The Department at its discretion may mandate additional training.  Examples of when 
additional mandated training may be required include, but are not limited to, Participants subject to adverse action, billing 
discrepancies, changes in key staff, etc. 

 
4. The Participant agrees to maintain a child care facility license, registration or church operated exemption and to comply 

with child care licensing or registration standards.  This Agreement terminates upon any final agency determination of 
adverse action against the participant and will affect participation at any or all facility licenses’ identified in the adverse 
action.  (See definition of Licensure Adverse Action)  The participant agrees that the agreement will terminate immediately 
upon emergency revocation and participation in the CCDF system will be cancelled notwithstanding any appeal of the 
emergency revocation.  The participant also understands that the agreement will remain active pending appeal and final 
agency action for other licensing adverse actions.  If a facility's compliance with licensing or registration rules cannot be 
determined because the facility does not submit required information or does not permit reasonable access to the facility, 
this Agreement will be terminated upon written notification to the Participant.  
 

5. The Participant agrees to have the owner, administrator, director and all teaching staff join the Traveling Arkansas 
Professional Pathways (TAPP) Registry available at http://professionalregistry.astate.edu and for each to continually 
update the Registry with training/credentialing hours received.   
 

6. The Participant understands that Direct Deposit is a requirement to participate in the CCDF Program and allows 
reimbursements to be directly deposited to a checking/savings account. The attached Direct Deposit form must be 
submitted to DCCECE and must be signed by the owner.  Owners may delegate this to an authorized representative.  
Authorized representatives must be identified in writing and be on file with DCCECE. 

 
The Participant agrees to accept the electronic DHS Certificate of Authorization as approval to provide and bill for 
services.  The Participant agrees to accept reimbursement received from DHS as payment in full for all services 
covered by this Agreement, which includes transportation (if available).  This does not include reasonable charges to 
parents for special events outside the usual daily program costs, the application of the DHS sliding fee scale, or other 
fees expressly authorized by DHS.  
 

7. The Participant may charge the client additional reasonable fees including, but not limited to, registration, late pick-up, 
late payment fee, insurance and materials. The Participant also has the option to charge the client for absentee days 
that exceed the limit allowed by this agreement.  Any reasonable charges must be fully disclosed in a document to the 
client and available to DHS upon request.  Reasonable fees must not exceed fees paid by private pay clients. 
 
The Participant agrees to waive all registration, insurance, materials, absentee and fee charges for all Foster Care 
clients and Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) clients who are not employed but participate in work activities, 
education or training components. 
 

8. The Participant shall not charge DHS, or the client, a drop fee for withdrawal. The facility shall terminate any implied, 
written or agreed upon contractual arrangement with the client upon withdrawal of their child(ren). Any further or future 
arrangement, agreement, or contract entered into by the Participant with a former CCDF client as a private pay 
attendee shall be separate and apart from the CCDF Agreement. 
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9. The Participant agrees that DHS will not pay for services delivered prior to or after the dates shown on the Certificate of 
Authorization. The Participant agrees not to accept the child(ren) without written approval from an authorized DHS 
representative or Certificate of Authorization obligating DHS. 
 

10. The Participant may hire a CCDF Program recipient as a caregiver.  The recipient’s children, if in care at the Participant’s 
facility, must represent less than fifty percent (50%) of the Participant’s current attendance. 
 

11. The Participant agrees to charge the client the portion of the rate established by DHS as the client's assessed fee as 
stated in the Certificate of Authorization.  

If the Participant's normal rate is higher than the reimbursement rate, the Participant is not allowed to charge the client the 
difference between the two rates unless the Participant’s facility is certified as Level 2 or higher in Better Beginnings. 
Foster Care clients and Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) clients who are not employed but participate in work 
activities, education or training components are exempt. 
  

12. All rate changes must be submitted to DHS using the approved form available on DCCECE’s website at 
http://humanservices.arkansas.gov/dccece/dccece_documents/newratechange_distributed.pdf. DHS then has ten (10) 
business days, from the date of receipt, in which to input new rates.  The Participant agrees that rate changes may only 
be submitted twice within a calendar year. Rate changes will only affect new authorizations written after the rate 
change. 

13. The Participant agrees to notify the DHS Authorized Representative when a child withdraws from the CCDF Program.  
Notice shall be provided no later than the next working day after the child withdraws.    
 

14. The Participant agrees to allow the client unrestricted access to their child(ren).  Please refer to the licensing manual 
about children with special needs. 
 

15. The Participant agrees not to discriminate against any employee or applicant for employment.  Upon a final determination 
by a court or administrative body having proper jurisdiction that the Participant has violated state or federal laws and 
regulations regarding discrimination, DHS may impose a range of appropriate remedies, up to and including termination of 
the Agreement and exclusion from all DHS programs. 

 
The Participant agrees to comply with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act and to operate, manage and deliver services 
without regard to age, religion, disability, political affiliation, veteran status, sex, race, color or national origin. 

 
16. The Participant agrees to comply with Executive Order 98-04 (Guidelines for Employment, Grants, Contracts, and 

Purchasing) by completing and returning the appropriate Disclosure Forms to the Department.  Failure to make any 
disclosure required by Executive Order 98-04, or any violation of any rule, regulation, or policy adopted pursuant to that 
Order, shall be a material breach of the terms of this Agreement.  Any Participant, whether an individual or entity, who fails 
to make the required disclosure or who violates any rule, regulation, or policy shall be subject to all legal remedies 
available to the DHS. 
 

17. The Participant agrees to notify and submit a new Contract and Grant Disclosure and Certification Form to DHS within ten 
(10) days of the beginning of employment should the owner, a member of the owner's immediate family, or an authorized 
representative of the facility accept employment with the State of Arkansas.  If a member of the Participant’s Board of 
Directors is employed by the Participant and then accepts employment or does additional business with the State of 
Arkansas, the board member must submit a Contract and Grant Disclosure and Certification Form to DHS within ten (10) 
days of state employment or other business with the State of Arkansas. 
 

18. The Participant agrees to comply with Public Law 101-121 (Anti-Lobbying Act): 
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a. If the Participant receives more than $100,000 per award of appropriated federal funds in any Agreement period (July 

1 - June 30), the Participant must certify that these funds will not be used to pay for lobbying activities by completing a 
Certification Regarding Lobbying Form (DHS-9350) and submitting the form to the Department. 

 
b. If the Participant has paid or will pay for lobbying using funds other than appropriated federal funds, Standard Form-

LLL (Disclosure of Lobbying Activities) must be completed and submitted to the Department.    
 

c. The Participant (referred to as the lower tier Participant in the following clause) agrees to comply with Executive 
Order 12549 (Certification Regarding Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility, and Voluntary Exclusion - Lower Tier 
Covered Transactions), which states: 
By signing and submitting this lower tier proposal (this Agreement), the prospective lower tier Participant, as defined in 
45 CFR Part 76, certifies to the best of its knowledge and belief that it and its principals: 

 
• Are not presently debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, and declared ineligible or voluntarily excluded 

from participation in this transaction by any federal department or agency. 
 

• Or, where the prospective lower tier Participant is unable to certify to any of the above, such prospective 
Participant shall attach an explanation to this proposal. 

 
19. The Participant agrees that it will indemnify and hold harmless DHS against any and all liability, loss, damages, costs or 

expenses which the Participant may sustain incur or be required to pay as a result of any act or omission by DHS. 
 

20. The Participant agrees to notify DHS via electronic mail immediately of any change in ownership, change in business 
structure, facility site location, and change in employer identification number or closure of the facility.  The Participant 
agrees to provide DHS with a copy of the notice from the Internal Revenue Service verifying any change in a Taxpayer 
Identification Number. 
 

21. The Participant may not delegate, assign, or subcontract the performance of any obligations contained in this 
Agreement.  If the Participant chooses to use a Representative for any matter related to the CCDF program, the 
Participant is prohibited from being represented by any individual and/or entity that has been placed on any exclusion, 
either State or Federal. 
 

22. The Participant understands that this Agreement does not create an employer - employee relationship. 
 

23. Participants who are incorporated must be registered with the Secretary of State’s office and must remain in good 
standing to participate in the CCDF Program. 
 

24. Participant agrees to incorporate the Arkansas Early Learning Guidelines, Strengthening Families, and Family 
Engagement Framework into early learning activities to enhance child development. 
 

B.  Billing: 
 

1. A password is required to submit billing to DHS.  The Participant accepts liability for all bills submitted to DHS using the 
password and agrees that only directors, owners, or authorized representatives will submit bills to DHS.  The password is 
non-transferable; therefore, a change in Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) or License/Registration Number will require 
a new password.   
 

2. The Participant agrees to submit a bill for absentee billing, inclement weather billing or actual services performed to 
receive payment utilizing state-approved electronic billing methods. 
 

3. The Participant agrees to submit electronic billing within sixty (60) days of the dates the service was actually delivered to 
eligible clients.  No exceptions will be allowed unless a previously written wavier is obtained from the CCDF Administrator 
prior to the end of the sixty (60) day period.   
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4. The Participant agrees to follow absentee, holiday and inclement weather billing procedures for children temporarily absent 

from the program.  Billing is not allowed when the facility is closed unless it is an observed holiday or inclement weather. 
In cases where the client is responsible for a co-pay, the Participant is responsible for collecting the co-pay amount for 
days billed as absentee, holiday or inclement weather. When applicable, the Participant may charge the client for 
absentee days over those allowed by this Agreement.  (See Section IV, Paragraphs G, H, and I) 
 

5. The Participant agrees to promptly correct all billing or payment errors and understands that they are responsible for all 
improper payments or fraud. In addition to any other remedy, which may exist in law, equity, or administrative 
procedures, DHS may, after proper notification, recoup payments through current and subsequent payments to the 
Participant and/or other measures as necessary.  
Payments may be withheld until verification of attendance records. Current State Fiscal Year attendance records must 
be presented when requested by DHS staff or authorized representatives within approximately one (1) hour of the 
request.  All other attendance records must be submitted by 10:00 a.m. the following business day after the request 
from DHS staff or authorized representative. Site visits by DHS staff or authorized representatives may be 
unannounced. 
 

C. Records and Financial: 
 

1. The Participant agrees to retain all books, records, and other documents relating to expenditures, services rendered, 
attendance or individuals served under this Agreement for five (5) years from the date of service. If an audit or 
investigation is pending at the end of the five year period, information shall be retained until resolution of the audit, 
investigation, or any issues, disputes or appeals raised by or resulting from the audit or investigation. Any person 
authorized by DHS will have full access to these materials during this period. 
 

2. The Participant must use a paper form or an electronic attendance system. To be approved, the attendance form or 
electronic system must include: 
 

a. child's name 
b. dates child was present or absent,  
c. time care begins and ends,  
d. signature of parent, guardian or authorized representative verifying accuracy of attendance records, on a daily or 

weekly basis (Electronic attendance systems will not require a signature.  Computer spreadsheets are not 
considered an electronic attendance system and are NOT exempt from signatures.) 

e. signature of staff person; and 
f. the following statement:   

i. Provider Certification: I declare under penalty of perjury that the above information is true and that 
these children were provided services at the above location and on the days and times listed above. I 
understand that I must repay any overpayment resulting from false or incorrect information and that I 
may be prosecuted for fraud. 
 

A sample attendance form is available at http://humanservices.arkansas.gov/dccece/Pages/ChildCareAssistance2.aspx.  
Attendance records must reconcile with billing records.  If attendance records without an appropriate signature are not 
available, DHS will consider the payment in question to be an improper payment.  (See definition of Improper Payment)  
 
The Participant may be required to submit statistical records on expenditures charged to other funding sources in order 
to verify non-duplication of payment.   
 

3. The Participant agrees to maintain all client records in a confidential manner. The Participant agrees to report to 
DHS/DCCECE any loss of information that would be considered Protected Health Information (PHI) within twenty-four 
(24) hours of the loss.   
Upon request, access to Participant records, related to individuals served under this agreement, will be made available 
to DHS employees, DHS designated agents, or any agency of state or federal government for purposes of auditing or 
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any other reason connected with DHS service programs. The Participant may require official identification prior to 
allowing records access except with the informed, written consent of the client.  If the client is not an adult or has been 
declared incompetent by a probate court, the client's parent, custodian, or guardian may consent on the client's behalf. 

 
4. If applicable, the Participant agrees to have an annual audit in accordance with the "Guidelines for Financial and 

Compliance Audits of Programs Funded by DHS" effective for the period of this Agreement. A copy of the "Guidelines" will 
be provided upon request.   Failure to follow these guidelines will result in the Participant losing the privilege to 
participate in the child care assistance program until the issue is resolved, and may result in the Participant's exclusion 
from all DHS programs per DHS Policy 1088.  (Notice will be provided in writing with specific timeframes for submission 
of the audit.)  Whether an audit is required or not, all financial information will be readily available for any review 
conducted by an authorized DHS representative. 

 
5. The Participant agrees to accept responsibility for the reporting of funds received through DHS each calendar year.  

The Participant is responsible for the payment of all required federal and state taxes accrued.  
 

D.  Better Beginnings’ Requirement:  
 
1. In an effort to meet the federal requirements of improving the quality of care to children receiving subsidy CCDF Child 

Care Assistance, individual facilities must be certified in Better Beginnings at Level 1 (one) or higher prior to the 
approval of this Agreement.  Participants will receive technical assistance at each individual facility to assist in 
becoming certified in Better Beginnings.  For more information on Better Beginnings, please visit the website at 
www.arbetterbeginnings.com or call 1-800-445-3316. Please allow thirty (30) days for technical assistance to be 
received.   

2. In the event that any facility voluntarily withdraws from the Better Beginnings program or a facility loses their Better 
Beginnings status for any reason, that facility will no longer be approved to provide services for children receiving child 
care subsidy.  All authorizations previously approved for that facility will be end-dated effective the day the facility 
voluntarily withdraws or loses their Better Beginnings status.  Any services provided after authorizations have been end-
dated will not be reimbursed by DHS. 
 

E. Suspensions/Expulsions: 
 
1. In response to federal guidelines, effective July 1, 2016, DHS DCCECE is implementing a policy regarding suspension 

and/or expulsion of children receiving subsidy funds.   
• No child, receiving subsidy funding, shall be suspended or expelled from the facility without approval from 

DCCECE.   
• Discipline shall reflect positive guidance, be consistent and individualized for each child.  Such discipline shall 

be appropriate to the child’s level of understanding. Corporal punishment is an unacceptable method of 
discipline and shall not be used. 

For more information on the federal guidelines related to suspensions and/or expulsion, please visit  
https://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/school-discipline/policy-statement-ece-expulsions-suspensions.pdf. 

 
Section V:   Cancellation of the Agreement 
 
 

A. This Agreement is non-transferable, and automatically terminates without DHS action if the ownership or fifty percent 
(50%) or more of the ownership interest of a facility under a TIN is transferred to a new owner, if the only open facility 
under the TIN closes, if the only open facility under the TIN relocates. 
 
The Participant may change their Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) from a social security number to an Employer 
Identification Number (EIN) issued by the IRS by submitting a new W-9 and letter requesting the change to the address 
listed on the signature page.  Any change in TIN must be accompanied by written verification from the IRS.   
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B. The Participant or DHS may cancel this Agreement unilaterally, at any time, by giving the other party thirty (30) calendar 
days written notice, and delivering notice of cancellation either in person or by certified mail, return receipt requested, 
restricted delivery.  If the Participant is the party canceling the Agreement, such notification must be sent to the Director of 
the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education. 

 
C. DHS may cancel this Agreement pursuant to DHS Policy 1088, which refers to the exclusion of any participant/vendor by 

any Division of DHS.  This exclusion to participate includes immediate family (blood relative, by marriage, etc.) and/or 
anyone affiliated with your facility (sharing common ownership, board members, or any other interest).  DHS may prohibit 
participation regardless of the name or location of the participating entity.  The Participant agrees that submission of 
falsified records or participation in any form of fraud for the purpose of obtaining benefits for the Participant or a CCDF 
Program recipient or submission of falsified records for the purpose of obtaining a child care license will result in 
exclusion from all DHS programs.  A copy of DHS Policy 1088 will be provided upon request. 
 

D. If DHS determines there is immediate jeopardy to the health and safety of children receiving services from the Participant, 
DHS may cancel the Agreement immediately upon notice to the Participant.  
 

E. Any written notice from DHS to the Participant canceling this Agreement shall specify the reason for cancellation. 
 
 

Section VI:   Administrative Appeal Procedure 
 

A. The Participant may appeal any adverse action taken by DHS (including audit, billing, payment, termination, etc.) by filing a 
written notice of appeal within thirty (30) days from the Participant’s receipt of DHS notification in accordance with DHS 
Administrative Appeal/Hearing Procedures.  A copy of the appeal procedures will be provided by DHS upon request. 

 
B. The Participant agrees to notify DCCECE of any legal controversies with any local, state or federal governmental agency 

including other agencies within DHS. 
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